Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 9, 2010, 09:59 PM   #151
pavelbure
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragunaru View Post
Ok, I'm gonna try to run the benchmark after I come back from work today, I'll see how it goes. Not much hope, though.

I have a 2008 iMac 24" with 2.8Ghz Core 2 Duo, 2GB DDR2 RAM and ATI RADEON HD 2600 PRO 256MB. Has anyone tested the benchmark on this particular model?

I also tested the benchmark on my 2009 Macbook Pro but I only got like 370 or something like that for the score. So here goes for hoping I can run it on the iMac.

By the way, hi everyone, I'm new here.
I have almost the same model, only difference is mine is 2.4Ghz. I got around 700 or so. I have been in the testing since alpha and it has gotten better. If you want to try the beta I can post up my settings I am using.

For me they are the best performance / good graphics settings I can get.
pavelbure is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2010, 10:10 PM   #152
skitzogreg
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arkansas
Quote:
Originally Posted by xispec View Post
Low - 1015
High - 567

Mac Pro 2009 4,1
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Intel Xeon E5520 @ 2.26ghz
2x NVIDIA GeForce GT 120


Just waiting for the 5870 to be offered from Apple to run the bench, hopefully it'll be before the 22nd.
Pardon the na´vetÚ, but can't you simply flash any reference 5870 and add it to your system?
__________________
cMBP 2012/2.6 i7/16GB/512GB SSD/Hi-Res Antiglare
Macbook Air 2011/1.7 i5/4GB/128GB SSD
Time Capsule 2TB
iPhone 5 64GB
skitzogreg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2010, 10:25 AM   #153
Ragunaru
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavelbure View Post
I have almost the same model, only difference is mine is 2.4Ghz. I got around 700 or so. I have been in the testing since alpha and it has gotten better. If you want to try the beta I can post up my settings I am using.

For me they are the best performance / good graphics settings I can get.
Hey, thanks so much... I'm currently installing Windows on my iMac and will probably run the benchmark later to see for myself.

And actually, yeah, I was thinking of trying the beta 1st before it comes out; just to see if it's something that will actually keep me playing. So far there hasn't been an MMO which has kept me playing for more then 100 hours. Even that is a wil guess really.
Ragunaru is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2010, 08:15 AM   #154
SforSparky
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragunaru View Post
Hey, thanks so much... I'm currently installing Windows on my iMac and will probably run the benchmark later to see for myself.

And actually, yeah, I was thinking of trying the beta 1st before it comes out; just to see if it's something that will actually keep me playing. So far there hasn't been an MMO which has kept me playing for more then 100 hours. Even that is a wil guess really.
Hey Ragunaru! Any updates on how the benchmark or beta is running on your system?
SforSparky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2010, 11:48 PM   #155
un-dre
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
anybody has tried to play ff xiv from the latest mac mini?
un-dre is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2010, 11:55 PM   #156
bokebo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
System:
Mac Pro
CPU = Intel Xenon Quad-Core W5230
CPU Speed = 2.7GHz
OS = Microsoft Windows Vista 64-bit
Main Memory = 6GB
Graphics Card = ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series 1GB

Low: 5321
Load Time: 24989ms

High: 4574
Load Time: 17550ms
bokebo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 11:18 AM   #157
xispec
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by skitzogreg View Post
Pardon the na´vetÚ, but can't you simply flash any reference 5870 and add it to your system?
Yeah I could of done that but I've tried so many different things to try to get FFXIV beta and the retail version working even with the new video cards that meet the system requirement but I came to the conclusion that I am getting the "FFXIV.exe has stopped working." because of my Mac Pro having dual quad cores. Seems throughout my search for a solution those who have a Mac Pro with one quad core or single hex core runs the game with no problems. But any with 2x anything seems to not be compatible with FFXIV system requirement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bokebo View Post
System:
Mac Pro
CPU = Intel Xenon Quad-Core W5230
CPU Speed = 2.7GHz
OS = Microsoft Windows Vista 64-bit
Main Memory = 6GB
Graphics Card = ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series 1GB

Low: 5321
Load Time: 24989ms

High: 4574
Load Time: 17550ms
Those are some impressive scores. Have you actually tried playing the retail version? Also is your Mac Pro a 2010 with apple's retail 5870?
__________________
[CENTER] 2009 8-core 2.26 GHz Mac Pro, 256GB SSD, 1.64TB HD, 26GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 5870, 2x27" LED ACD

Last edited by xispec; Sep 30, 2010 at 11:31 AM. Reason: Addition
xispec is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2010, 09:13 AM   #158
Jonesy85
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonesy85 View Post
I'm hoping to play this on my MBP until it comes out for ps3. I still need to buy Windows 7, which I'm doing this week, so I can't run the benchmark yet. But judging from the responses in this thread, it looks like I can probably run the game on low settings, correct? Here are my specs...

17" MBP
GeForce 9600M GT
2.8 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3

So, should run OK on low settings?
Has anyone played on this setup, or very similar? I don't want to purchase and install Windows 7 unless I'm sure I can run the game without it looking absolutely horrible.
Jonesy85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2010, 10:23 AM   #159
ozreth
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
ozreth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonesy85 View Post
Has anyone played on this setup, or very similar? I don't want to purchase and install Windows 7 unless I'm sure I can run the game without it looking absolutely horrible.
People (including myself and a few others here and at ffxivcore.com) can't even play the game without turning every single setting to low and turning the resolution down on the 2010 i7 MBP so dont hold your breath : /

I can run any other game on high settings, but this one is a beast. The good news is that most of the trouble is server side and as things iron out in the next few months we should see a boost in performance.

You should be able to play if you put your settings down like the rest of us though : ) Also, the game still looks great on low settings.
__________________
Ye Olde Blog
ozreth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2010, 03:27 PM   #160
Jonesy85
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Okay, thanks for the reply. I'll install it all today and give it a go.
Jonesy85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2010, 11:31 PM   #161
un-dre
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
any luck on 2010 mac mini (the latest)
im planning to buy macmini for ffxiv.. before i buy ps3 release..

is it capable running the game with low setting and everything off?
un-dre is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 11:38 PM   #162
Aljovido
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by un-dre View Post
any luck on 2010 mac mini (the latest)
im planning to buy macmini for ffxiv.. before i buy ps3 release..

is it capable running the game with low setting and everything off?
I don't think the graphics card will be enough, even if you played on all low. I have an 8800GT with 512mb vram and on all low, its barely playable... I get a lot of screen tearing. I would suggest waiting for the PS3 version anyways (as it is, the PC version is still really buggy and lacking anyways).
__________________
2008 Mac Pro, 8-core 3.2GHz, 10GB RAM, 120GB OWC 6G SSD, 2x 500GB WD Black, 1x1.5TB WD Green, ATI 5780 1GB, 2x Dell 2407WFP; The New iPad; iPhone 4
Aljovido is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2010, 10:37 PM   #163
xispec
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Finally figured it out after a month of struggling to get FFXIV to work on my Mac Pro and finally found the solution! FFXIV isn't compatible of using the 16 cores (8 physical and 8 virtual). So if anyone else is having this problem I think I have found a fix.
__________________
[CENTER] 2009 8-core 2.26 GHz Mac Pro, 256GB SSD, 1.64TB HD, 26GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 5870, 2x27" LED ACD
xispec is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2010, 04:21 PM   #164
shadowedash
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xispec View Post
Finally figured it out after a month of struggling to get FFXIV to work on my Mac Pro and finally found the solution! FFXIV isn't compatible of using the 16 cores (8 physical and 8 virtual). So if anyone else is having this problem I think I have found a fix.
What is the fix you found? I'm in the same boat as far as having a Mac Pro with bootcamping Windows 7 and not being able to even boot the game without it giving it me the ,"has stopped working." bull crap.
shadowedash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2010, 05:02 PM   #165
CStan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Windows Vista

AMD Athlon Dual Core 4850 2.5ghz

NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 1GB 256bit DDR3

Low: 799

Didn't try high. So, upgrade processor or video card or both? Not needing to play on all high settings, just wanna be able to play within reason. Any suggestions?
CStan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 04:48 AM   #166
voltagenic
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
@ CStan
my graphics card is a 9800gt ee, an energy efficent card, and I score around 2300 on low settings (720). Rightly so, your gpu should most definately exceed my score.....However, and I know others on this forum may disagree, but FFXIV is cpu heavy. For example, I upgraded from a e6550 to a e7400 and my score went from 1800 in 720 to 2300 in 720. Your athlon is definately bottlenecking your card and I would look into getting a newer cpu if you can. AMD processors are quite cheap, and very easy to upgrade.

BTW in case you are wondering, your card should be able to handle FFXIV at mid to low settings without much or any lag, that is with a newer processor. My card, even though an ee, had a 256 memory bandwith as well and 1gb of ddr3 and even though my scores weren't that high, the beta ran really smooth. Your card is newer than mine, so I would assume that it would be more than enough to handle the game.
voltagenic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 10:11 PM   #167
Caseynd
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: ND, USA
A Realm Reborn?

I wonder if this utility will still be ok for the new version? FFXIV: ARR
Caseynd is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post your 2011 MacBook Pro GeekBench Score (STOCK) ZZANG MacBook Pro 144 Nov 4, 2012 07:21 PM
Post your last purchase XIV..yay! peapody Picture Gallery 2458 Nov 23, 2010 04:07 PM
Post your iMac Late 2009 Benchmark results rrijkers iMac 25 Nov 26, 2009 02:58 AM
Final Fantasy XI Benchmark Gallick Mac and PC Games 2 Jun 15, 2007 12:33 AM
Post Your Final Cut Pro Setup! FF_productions Picture Gallery 10 Oct 14, 2006 08:07 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC