Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 21, 2012, 05:03 PM   #1
steedy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
External HD Problems

Hi there. Recently I have started getting the following popup whenever I plug in my external HD:

"The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer"

I have always clicked 'Initialise' afterwards to get into the Disk Utility, however in the First Aid tab I have no option to click Repair, Verify or anything for that matter. I can erase, but I am terrified to do that unless it's absolutely necessary (and even then I don't even know if it will cause the HD to start working again). What's more; the HD itself is either 250GB or 320GB (I can't remember which right now), but it says that there is 2.2TB worth of space? Wut? This is all rather confusing, so any light that can be shed on this situation would be hugely appreciated.

Here is a screenshot of the First Aid page in the Disk Utility for further reference.



Thank you in advance.
Ben
steedy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 09:33 AM   #2
steedy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
...bump
steedy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 11:43 AM   #3
marzer
macrumors 65816
 
marzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by steedy View Post
...bump
From the image it looks like it doesn't have a readable partition. Could be a bad drive and/or enclosure.

You can try troubleshooting further if you really need to get the data. Like open the case and connect the bare drive it using a different interface device (USB, FW, SATA, etc.). Otherwise, re-initialize (erase or re-partition) the drive to see if you can restore a usable partition.

Don't know how old yours is but the latest HD-PCU2 come in 500GB or 1TB. Either way yours is really showing some flaky status.
marzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 12:42 PM   #4
steedy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Thank you, marzer. I will see what I can do. Also I realised I took a screenshot of the wrong tab, my bad.

I'm a little intimidated by opening up the thing myself, but thankfully I know a few professional technicians who will hopefully be able to help me out.

Thanks for your help
steedy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC