Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 15, 2012, 06:28 AM   #1
Zwergpirat
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Unhappy Restoring Time Machine Backup (iMac) to a new MacBook Pro

Hey there,

I got some problems when restoring my Time Machine backup to my new MacBook Pro.
The Backup is from an iMac (with 10.8.2) which is sold and I bought a MacBook Pro instead so I want to restore the backup on it.

The problem is when restoring it "stops" after aprox 6.5 hrs. I mean the computer just stops doing a thing. (I think so...)
It says just under a minute till it's complete but that's here for more than two hours...

this is how it looks like (in german)

https://www.icloud.com/photostream/d...3-19E3FC3DA047

I don't know If it's normal and I just have to wait a couple of hours or If it's unusual.

I really hope you can help me!
(and sorry for my rusty english + sorry If it's the wrong subforum)
Zwergpirat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 01:08 PM   #2
Weaselboy
macrumors G4
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
I think the problem is some of the newer Macbooks use a different version of 10.8.2 that you do not have on your iMac.

What I would do it a command-r boot to recovery on the new Macbook. Once that starts use Disk Util to erase Macintosh HD then reinstall the OS from that same screen. It will take some time as the 4.7GB has to download.

Once the OS is installed and the new OS starts, use Migration Assistant to bring in your data from the old Time Machine backup. This will just import your data and apps, and not the old OS.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:02 PM   #3
Zwergpirat
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Well, this is exactly (kinda) I did it some hrs ago. I used the internet recovery intalling the OS to the new device. and within the first OS start i started the migration assistant. And this one is running now for more than 9.5 hrs. 3 hrs since it says "under one minute"^^
Zwergpirat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:06 PM   #4
mattyb240
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
You should not restore from a time machine backup when switching machines, you should set up your user, and then use migration assistant. Hope this helps.
__________________
mattyb240 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:13 PM   #5
Zwergpirat
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
you should set up your user, and then use migration assistant
I did before and this changed nothing. 6.5 hrs till waiting for having the computer the last minute done for hrs^^ (same as now)
Zwergpirat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:14 PM   #6
Weaselboy
macrumors G4
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zwergpirat View Post
Well, this is exactly (kinda) I did it some hrs ago. I used the internet recovery intalling the OS to the new device. and within the first OS start i started the migration assistant. And this one is running now for more than 9.5 hrs. 3 hrs since it says "under one minute"^^
Hmmm... did you start Migration Assist right away after new OS install (you should)? You do not want to setup your user account, then try to use MA to import to that same account. It will make a mess with duplicate accounts.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:30 PM   #7
Zwergpirat
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
did you start Migration Assist right away after new OS install (you should)?
yep! (thats how I started it for this try which is running atm (for 10hrs now).
I aborted the other way (starting MA after setting up the OS).
Zwergpirat is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 02:32 AM   #8
Zwergpirat
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
So... after 22hrs of running... nothing changed :-(
Zwergpirat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 07:36 AM   #9
JackStack
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Worked for me

Disable battery manager (and screen savers)
Both OSs the same (10.8.2)
Time machine backup of source (using 10.8.2)
Migration assistant on Target selecting Time Machine Backup
Took about two hours.

#relieved - get to sell my 2008 and buy a 2012! Yay!
JackStack is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC