Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:51 AM   #51
MagicThief83
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by forty2j View Post
Doesn't really answer the question, in my mind. I'd like to know if you're getting officially licensed versions, and not genetically modified knockoffs.

----------



OEM keys are tied to a single piece of hardware.
Lol, so in essence, I could reinstall Windows 7 as many times as I want as long as I reinstall it on the same Mac with the same hardware? How does Bootcamp tie into this? Does the activation key ties itself to hardware identifiers on the system of install?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by sesnir View Post
Because I want a really nice Mac for a main machine first, and a Windows PC for the occasional Windows game second. I'm not buying an iMac because I want to play a lot of games in Windows, it's just a nice benefit. One that will make me wait on buying a new iMac until I can have a 3TB Fusion drive and still use bootcamp.

To the OP, I've used my 2011 iMac 21 inch with Windows 7 + Steam for a year and a half, and have no complaints. Everything works fine.

I don't think Windows 8 will be officially supported for another 2-3 months.
Even if Windows 8 is officially supported in Bootcamp, I will continue to avoid it.
MagicThief83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:29 AM   #52
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicThief83 View Post
Lol, so in essence, I could reinstall Windows 7 as many times as I want as long as I reinstall it on the same Mac with the same hardware? How does Bootcamp tie into this? Does the activation key ties itself to hardware identifiers on the system of install?
Bootcamp is nothing more than installing Windows on a particular brand of PC and then installing some drivers for that brand's hardware. It's not special as far as Microsoft is concerned.

That said, the license is tied to the hardware itself. It is possible to use the same license for both Bootcamp and Parallels on the same box.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 5  Apple TV 2  iPad 2 
forty2j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:56 AM   #53
FuriousGreg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by forty2j View Post
You can't Bootcamp a 3 TB drive at all (Fusion or otherwise).
I was unaware of this, do you know why this is the case?
FuriousGreg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 04:05 PM   #54
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuriousGreg View Post
I was unaware of this, do you know why this is the case?
http://www-947.ibm.com/support/entry...d=MIGR-5079632
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 5  Apple TV 2  iPad 2 
forty2j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 04:16 PM   #55
Mac32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Windows 7 64 bit can support 3tb HDs, if the HD is formatted as GPT (GUID partition table).
Why then can't boot camp work with a 3tb HD?
I don't understand this...
Mac32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 03:43 PM   #56
Curren~Sea
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
If a person had an external SSD via USB3, could you run W7 from it for gaming, and would there be any performance hit?
Curren~Sea is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 03:51 PM   #57
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac32 View Post
Windows 7 64 bit can support 3tb HDs, if the HD is formatted as GPT (GUID partition table).
Why then can't boot camp work with a 3tb HD?
I don't understand this...
From what I can tell, Win 7 can only boot off GPT on a UEFI system.. and while Apple uses EFI, it doesn't use UEFI.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 5  Apple TV 2  iPad 2 
forty2j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 03:56 PM   #58
ihuman:D
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewAMEL View Post
That's a good point. An i7/680MX doesn't do you much good if it's constantly waiting on a 5400RPM drive.

I guess you could spec your iMac with an SSD only and then install your own SSD in the HDD spot. Boot Camp works fine on a separate drive.

In response to others who question using an iMac for gaming: I have used an iMac for gaming since the Intel iMac was released. My limitation is aesthetic (i.e., the wife). One computer that can handle the wife, daughter, myself and fill my semi-casual gaming needs makes it a bargain.

I currently use a Late2009 i7 (Radeon 4850). I am anxiously awaiting the 2012 iMac so I can crank up the detail in Skyrim. /

----------

BTW- you don't need a 'digital' version of Windows. Even if you wind up getting physical media, just use this.

http://images2.store.microsoft.com/p...B-DVD-tool.exe
Oh my God...
__________________
iMac G4 17'' 1.25GHz PowerBook G4 15'' Hi-Res 1.67GHz iMac 2012 21.5" 2.9GHz i5
It's spelled "Aluminium"
It's "Couldn't care less" not "Could care less"
ihuman:D is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 05:01 PM   #59
barrett14
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Is it possible that Apple will release a software update for bootcamp allowing it to work with the 3TB drive? Or is it more complicated than that?

I really want to get the 3 TB drive but want to use it for gaming too (need windows)

Really unsure what to do here.
barrett14 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 11:51 PM   #60
glitch44
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrett14 View Post
Is it possible that Apple will release a software update for bootcamp allowing it to work with the 3TB drive? Or is it more complicated than that?
http://www-947.ibm.com/support/entry...d=MIGR-5079632

Quote:
Symptom
The boot disk on a Microsoft Windows system, whether it is a physical disk or a logical disk on an array, is limited to two (2.2) terabytes (TB) in size.
This is due to the addressing limitations of the Master Boot Record (MBR) partitioning scheme, which the traditional Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) architecture uses to boot.
Non-boot volumes partitioned with MBR are also limited to 2.2 TB in size.
Quote:
There is no Fix for this issue; this is a limitation of the architecture.
glitch44 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 12:21 AM   #61
Operationlvy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Francisco, CA
So just to be clear: it will be possible to Bootcamp partition some of the 1TB 5400rpm HD in the 1TB Fusion?

And if you want your Windows OS on an external SSD you have to do a semi-complicated workaround?
Operationlvy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 12:48 AM   #62
81Steven
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by glitch44 View Post
http://www-947.ibm.com/support/entry...d=MIGR-5079632

There is no Fix for this issue; this is a limitation of the architecture.
So, there is no way to update bootcamp to emulate uefi instead of bios at boot to manage gpt drive in macs?
81Steven is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 07:29 PM   #63
Ocker
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
So is it possible to run Bootcamp from an external drive with the 3TB Fusion Drive iMac?
Alternatively can I run Windows with Parallels with the 3TB iMac?
Ocker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:20 PM   #64
KhrisGarcia
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ocker View Post
So is it possible to run Bootcamp from an external drive with the 3TB Fusion Drive iMac?
Alternatively can I run Windows with Parallels with the 3TB iMac?
You can boot Windows off of an external Thunderbolt drive only. But in this case I would imagine the hard part's going to be getting a winclone image of Windows off the 3TB drive and onto the external drive. Might take a couple installs of OSX.

I'm guessing you would need to start out with the 3TB drive formatted as MBR (2.2TB limit), install OSX, install Windows via boot camp, winclone to external TB drive, reformat the 3TB as GPT, reinstall OSX, test Windows. To save time you could also start out with a CCC image of OSX so you don't have to keep reinstalling. Just a thought.
KhrisGarcia is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 10:55 PM   #65
KhrisGarcia
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ocker View Post
So is it possible to run Bootcamp from an external drive with the 3TB Fusion Drive iMac?
Alternatively can I run Windows with Parallels with the 3TB iMac?
I just posted this on another thread. The makers of winclone have a new tutorial out showing how to use boot camp with a 3TB hard drive.

Installing Windows via Boot Camp on a large (2.2 TB or larger ) Drive in Lion (10.7) and later

After that you can go about restoring the image to an external ThunderBolt drive. I just did this on my 2011 17" MBP using a 512GB Crucial M4 internal and a 256GB Crucial M4 in a GoFlex case connected with the GoFlex TB adapter.

Here are the steps I took. Note that you will need to take some initial steps to account for the 3TB Boot Camp tutorial. That comes first.

1. Use Boot Camp Assistant to install Windows 7 on your internal hard drive
2. Boot into Windows and install the Apple support drives for Windows 7
3. Power off Windows and connect your external ThunderBolt hard drive
4. Boot into Windows and allow Windows to install the ThunderBolt drivers (Note: The reason we reboot here is because Windows cannot recognize a ThunderBolt device unless it's connected at power on)
5. Reboot into Mac OS X
6. Create a Winclone image of the Boot Camp partition
7. Open Disk Utility and create a new FAT partition on your external ThunderBolt hard drive
8. While in Disk Utility, remove the Boot Camp partition from your internal hard drive and expand the Mac OS X partition back to full size
8. Open Winclone and restore the Boot Camp image to the new partition on your external ThunderBolt Drive
9. Restart the computer and boot into Windows by holding down alt/option
10. Let Windows check the disk for consistancy (Note: When the disk check finishes it will reboot automatically so be ready to press alt/option so you can select Windows. If you miss it and it boots back into Mac OS X no biggie, just restart and hold alt/option again)
11. You're done... Now just don't try to move the ThunderBolt drive around while using Windows. If it disconnects it'll lock up and you'll have to forcefully reboot by holding down the power button.

Last edited by KhrisGarcia; Dec 6, 2012 at 11:04 PM.
KhrisGarcia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 12:27 PM   #66
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jnardis View Post
I just bought/downloaded and installed Windows 7 here https://softwarecareworld.com/
and it worked perfectly.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicThief83 View Post
Is this legit?
Old thread here, but I finally got around to doing the research (since it's, you know, relevant to me now ).

I can emphatically state that this is NOT legit. They're doing some funky stuff with reselling bulk licenses, and the keys don't work if you reinstall. They also traded under a different name until recently - they were listed in Microsoft's Pinpoint program on the old name, and then they were removed.. so they changed their name and got themselves listed again. Their new Pinpoint program listing describes themselves as implementers of Microsoft's Dynamics CRM, not as a wholesaler or reseller of consumer software.

They also don't even have any Windows pseudo-licenses for sale right now.. ironically, they have some Snow Leopard though.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 5  Apple TV 2  iPad 2 
forty2j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 08:25 AM   #67
Jnardis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by forty2j View Post
Old thread here, but I finally got around to doing the research (since it's, you know, relevant to me now ).

I can emphatically state that this is NOT legit. They're doing some funky stuff with reselling bulk licenses, and the keys don't work if you reinstall. They also traded under a different name until recently - they were listed in Microsoft's Pinpoint program on the old name, and then they were removed.. so they changed their name and got themselves listed again. Their new Pinpoint program listing describes themselves as implementers of Microsoft's Dynamics CRM, not as a wholesaler or reseller of consumer software.

They also don't even have any Windows pseudo-licenses for sale right now.. ironically, they have some Snow Leopard though.
Hmm, I guess I got lucky because mine works perfectly, BUT I haven't tried to reinstall it yet so I most likely will be screwed later on. The key they supplied worked and the whole process was pretty easy.
Jnardis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 08:42 PM   #68
BigMac25
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
I will be getting a 3.4 i7, 1tb fusion, and 680 MX shortly. I have a unused copy of win 7 64 bit. Should I use bootcamp and install windows to play wow, or use the mac side with the fusion for better performance?
BigMac25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 08:51 PM   #69
MacAlien
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
That's reallly up to you tbh. The PC version of wow tends to run a bit more smoothly than the Mac version. But in the end, wow has an old engine (read: not super needy), so either will run fine.
__________________
---
Old: 21" 2.4 Intel Core 2 Duo, 3GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro 256 MB, 275GB HD.
Current: 27" 3.2 i5, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5, 1TB HD.
MacAlien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 10:33 PM   #70
joeholl1979
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicThief83 View Post
Who games on their iMac in Bootcamp using Steam? Do you use Windows 7 or 8? Is windows 7 stable in Bootcamp for Steam gaming (meaning no constant errors and driver issues)? I ask because I downloaded Windows 8 on my MBA, and tried to play Steam games using Bootcamp, and each game I downloaded and played, greeted me with an error message and would force close the application. What's weird is that I used the Windows 8 release preview and everything was working with that version. By the way, I downloaded the Windows 8 Pro (64-bit) version. Some of the error messages I received were .NET errors and "graphic card undetected." It also wouldn't recognize my wireless Logitech gamepad (like I said, everything worked flawlessly before in the release preview). I think I'm just going to stick to Windows 7. What are your experiences with Windows 7, Bootcamp, and Steam gaming? Are all your gaming peripherals supported as well? Thanks!
I use steam with Windows 7 64-bit (via Bootcamp) with no issues. The only game I play on it is Skyrim, though. I also use Origin to play Battlefield 3. Both games look and run AMAZING on my 27" iMac with 680MX graphics!
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 10:42 PM   #71
luminouslight
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeholl1979 View Post
I use steam with Windows 7 64-bit (via Bootcamp) with no issues. The only game I play on it is Skyrim, though. I also use Origin to play Battlefield 3. Both games look and run AMAZING on my 27" iMac with 680MX graphics!
Agreed. I also have the 680 mx. Have only tried dishonored and skyrim so far but the games look amazing on this display! And they both run smooth as silk all maxed out. Really happy with the performance of this imac! And to think its an all-in-one.
luminouslight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 10:54 PM   #72
joeholl1979
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by luminouslight View Post
Agreed. I also have the 680 mx. Have only tried dishonored and skyrim so far but the games look amazing on this display! And they both run smooth as silk all maxed out. Really happy with the performance of this imac! And to think its an all-in-one.
This is my first Mac computer (I just ditched my large PC tower and monitor for the 27" iMac). Macs have historically been considered a no-no for gaming, but I couldn't be more pleased. I have a beautiful display, amazing graphics and processing performance, and no loud tower taking up space in my office. My iMac makes little to no noise at all, I just let it run all day and night without shutting down. I can't see myself going back to PC now!

Everyone should own one of these! (although I understand that not everyone can drop $2,500 on a computer)
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:51 AM   #73
mlamb64150
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Isle of Man
Hi peeps. Great thread, thanks for the excellent resource.

I just want to clarify something before I make a purchase.

I have the 27' 2012 iMac (see spec in signature) and I'm pondering getting an external SSD to boot Windows 7 from for general Windows usage and maybe some gaming. By general Windows usage I'm likely referring to Online Poker as there are few native options available for Mac OS.

Anyways, I'm specifically looking at the 256GB Lacie Rugged SSD. If I install Win 7 64-bit to the Lacie and run it off Thunderbolt (or 3.0), there are no problems with Windows detecting this drive and using the drive for storage as well as running the OS on the same partition?

Sorry for the dumb question, just want to clarify it before I buy myself another Windows license and the expensive external drive.

TY!
__________________
MBP 17 16GB iPad 3 32GB iPhone 5 Late'12 iMac 27 3.4ghz i7, GTX 680MX 2G, 1TB Fusion drive Apple TV G2/3 120GB iPod Classic 1TB Time Capsule
mlamb64150 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC