Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:51 PM   #1
jsf721
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Li, NY
Os x 10.6.8

Dumb question, i think I am running snow leopard but it does not say it anywhere? I want to upgrade to Mountian Lion but don't know where i am now.

I have a 3.06 Intel and 4 gigs of ram so I tink I am good to go.

Will I loose any functionality? Mission control?
jsf721 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:54 PM   #2
808?
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Top left corner of your desktop > Apple Logo > About This Mac
808? is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:56 PM   #3
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsf721 View Post
Dumb question, i think I am running snow leopard but it does not say it anywhere?
 > About This Mac
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 10:07 PM   #4
OLDCODGER
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lucky Country
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsf721 View Post
Dumb question, i think I am running snow leopard but it does not say it anywhere? I want to upgrade to Mountian Lion but don't know where i am now.

I have a 3.06 Intel and 4 gigs of ram so I tink I am good to go.

Will I loose any functionality? Mission control?
Mission Control? Not on Snow Leopard.
OLDCODGER is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 05:35 AM   #5
jsf721
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Li, NY
How do I know what OS I have All it states is the numbers listed above in my first post.

thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLDCODGER View Post
Mission Control? Not on Snow Leopard.
jsf721 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 05:44 AM   #6
trustever
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
mate if it says 10.6.8 is the last version of Snow Leopard, I suggest you making an image of the system as it is now just in case you change your mind and want to get SL... The downgrade procedure with out that image is a nightmare..

Good luck with the update!
trustever is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 06:02 AM   #7
OLDCODGER
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lucky Country
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsf721 View Post
How do I know what OS I have All it states is the numbers listed above in my first post.

thanks
Hmmmm, there was an early "version" of Lion (10.7.x) that returned a value of 10.6.8, IIRC.
OLDCODGER is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 08:01 AM   #8
chrfr
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by OLDCODGER View Post
Hmmmm, there was an early "version" of Lion (10.7.x) that returned a value of 10.6.8, IIRC.
No.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:17 AM   #9
OLDCODGER
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lucky Country
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrfr View Post
No.
Then something does not add up.

EDIT: Just trying to be polite, here.

Last edited by OLDCODGER; Feb 19, 2013 at 09:19 AM. Reason: clarification
OLDCODGER is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 08:50 PM   #10
MrMike6by9
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by trustever View Post
mate if it says 10.6.8 is the last version of Snow Leopard, I suggest you making an image of the system as it is now just in case you change your mind and want to get SL... The downgrade procedure with out that image is a nightmare..

Good luck with the update!
I'm also running 10.6.8 on a 2011 MBP. What imaging/drive clone app would be recommended as a safety net prior to upgrading to ML? I just got a new 1TB Thunderbolt external to host my backup.
MrMike6by9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 08:53 PM   #11
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMike6by9 View Post
I'm also running 10.6.8 on a 2011 MBP. What imaging/drive clone app is recommended as a safety net prior upgrading?
CarbonCopyCloner (version 3.4.7 is still free and works splendid with Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard) and SuperDuper! can help.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 08:55 PM   #12
MrMike6by9
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Thanks for the quick reply.
MrMike6by9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 08:55 PM   #13
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsf721 View Post
Dumb question, i think I am running snow leopard but it does not say it anywhere? I want to upgrade to Mountian Lion but don't know where i am now.

I have a 3.06 Intel and 4 gigs of ram so I tink I am good to go.
To find out what Mac OS X version you run, click > About This Mac:
Quote:
Will I loose any functionality? Mission control?
Depends on how much Spaces you use. Mission Control is not a part of Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard, it became the replacement for Spaces in Mac OS X 10.7 Lion and OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion.

Imagine going from Spaces in Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard, looking like this
to Mission Control in Mac OS X 10.7 Lion, looking like this
Of course, not everyone uses that many Spaces, but Mission Control seriously hampers the usefulness of more than four virtual desktops.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 06:34 PM   #14
jsf721
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Li, NY
Thanks, How do you actuivate it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
To find out what Mac OS X version you run, click > About This Mac:
Image

Depends on how much Spaces you use. Mission Control is not a part of Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard, it became the replacement for Spaces in Mac OS X 10.7 Lion and OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion.

Imagine going from Spaces in Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard, looking like this
Image
to Mission Control in Mac OS X 10.7 Lion, looking like this
Image
Of course, not everyone uses that many Spaces, but Mission Control seriously hampers the usefulness of more than four virtual desktops.
jsf721 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 06:36 PM   #15
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsf721 View Post
Thanks, How do you actuivate it?
How do you activate what? Ar you still using Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard and meant Spaces or are you already using OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion and meant Mission Control?

"How to maximise your MacRumors troubleshooting experience" created by mad jew in 2006
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC