Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 16, 2012, 12:40 PM   #1
virginblue4
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
How to connect Apple TV (3rd gen) to television

This is my TV, as you can see I don't have a HDMI slot free. Can I still connect it?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	249
Size:	2.29 MB
ID:	383946  
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 8.0.2
iPad mini 2, silver, iOS 8.0.2
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 12:48 PM   #2
jeremiah239
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 239 Area, FL
You need an HDMI switch, I would recommend Monoprice.com because they are cheap but built very well.http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
__________________
jeremiah239 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 12:54 PM   #3
virginblue4
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
I'm located in the UK. Can I just buy a HDMI splitter?
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 8.0.2
iPad mini 2, silver, iOS 8.0.2
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 01:30 PM   #4
brendu
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by virginblue4 View Post
I'm located in the UK. Can I just buy a HDMI splitter?
Maybe, you want an HDMI splitter that has 2 inputs and one output. Most are the opposite. You do not want to buy something with 2 outputs and one input. That will not work for you.

Edit: As jeremiah stated you want to look for a "HDMI Switch" rather than a "splitter" from what I have seen.
brendu is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 04:05 AM   #5
loaferkan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Thanks for sharing the information !
loaferkan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 08:56 AM   #6
Cell-666
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by virginblue4 View Post
This is my TV, as you can see I don't have a HDMI slot free. Can I still connect it?
I was in the same boat three HDMI slots on the TV, four HDMI devices. I bought one of these are works fine.

http://www.maplin.co.uk/compact-hdmi...=HDMI+Switches
Cell-666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 11:25 AM   #7
B6DWAL
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
This will do the job
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/HDMI-Male-...24c020e&_uhb=1

Nice and cheap
B6DWAL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 02:55 AM   #8
JesterJJZ
macrumors 68000
 
JesterJJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by B6DWAL View Post
This will do the job
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/HDMI-Male-...24c020e&_uhb=1

Nice and cheap
Not according to the description.

A simple effective device to allow a single HDMi signal to be directed out through 2 sockets where the signal is required to be sent to two devices or screens.

Does not combine signals, only splits them.

NB. THIS SPLITTER WILL NOT WORK IN REVERSE, ie YOU CANNOT CONNECT 2 MACHINES SUCH AS A PLAYSTATION AND A PC TO A SINGLE SCREEN
__________________
jesterpictures.com theoryiseverything.com jarek.com
Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it
MacPro 12core, 64GB, GTX680, 30" ACD, 23" ACD -- 15" MBP 2.6 i7, Anti-Glare, 16GB, 240GB SSD + 1TB
JesterJJZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 06:47 AM   #9
DaCurmudgen
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Kanex ATV Pro for VGA + audio output

Looks like you have a VGA input on that TV -- similar to mine. As long as your TV supports 720p or 1080p, you can try the Kanex ATV Pro:
http://www.kanexlive.com/atvpro


I just picked this up yesterday and had my ATV3 up and running within minutes. I love it.
DaCurmudgen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 08:06 AM   #10
B6DWAL
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesterJJZ View Post
Not according to the description.

A simple effective device to allow a single HDMi signal to be directed out through 2 sockets where the signal is required to be sent to two devices or screens.

Does not combine signals, only splits them.

NB. THIS SPLITTER WILL NOT WORK IN REVERSE, ie YOU CANNOT CONNECT 2 MACHINES SUCH AS A PLAYSTATION AND A PC TO A SINGLE SCREEN
In the dropdown you need to select the right type of adapter.
B6DWAL is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New White Apple Remote wont work with Apple T.V. 3rd gen? rossikool Apple TV and Home Theater 9 Sep 13, 2013 09:11 PM
Can't connect Apple TV 3rd gen to home stereo (need 1st gen?) spicynujac Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Dec 17, 2012 10:16 AM
If you purchased a new ipad(3rd Gen) in less than 30 days, call apple for 4th Gen! kjay80 iPad 25 Oct 25, 2012 11:43 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC