Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:33 AM   #1
GXPvince
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
A little confusion on Processor Speeds between models

I have been searching for newer Mac Pro for quite a while now to replace my 1,1.

First, keep in mind I will use the Mac Pro for heavy Lightroom and Photoshop use.

I found a 2-2.26 4,1 to buy, for around 1,100. However, I have a Mac Pro that is 2-2.66 already.

Should I be going backwards on clock speed? Will I notice improvement in Lightroom?
__________________
| Mac Pro 1,1 2-2.66 quads | 30in - 23in ACD | MPA 2011
f1.4 and be there
GXPvince is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:40 AM   #2
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by GXPvince View Post
I have been searching for newer Mac Pro for quite a while now to replace my 1,1.

First, keep in mind I will use the Mac Pro for heavy Lightroom and Photoshop use.

I found a 2-2.26 4,1 to buy, for around 1,100. However, I have a Mac Pro that is 2-2.66 already.

Should I be going backwards on clock speed? Will I notice improvement in Lightroom?
Your 1,1 is an old Core2Duo based Mac Pro with only 4 cores total. The 4,1 is a Core i Series and a total of 8 cores. Not only is your core count double, but the clock for clock the Core i series Xeons found in 2009 and newer Mac Pros crushes the old Core2Duo based Xeons found in the 2006 to 2008.

Geekbench shows your original 1,1 as having benchmark of less than 6000 points, where as a 4,1 with 2 - 2.26ghz processors has more than double at roughly 13500....

http://browser.primatelabs.com/mac-benchmarks
__________________
MBP 8,2 15" 2.2Ghz w/ 120GB SSD + 500GB
MBA 6,2 13" 1.7Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
Mac Mini 6,2 2.3ghz w/ 240GB SSD + 1TB
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ 8 cores @ 2.66 w/ 240GB SSD
paulrbeers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:46 AM   #3
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
I can give you a screenshot of your MP 1.1 specs and the other one is a MP 2009 4.1.

Now, I am no expert but if that is the model it should be quite a bit faster.

Included in the screenshot are geekbench results
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 6.png
Views:	35
Size:	296.9 KB
ID:	390568  
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:49 AM   #4
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by GXPvince View Post
I have been searching for newer Mac Pro for quite a while now to replace my 1,1.

First, keep in mind I will use the Mac Pro for heavy Lightroom and Photoshop use.

I found a 2-2.26 4,1 to buy, for around 1,100. However, I have a Mac Pro that is 2-2.66 already.

Should I be going backwards on clock speed? Will I notice improvement in Lightroom?
Is your current MP 2x2.66 Quads meaning 8 core or 2x2.66 duals for 4 cores. If it's 8 the new one will be 30% or so faster with massively cheaper RAM and a better selection of video cards so it wins all the way around..

OTOH since you are fine right now it may pay to wait to see what happens this year
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:50 AM   #5
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by GXPvince View Post
I have been searching for newer Mac Pro for quite a while now to replace my 1,1.

First, keep in mind I will use the Mac Pro for heavy Lightroom and Photoshop use.

I found a 2-2.26 4,1 to buy, for around 1,100. However, I have a Mac Pro that is 2-2.66 already.

Should I be going backwards on clock speed? Will I notice improvement in Lightroom?
Just for the sake of clarity, choose About This Mac in the menu. Post what you have adjacent to Processor.
LPZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:00 AM   #6
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
Just for the sake of clarity, choose About This Mac in the menu. Post what you have adjacent to Processor.
For what, he clearly says what he has and what he's about to get.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:13 AM   #7
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
For what, he clearly says what he has and what he's about to get.
"Mac Pro 1,1 3.0ghz(now 2-2.66 quad), 16gb, ATI 5770, 2 SSDs, 30in and 23in ADC"

Here is his sig
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:26 AM   #8
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
"Mac Pro 1,1 3.0ghz(now 2-2.66 quad), 16gb, ATI 5770, 2 SSDs, 30in and 23in ADC"

Here is his sig
So, he changed his CPU's, in his post he also says 2.66???

2.66=2.66

Or am I drunk.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:58 AM   #9
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
So, he changed his CPU's, in his post he also says 2.66???

2.66=2.66

Or am I drunk.
He could be using 5355's hence the change from 3.0 Ghz

If he's on 8 cores at 2.66 then his GB is 10,000ish like mine
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 10:27 AM   #10
GXPvince
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
Is your current MP 2x2.66 Quads meaning 8 core or 2x2.66 duals for 4 cores. If it's 8 the new one will be 30% or so faster with massively cheaper RAM and a better selection of video cards so it wins all the way around..

OTOH since you are fine right now it may pay to wait to see what happens this year
Thanks for the responses.

I did do the swap. 2-2.66 quads (8 cores) is my current set-up.

So 30% faster over my 8 core 1,1?

Edit: Signature is fixed.
__________________
| Mac Pro 1,1 2-2.66 quads | 30in - 23in ACD | MPA 2011
f1.4 and be there
GXPvince is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 10:53 AM   #11
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by GXPvince View Post
Thanks for the responses.

I did do the swap. 2-2.66 quads (8 cores) is my current set-up.

So 30% faster over my 8 core 1,1?

Edit: Signature is fixed.
Your MP and Mine are rather similar, I score 10,470..You'll be at 13K or so with the new one. You'll get cheaper RAM with a higher RAM limit, it'll use less power have PCI 2 and be up-to-date.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 11:13 AM   #12
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
For what, he clearly says what he has and what he's about to get.
Wasn't clear to me. Was confused by the specs in his signature.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
Your MP and Mine are rather similar, I score 10,470..You'll be at 13K or so with the new one. You'll get cheaper RAM with a higher RAM limit, it'll use less power have PCI 2 and be up-to-date.
Seems silly to me for the OP to spend 1100 for such improvements. Especially now, with a new Mac Pro soon to arrive (maybe ).
LPZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 11:26 AM   #13
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
Wasn't clear to me. Was confused by the specs in his signature.

----------



Seems silly to me for the OP to spend 1100 for such improvements. Especially now, with a new Mac Pro soon to arrive (maybe ).
I think so to that's why in my first post I said to wait.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 11:27 AM   #14
GXPvince
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
Your MP and Mine are rather similar, I score 10,470..You'll be at 13K or so with the new one. You'll get cheaper RAM with a higher RAM limit, it'll use less power have PCI 2 and be up-to-date.
Thanks for the advice. LPZ, Ill take that into consideration- it will most likely push everything down in price. However, if I should buy the 2-2.26 and resell it eventually I would only lose a couple hundred, and time saved would make up most of that. I'm also paging out sometimes 3-4gb opening 25 files 26-28mbs each in PS, which I do not like.

Thinking about it more I have another issue with the 1,1 (probably because I have cheap ram) or my PC ATI "5000" is doing weird stuff, is that my computer is not starting up the first time I hit the power button. It takes 4-5 times powering it up and powering it down to get it to the login window. Just recently started doing it and its fine when booted.

Ahhhh, another issue is waking from sleep the fans rev extremely high for about a minute then go back to normal.

So a few issues are present beside clock speed confusion.
__________________
| Mac Pro 1,1 2-2.66 quads | 30in - 23in ACD | MPA 2011
f1.4 and be there
GXPvince is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 11:33 AM   #15
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by GXPvince View Post
Thanks for the advice. LPZ, Ill take that into consideration- it will most likely push everything down in price. However, if I should buy the 2-2.26 and resell it eventually I would only lose a couple hundred, and time saved would make up most of that. I'm also paging out sometimes 3-4gb opening 25 files 26-28mbs each in PS, which I do not like.

Thinking about it more I have another issue with the 1,1 (probably because I have cheap ram) or my PC ATI "5000" is doing weird stuff, is that my computer is not starting up the first time I hit the power button. It takes 4-5 times powering it up and powering it down to get it to the login window. Just recently started doing it and its fine when booted.

Ahhhh, another issue is waking from sleep the fans rev extremely high for about a minute then go back to normal.

So a few issues are present beside clock speed confusion.
I think the first issue tends to be a Power Supply but I'm sure someone else will chime in.

The second IMHO is either graphics or RAM, most likely RAM..The ram in mine is out of a Dell server and has been just great. I got 8GB for 40 Euro.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 11:46 AM   #16
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by GXPvince View Post
my computer is not starting up the first time I hit the power button. It takes 4-5 times powering it up and powering it down to get it to the login window. Just recently started doing it and its fine when booted.
This would indicate that PSU is on its last legs, I'm afraid.

Quote:
Ahhhh, another issue is waking from sleep the fans rev extremely high for about a minute then go back to normal.
I have that too in my 1,1. It started after upgrade to 5160s from 5150s. I think that's stepping issue, i.e. idle power consumption of CPUs. 5150s were G0 ones (SLAGA, ~9W idle), 5160 are B2 (SL9RT, ~18W idle). It doesn't bother me much, though. What stepping your 5355s do have?
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 11:54 AM   #17
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Stay away from the 2.26. It sucks at Adobe suite. Clock way too low and not enough turbo biasing to make up for it. Side grade at best. Maybe trade for it but don't put any money into it. I'd use any dual 2008 over a 2.26 2009 or 2.4 2010. Unless you have gigantic memory needs in Lightroom.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 11:58 AM   #18
GXPvince
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
This would indicate that PSU is on its last legs, I'm afraid.



I have that too in my 1,1. It started after upgrade to 5160s from 5150s. I think that's stepping issue, i.e. idle power consumption of CPUs. 5150s were G0 ones (SLAGA, ~9W idle), 5160 are B2 (SL9RT, ~18W idle). It doesn't bother me much, though. What stepping your 5355s do have?
I wanna say SLEAG. Do not remember but do remember following the forum posts here to make sure I had the correct one.

As far as the PSU. The other day I tried using my x1900 and 5770 together, which worked and brought up the PCI dialog box saying one is gunna run slower than expected. Could that have done something?

How much are PSUs for 1,1 anyways? Say 500-$600. Give me another reason to buy a Mac Pro 4,1 +
__________________
| Mac Pro 1,1 2-2.66 quads | 30in - 23in ACD | MPA 2011
f1.4 and be there
GXPvince is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 12:01 PM   #19
kohlson
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
If you're hitting VM, you may want to consider adding an SSD. Inexpensive enough, and could provide a real performance boost. But it sounds like your MP may have issues on multiple fronts.
kohlson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 12:02 PM   #20
GXPvince
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
Stay away from the 2.26. It sucks at Adobe suite. Clock way too low and not enough turbo biasing to make up for it. Side grade at best. Maybe trade for it but don't put any money into it. I'd use any dual 2008 over a 2.26 2009 or 2.4 2010. Unless you have gigantic memory needs in Lightroom.
I also considered the 2.8 5.1 (essentially a couple hundred more used), eventually putting in the 3.33. The GB is a couple thousand more on the 2.26 that's why I was leaning that way.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by kohlson View Post
If you're hitting VM, you may want to consider adding an SSD. Inexpensive enough, and could provide a real performance boost. But it sounds like your MP may have issues on multiple fronts.
I have a Cache SSD (128) (All Adobe Caches)
and an Apps SSD (128)
__________________
| Mac Pro 1,1 2-2.66 quads | 30in - 23in ACD | MPA 2011
f1.4 and be there
GXPvince is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 12:07 PM   #21
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by GXPvince View Post
As far as the PSU. The other day I tried using my x1900 and 5770 together, which worked and brought up the PCI dialog box saying one is gunna run slower than expected. Could that have done something?
Nope.

Quote:
How much are PSUs for 1,1 anyways? Say 500-$600
About $150 (eBay).

Maybe consider single 4,1, flash to 5,1 and put W3680 in it. This should give you a good, balanced system - high clock for single threaded tasks, good performance in multithreaded. GB score ~ 15k, if it's important to you. http://www.barefeats.com/wst10.html

Last edited by 666sheep; Jan 16, 2013 at 12:12 PM.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 12:18 PM   #22
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by GXPvince View Post
I also considered the 2.8 5.1 (essentially a couple hundred more used), eventually putting in the 3.33. The GB is a couple thousand more on the 2.26 that's why I was leaning that way.
Geekbench is not very indicative of Adobe PS/ Lightroom performance. The 2.8 - 3.33 is the better upgrade.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 12:26 PM   #23
GXPvince
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Good Advice. I appreciate the effort!
__________________
| Mac Pro 1,1 2-2.66 quads | 30in - 23in ACD | MPA 2011
f1.4 and be there
GXPvince is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 12:35 PM   #24
Umbongo
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by GXPvince View Post
I also considered the 2.8 5.1 (essentially a couple hundred more used), eventually putting in the 3.33. The GB is a couple thousand more on the 2.26 that's why I was leaning that way.
Although a little harder to do, the 2.26GHz model can be upgraded to dual 3.2GHz 4-cores for the same price as a 3.33GHz 6-core upgrade, and you'd have double the memory capacity and you get the option of going 12-core.
Umbongo is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC