Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 31, 2012, 11:32 PM   #1
ImperialForces
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sure! Do you have a pen and paper? I'm in your moms house. I'll be waiting.
Installing Windows on 1TB Fusion Drive

I'm not sure how to put this, but windows fails to install when I attempt to use boot camp on my new 27 inch iMac. Does anyone know what to do?

Thanks
__________________
Embrace the power of the dark side...
ImperialForces is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 12:42 AM   #2
EPiCDiNGO
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Exclamation

How are you installing it from usb iso?
__________________
2010 Macbook Pro i5 2.4GHz 8GB ram 256 SSD
iPhone 4 Black 32GB
iPad 2 32GB Black
Soon to buy 2012 27" iMac
EPiCDiNGO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 01:08 AM   #3
boto
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
As in partitioning a Windows partiton?
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4Ghz, GTX 680MX, 1TB FD, 32GB RAM | rMBP 2.6Ghz/16GB RAM/256GB | 16GB iPhone 5 White | 16GB iPad 3rd Gen White | Time Capsule 2TB | Apple TV 3
boto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 06:08 AM   #4
iLondoner
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London (the big one, not London Ohio, Texas, Kentucky, etc)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImperialForces View Post
I'm not sure how to put this...
Well, try with some more information for a start. What steps have you undertaken, what happened at each step, any error messages, which version of Windows, what spec iMac...
__________________
13" MacBook Air 27" iMac 3TB Fusion 3TB Time Capsule Apple TV 3 iPhone 5 iPad Air
iLondoner is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 07:53 PM   #5
ImperialForces
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sure! Do you have a pen and paper? I'm in your moms house. I'll be waiting.
I am using a superdrive and the new 27 inch iMac, 1TB Fusion drive. I'm trying to install windows 7 ultimate via bootcamp, but once bootcamp restarts the computer for windows to install, I see the dos interface with only a blinking line - the line you see to mark where you are on a document.
__________________
Embrace the power of the dark side...
ImperialForces is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 07:56 PM   #6
Dduval
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Make sure your copy of windows is the retail version. The Oem, student, etc versions typically will display this blinking cursor forever and a day, there are work arounds, but you'll have to google the solutions...
__________________
------------------------------------------------
2011 27" iMac 3.1ghz 256gb SSD, iPad Air, iPad 2, iPad 3, iPhone 4,
iPod Touch, iPod mini.
Dduval is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 08:25 PM   #7
ImperialForces
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sure! Do you have a pen and paper? I'm in your moms house. I'll be waiting.
It's an authentic copy
__________________
Embrace the power of the dark side...
ImperialForces is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 08:56 PM   #8
Dduval
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Hmm, have you let the screen with the blinking cursor sit for a long time? I mean like an hour? and see if it will proceed...
__________________
------------------------------------------------
2011 27" iMac 3.1ghz 256gb SSD, iPad Air, iPad 2, iPad 3, iPhone 4,
iPod Touch, iPod mini.
Dduval is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:49 PM   #9
Stooby Mcdoobie
macrumors 6502a
 
Stooby Mcdoobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
The new iMac doesn't come with an optical drive, right? And, from what I've read, the Windows installer doesn't play well with external disc drives. Best course of action may be to have Boot Camp Assistant create a bootable Windows thumb drive.

Insert your Windows disc and open Disk Utility. Click New Image. On the window that pops up, choose DVD/CD master as the file format and click ok. (This will create a .cdr file.)

Thumb resize.

Then open Boot Camp Assistant and check the box beside Create a Windows 7 install disk.

Thumb resize.

You may need to change the .cdr extension to .iso, but I think BCA will recognize the file as is.

Last edited by Stooby Mcdoobie; Jan 1, 2013 at 09:55 PM. Reason: grammar
Stooby Mcdoobie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 04:43 AM   #10
Quad5Ny
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Try holding down Option (alt) before the Apple logo shows and select your Windows disc in the SuperDrive.

And backup any important files in case you end up doing something wrong.
Quad5Ny is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between 1TB vs. 3TB Fusion Drive? Tofray iMac 8 Oct 19, 2013 06:53 AM
1tb to fusion drive TT1TT MacBook Pro 0 May 9, 2013 01:12 AM
Split 1TB fusion drive tommy0614 iMac 2 Feb 8, 2013 01:22 AM
Fusion 1TB drive iMac and Windows EPiCDiNGO iMac 19 Nov 29, 2012 02:47 PM
Price of 1TB Fusion Drive beerglass007 iMac 64 Nov 22, 2012 09:04 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC