Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 9, 2013, 12:30 AM   #1
BrioBriss
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Mac Pro 4.1 Memory upgrade. Don't see that much difference..

I was wondering about this since last year when I upgraded my memory. I actually upgraded for 4X 4GO instead of 1GO everywhere, so I'm now with 20GO overall. The thing is, I didn't really saw a difference when I upgraded, and to be honest I still didn't really see one (sometimes a couple of applications running at the same time (Premiere/Photoshop/After Effects/Maya and it's still slow). I was wondering if it's because I needed to upgrade something else to affect the performances of the RAM or anything else I can do to see a result, or it's actually normal and it's just an impression?

Here's what it looks like:





Thanks!

Last edited by BrioBriss; Feb 9, 2013 at 01:48 AM.
BrioBriss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 02:06 AM   #2
DPUser
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
4,1 will not run RAM faster than 1066 no matter how fast your RAM is. Look into flashing the EFI to 5,1 and upgrading your CPU(s) to one that can use the higher RAM speed, then resetting SMC/PRAM.
DPUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 05:02 AM   #3
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Have done the 4,1 to 5,1 flash on a couple machines now.

My dear friend "Paul" in San Diego figured this out, quite a useful hack.

But with both, I had to use a CPU and RAM that supported 1333 and then it still required a PRAM reset to show up.

With 12 cores at 3.33Ghz and an SSD boot drive and a GTX 580 3GB, you don't wait for much.
MacVidCards is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 07:20 AM   #4
Loa
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Québec
Hello,

You didn't see any performance increase either because you didn't need more ram, or because you didn't get enough. My guess is the latter with the apps you mentionned. 20GB for four major apps is quite little.

Also, don't bother with flashing the firmware just to get faster RAM, it won't make any real world difference. More ram is always better than faster ram.

Loa
Loa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 09:27 AM   #5
BrioBriss
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loa View Post
Hello,

You didn't see any performance increase either because you didn't need more ram, or because you didn't get enough. My guess is the latter with the apps you mentionned. 20GB for four major apps is quite little.

Also, don't bother with flashing the firmware just to get faster RAM, it won't make any real world difference. More ram is always better than faster ram.

Loa
Well since the RAM I actually added didn't seems to works at his full potential due to the CPU, I guess I'm better not buying more RAM and upgrade the CPU here.
BrioBriss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 01:54 PM   #6
DPUser
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Have done the 4,1 to 5,1 flash on a couple machines now.

My dear friend "Paul" in San Diego figured this out, quite a useful hack.

But with both, I had to use a CPU and RAM that supported 1333 and then it still required a PRAM reset to show up.

With 12 cores at 3.33Ghz and an SSD boot drive and a GTX 580 3GB, you don't wait for much.
I love "Paul", and so does my 2009 "5,1" hex Mac Pro!
DPUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 03:37 PM   #7
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
More RAM does not make your computer faster. It makes it go farther.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 07:28 AM   #8
Loa
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Québec
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
More RAM does not make your computer faster.
True, but in a sense, more RAM *will* make it go faster if the lack of RAM was slowing it down.

Loa
Loa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 08:35 PM   #9
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
Even so..

1333 mhz DDR3 and 1066 DDR3 yield very negligible differences.. unless one is using scientific number crunching software and or anything requiring such applications.

If one is using their mac pro for regular everyday use, then the differences are minute, at best.

In the PowerPC days, I thought more memory was better as it increased performance of a PowerPC mac.. Doesn't seem relevant anymore in the Intel world of Macs.
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Upgrade mac pro 2009 memory not showing in Disk utility any help Shahasen Mac Pro 8 Mar 20, 2014 12:42 AM
32G memory upgrade for 2008 Mac Pro smchan Mac Pro 3 Nov 6, 2013 03:49 PM
Mac Pro 2008 memory upgrade questions Will G. Mac Pro 3 Jan 23, 2013 11:22 AM
Memory (RAM) upgrade in 2008 Mac Pro NOV Mac Pro 2 Jan 8, 2013 09:37 AM
Mac Pro Quieter After Memory Upgrade? SteelBlueTJ Mac Pro 1 Jul 28, 2012 01:15 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC