Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 12, 2012, 10:35 PM   #1
DustinB85
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Hard Drive Failure = Excuse to upgrade 2009 Mac Pro. Advice!

Okay so I wouldn't really say it was a failure but I had my stock 640 gb hd in my quad core 2009 Mac Pro go corrupt and stopped booting on me. I have a 2gb time capsule and a 2gb Synology NAT diskstation for backups so I decided to just wipe the HD clean and will restore just the files I need for now. I had an old 74gb WD raptor HD laying around so I threw ML back on there so I could at least boot the computer back up. This gives me push to upgrade a few things since I have to restore everything anyways. I bought a few basic things to start which will be here tomorrow. Here is list so far,

OCZ Technology 256GB Vertex 4
Apricorn Velocity Solo x1
WD Caviar Black 1 TB SATA III 7200 RPM 64 MB

The main use for this computer is video editing/some web and photo design I have taken this up in the last year as a hobby. I mainly work with Adobe software (Premiere Pro/After Effects/Speedgrade/lightroom etc). I have the creative cloud so I do have all of Adobe CS6 and have been learning it bit by bit. I do use Apple motion and aperture some. I shoot video with just a Canon T4i DSLR camera for now so nothing crazy.

I bought the 256 SSD for my boot and app drive and I planned on keeping my files on 2 internal WD Black 1 TB in a RAID 0 (2TB total). I still have the time capsule and disk station for now as my back up. I'll change that once I need too. I'll also just keep the 640gb and 74gb internal in case I need them.

So I think I am set for now as far as storage I can expand when I need too. I plan to just end up with 4tb internal and then move to raid enclosures down the road as I need.

I have both my graphics card and ram really holding me back right now. I have only 8gb of ram right now (2gb x 4). So should I upgrade to 24gb (8 x 3) or will 32 (8 x 4) really make that much of an impact for what I am doing? I have always been under the impression you don't gain much performance after a certain point if the software doesn't take advantage of it.

So should the RAM be my next move and is there something I should really switch up with my plan as it stands right now.

Any input would be great. Thanks

Dustin
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 2.66 GHz Quad-Core, OWC 32 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 FTW, 256GB SSD Bootdrive, 4TB internal raid
13" MacBook Pro, Intel Core i5, 320GB, 8GB RAM, ML Server
DustinB85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 11:37 PM   #2
wonderspark
macrumors 68030
 
wonderspark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Denver, CO
32GB of RAM made a night-and-day improvement for me, and I'm using CS5.5 and CS6 on a 2009 Mac Pro with the 5,1 firmware update and 6-core CPU, along with the 5870. Before, I had 16GB, and it wasn't enough. After Effects and Premiere use up to 29GB when I use them together.
__________________
Wait a second... So you're telling me anything that happens in the sky is legal, and there's a giant crime-blimp flying around this place? I don't know how I missed that.
wonderspark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 10:22 PM   #3
DustinB85
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
I just ordered 32GB of OWC Ram yesterday. After looking into into it I could see where it is borderline even at 24GB and since the cost really wasn't that much more I went with the 32. Never realized how much adobe really needed and used.

Now I have a 256GB SSD running all my apps/boot drive. Read/Write is around 350 with the Apricorn Velocity Solo x1 installed.

I also have two 1TB WD black series hard drives in a RAID 0. I'm using this for my files that I am writing too. Also any finished work and other storage. I still have the 640GB in there which is my read drive for now. I plan on adding two more 1 TB drives in a RAID 0. I'll have an better and large external backup setup by this point to back up everything that is "inside" the Mac Pro.

Last thing for now that I need is a new GPU, I still have the stock GT120 which doesn't work with Adobe's mercury engine. Which is night/day on rendering times. I'm going to just pick a card now since I am already doing the rest. I have been thinking the best card for my price range and use is the GTX 670. I was wanting to keep around the 350 range since I have already drop enough money in the last few weeks.

Any thoughts?
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 2.66 GHz Quad-Core, OWC 32 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 FTW, 256GB SSD Bootdrive, 4TB internal raid
13" MacBook Pro, Intel Core i5, 320GB, 8GB RAM, ML Server
DustinB85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 10:48 PM   #4
wonderspark
macrumors 68030
 
wonderspark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Denver, CO
I'd say you can't go wrong there, provided the two aux power cables are 6-pin. I'm guessing you've read all the GPU threads.
__________________
Wait a second... So you're telling me anything that happens in the sky is legal, and there's a giant crime-blimp flying around this place? I don't know how I missed that.
wonderspark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:26 AM   #5
DustinB85
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
The new GPU is up and running. I bought the GTX 670 FTW, not one problem so far. Thank you everyone for your help.

Dustin
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5018.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	2.27 MB
ID:	384714   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5015.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	1.42 MB
ID:	384715   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-12-19 at 11.41.25 PM.png
Views:	27
Size:	2.15 MB
ID:	384716  

__________________
2009 Mac Pro 2.66 GHz Quad-Core, OWC 32 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 FTW, 256GB SSD Bootdrive, 4TB internal raid
13" MacBook Pro, Intel Core i5, 320GB, 8GB RAM, ML Server
DustinB85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC