Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 25, 2013, 08:14 AM   #26
swerve147
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dastinger View Post
I pointed that out in my first post ITT but the issue is that the OP did the key combination wrong.
Yup, that's why I specifically quoted your post with the right key combination
__________________
15 in. MacBook Pro with Retina display mid 2012 (2.6/16/512) | Microsoft Surface Pro 2 128GB | iPhone 5S 64GB AT&T
swerve147 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 11:53 AM   #27
M Powered
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Opps... I meant to say I used shift, option, control, not cmd, was looking at the wrong keyboard haha. So ya... smc no efffect :/
__________________
www.keslertran.com
M Powered is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 12:39 PM   #28
ppone
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
What resolution are you running at?
ppone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 06:28 PM   #29
M Powered
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppone View Post
What resolution are you running at?
2560x1440
__________________
www.keslertran.com
M Powered is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 10:32 AM   #30
ppone
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
if your running, your rMBP at non HiDPI 2560x1440, you shouldn't have any lag.

are you running just your retina or are you running the retina plus an external display at 2560x1440

Quote:
Originally Posted by M Powered View Post
2560x1440
ppone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 02:25 PM   #31
walkie
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Maybe the discrete GPU (nvidia 650) is not longer switching when running Lightroom, download gfxCardStatus and see if your rMBP is switching properly.
walkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 03:06 PM   #32
M Powered
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by walkie View Post
Maybe the discrete GPU (nvidia 650) is not longer switching when running Lightroom, download gfxCardStatus and see if your rMBP is switching properly.
I'll try that!

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ppone View Post
if your running, your rMBP at non HiDPI 2560x1440, you shouldn't have any lag.

are you running just your retina or are you running the retina plus an external display at 2560x1440
Running only external display. My mbp remains closed. Hooked up to a t bolt display
__________________
www.keslertran.com
M Powered is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 07:58 PM   #33
yusukeaoki
macrumors 68030
 
yusukeaoki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
If he's running external display, your dGPU should be switched automatically...
It could possibly be a dead GPU so try using that gfxcardstatus and find out.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro (Early 2011), 2.2GHz i7-2720QM, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD+1TB HDD@5400rpm
11" MacBook Air (Mid 2013), 1.7GHz i7-4650U, 8GB RAM, 512GB Flash
HTC J One (White) 32GB
yusukeaoki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 08:14 PM   #34
Calisi*
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Down under land
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Powered View Post
I don't know what happened, about 2 weeks ago my MBP got noticeably slower using Lightroom 4, it would take twice as long to render 1:1 preview, and moving images around would be really choppy.

I didn't change anything or updated any setting.

I even reformated and reinstalled OSX Mountain Lion and the problem is still there.

I compared the performance to my friends same spec rMBP and his is much faster.

Ideas? I did a pram reset also, Is there a hardware issue? The boot times and shut down is still fast, I'm guessing it maybe the graphics card? Ram issue?

My system spec is 2.3 Ghz, 8gb of ram, base 15" rmbp model.

Very frustrating.
It is just Lightroom that's going slow or the whole macbook? Because when I downloaded the new LR4 update for Retina, it slowed me LR down immensely and it's gotten to the point where it's driving me mad and I would rather use Photoshop.
Calisi* is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 08:53 PM   #35
dma550
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: CT
any fan activity when this happens?
dma550 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 12:38 AM   #36
M Powered
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calisi* View Post
It is just Lightroom that's going slow or the whole macbook? Because when I downloaded the new LR4 update for Retina, it slowed me LR down immensely and it's gotten to the point where it's driving me mad and I would rather use Photoshop.
Just LR4, I use everything else seems fine.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by yusukeaoki View Post
If he's running external display, your dGPU should be switched automatically...
It could possibly be a dead GPU so try using that gfxcardstatus and find out.
downloaded gfxcardstatus, it detects my discrete graphics card, everything seems fine, It won't let me switch to integrated graphics because it says , CS6 is open and external display.

So I'm guessing because I have an external display hooked up, my discrete is working properly? safe to say?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by dma550 View Post
any fan activity when this happens?
Naw, fan is off unless I'm batch processing.
__________________
www.keslertran.com
M Powered is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 12:54 AM   #37
yusukeaoki
macrumors 68030
 
yusukeaoki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Have you tried running geekbench, cinebench, etc to see the scores?
__________________
17" MacBook Pro (Early 2011), 2.2GHz i7-2720QM, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD+1TB HDD@5400rpm
11" MacBook Air (Mid 2013), 1.7GHz i7-4650U, 8GB RAM, 512GB Flash
HTC J One (White) 32GB
yusukeaoki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 04:37 PM   #38
M Powered
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by yusukeaoki View Post
Have you tried running geekbench, cinebench, etc to see the scores?
yup,

Geekbench 32bit gave me 10,886

Cinebench came in at ~36fps.

Normal?
__________________
www.keslertran.com
M Powered is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 12:26 AM   #39
swl7
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Powered View Post
yup,

Geekbench 32bit gave me 10,886

Cinebench came in at ~36fps.

Normal?
yup those benchmarks are normal for your base model of the rMBP 15". Maybe you could try using the laptop without an external monitor. It could be that your external display is causing problems.
swl7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 07:13 AM   #40
ppone
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Try this.

Unhook your external display.

Download this app RDM

http://www.reddit.com/r/apple/commen...resolution_to/


Set the resolution to something non HiDPI and comfortable.

Try 2048x1280

Now, try the software that was giving you trouble.

Another solution: You can also go to finder and right click on the app, to get info. There should be an option to set the app to "low resolution" mode, I don't like this solution because it makes UI elements inconsistent meaning, you have HiDPI and non HiDPI UI elements side by side from different apps.

Using HiDPI vs Non HiDPI and comparing to the XBench graphics test,

I found Non HiDPI delivers better performance.

Quote:
Originally Posted by M Powered View Post
I'll try that!

----------



Running only external display. My mbp remains closed. Hooked up to a t bolt display

Last edited by ppone; Feb 28, 2013 at 07:19 AM.
ppone is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC