Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 26, 2009, 07:38 PM   #1
Tymmz
macrumors 65816
 
Tymmz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
safari: how to set default program for magnet link

hi everyone.

how do i tell safari to open transmission and not azureus when clicking on a magnet link.

thank you very much!

tymmz
Tymmz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2009, 07:43 PM   #2
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Finder > select .torrent file > Get Info > Open With > change to Transmission > Change All
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2009, 07:45 PM   #3
Tymmz
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Tymmz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinnerlys View Post
Finder > select .torrent file > Get Info > Open With > change to Transmission > Change All
cheers, but magnet links are not associated with files.
Tymmz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2009, 10:29 PM   #4
Mumford
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Altadena, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tymmz View Post
hi everyone.

how do i tell safari to open transmission and not azureus when clicking on a magnet link.

thank you very much!

tymmz
Edit: the steps are different when going from Azureus to Transmission than if you're just installing Transmission:

Bring up a terminal and run this command:
Code:
plutil -convert xml1 ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.launchServices.plist
then edit com.apple.launchServices.plist with any text editor. Search for the word magnet. You should find a block that looks like this:
Code:
<dict>
        <key>LSHandlerRoleAll</key>
        <string>org.gudy.azureus2</string>
        <key>LSHandlerURLScheme</key>
        <string>magnet</string>
</dict>
Change it to
Code:
<dict>
        <key>LSHandlerRoleAll</key>
        <string>org.m0k.transmission</string>
        <key>LSHandlerURLScheme</key>
        <string>magnet</string>
</dict>
Then type
Code:
plutil -convert binary1 ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.launchServices.plist
and reboot.
__________________
UMBP 15" 2.5Ghz 16Gb

Last edited by Mumford; Dec 26, 2009 at 10:47 PM.
Mumford is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 07:38 AM   #5
Polle
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tymmz View Post
hi everyone.

how do i tell safari to open transmission and not azureus when clicking on a magnet link.

thank you very much!

tymmz
Or more easy download MoreInternet Pref Pane
http://www.monkeyfood.com/software/moreinternet/

and make a new protocol "magnet" and choose Transmission as program to open with.

The newest beta of Transmission does support Magnet links
Polle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 08:04 PM   #6
meganishaute
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
here's the answer!

I searched all around for this answer and then thought to go to preferences within transmission and sure enough there was a button that set transmission as the default for mirror links. Easy as that!
meganishaute is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 04:53 PM   #7
marc.garcia
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by meganishaute View Post
I searched all around for this answer and then thought to go to preferences within transmission and sure enough there was a button that set transmission as the default for mirror links. Easy as that!
I'm on version 4.0.2 and I can't seem to find that option. Could you explain it in more detail?

thanks
marc.garcia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 10:02 PM   #8
dalbanese
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by marc.garcia View Post
I'm on version 4.0.2 and I can't seem to find that option. Could you explain it in more detail?

thanks
Preferences->General-> click "Set Default Application" next to "Accept Magnet Links"

I had no problem with this until, randomly (and these are the only recent computer use changes), I updated my phone to iOS 6 and backed up my computer with TimeMachine. Then Safari would not load the magnet links anymore. Clicked this and no problems.

Transmission 2.71
dalbanese is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 04:26 AM   #9
mhrob
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tymmz View Post
how do i tell safari to open transmission and not azureus when clicking on a magnet link.
Use RCDefaultApp to set file or protocol associations. It works like a charm.

------------
RCDefaultApp is a Mac OS X 10.2 or later preference pane that allows a user to set the default application used for various URL schemes, file extensions, file types, MIME types, and Uniform Type Identifiers
mhrob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 01:08 PM   #10
Tymmz
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Tymmz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhrob View Post
Use RCDefaultApp to set file or protocol associations. It works like a charm.

------------
RCDefaultApp is a Mac OS X 10.2 or later preference pane that allows a user to set the default application used for various URL schemes, file extensions, file types, MIME types, and Uniform Type Identifiers
cheers, but that was three years ago...
Tymmz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2013, 01:28 PM   #11
Doc69
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhrob View Post
Use RCDefaultApp to set file or protocol associations. It works like a charm.
Magnet links were opening in uTorrent instead of Vuze, and I could not figure out how to change this. But the RCDefaultApp solved the problem! I'm using Safari on 10.8.4.
Doc69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safari magnet links not working andyx181x OS X Mavericks (10.9) 3 Jul 14, 2014 03:22 PM
Bootcamp set to default error! MacMaster2k Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Sep 12, 2013 03:09 AM
How do I set my macbook to factory default? De5 MacBook Pro 1 Dec 20, 2012 09:12 PM
How do I set default reminders to have an alert? gsugolfer iOS 6 5 Oct 5, 2012 12:03 AM
how do I set default program for handling photo imports? MyRomeo Mac Basics and Help 0 Jul 9, 2012 06:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC