Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 27, 2013, 01:48 PM   #1
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Renew your Mac Pro for $150

So my optical drive slot was getting stuck, so I took it into the Apple Store to get it fixed. Turns out you need to replace the entire chassis if that thing breaks!

Well I got my machine back today.

They replaced the entire chassis, with a new…
-Chassis
-Side cover
-Four new HDD sleds (when I had none installed)
-3 PCI cover brackets (I guess you'd get 4 if you only have a single slot GPU)
-Optical drive sled
-Motherboard brackets
-Fans

All for $150 including tax.

So for $150 (less if you don't have tax in your state), if your Mac Pro is in poor shape, or lost some sleds, etc., you get new ones.

I don't think anyone should abuse this, but I thought this would be good to know.
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 02:05 PM   #2
fungus
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: @unclefungus
I'm wondering... did you get a new serial number, or did they somehow swap the little label out below the graphics slot?

Pretty good deal, though. Good to know.
fungus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 02:52 PM   #3
alphaod
Thread Starter
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fungus View Post
I'm wondering... did you get a new serial number, or did they somehow swap the little label out below the graphics slot?

Pretty good deal, though. Good to know.
Same serial number. They removed the label from the old chassis and reapplied it to the new one. So it looks pretty bad there, unfortunately.
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 03:02 PM   #4
fungus
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: @unclefungus
Yeah, mine looks like it's not made to be pried up. As you would expect with a serial number. That's an unfortunate side effect, but still a nice deal.
fungus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 09:28 AM   #5
teameurox
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphaod View Post
So my optical drive slot was getting stuck, so I took it into the Apple Store to get it fixed. Turns out you need to replace the entire chassis if that thing breaks!

Well I got my machine back today.

They replaced the entire chassis, with a new…
-Chassis
-Side cover
-Four new HDD sleds (when I had none installed)
-3 PCI cover brackets (I guess you'd get 4 if you only have a single slot GPU)
-Optical drive sled
-Motherboard brackets
-Fans

All for $150 including tax.

So for $150 (less if you don't have tax in your state), if your Mac Pro is in poor shape, or lost some sleds, etc., you get new ones.

I don't think anyone should abuse this, but I thought this would be good to know.
What model is your mac pro and was it under any kind of apple care? I wouldn't mind to get a clean up on mine
__________________
13" Mid 2010 MBP, OWC 16gb Ram, Data Doubler Mac Pro 2,1 (upgraded 1,1) GTX 760-8800gt, Octo 2.66ghz, 16gb ram Sprint Gold iPhone 5s 64gb
teameurox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 11:23 AM   #6
lucasfer899
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by teameurox View Post
What model is your mac pro and was it under any kind of apple care? I wouldn't mind to get a clean up on mine
Sorry that this is off topic, but how do you have 16GB ram in a mid 2010 13" MBP?
lucasfer899 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 11:49 AM   #7
teameurox
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
OWC (macsales.com) offers a working 16gb kit for mid 2010 macbook pro's

http://blog.macsales.com/16302-some-...n-they-thought
__________________
13" Mid 2010 MBP, OWC 16gb Ram, Data Doubler Mac Pro 2,1 (upgraded 1,1) GTX 760-8800gt, Octo 2.66ghz, 16gb ram Sprint Gold iPhone 5s 64gb
teameurox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 02:11 PM   #8
lucasfer899
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by teameurox View Post
OWC (macsales.com) offers a working 16gb kit for mid 2010 macbook pro's

http://blog.macsales.com/16302-some-...n-they-thought
wow, thanks!
lucasfer899 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 02:30 PM   #9
righteye
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasfer899 View Post
Sorry that this is off topic, but how do you have 16GB ram in a mid 2010 13" MBP?
Mac Pro not MacBook Pro
righteye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 02:50 PM   #10
lucasfer899
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by righteye View Post
Mac Pro not MacBook Pro
Gonna quote my favourite tv show here:

do i look like some kind of nob? ... DO I? DOO I?

Look at his sig a bit closer dude, the first mac listed.
lucasfer899 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:23 PM   #11
righteye
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasfer899 View Post
Gonna quote my favourite tv show here:

do i look like some kind of nob? ... DO I? DOO I?

Look at his sig a bit closer dude, the first mac listed.
My mistake,Dud but thought you were referring to the OP. Its very common to see people getting the wrong end of the stick between MP & MBP.
righteye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 04:29 PM   #12
lucasfer899
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by righteye View Post
My mistake,Dud but thought you were referring to the OP. Its very common to see people getting the wrong end of the stick between MP & MBP.

Yeah haha, I see people getting MP and MBP mixed up all the time.
It's okay dude.
I recently said to a friend, "I'm looking into getting a mac pro, I'm sick of using a high end gaming platform for a workstation (referring to my custom pc)"

He replied by exclaiming that I already have a Mac Pro. When he meant macbook pro. Ugh.
lucasfer899 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC