Migrating without migration assistant - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 22, 2013, 01:35 PM   #1
whiteboxamir
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Exclamation Migrating without migration assistant

So I'm taking my new macbook air to the shop and the seller is probably going to replace it with a new one (camera isn't working).

My question is migration. They'll take the one and give me another, without my being able to use migration assistant.

Will time machine via an external drive be able to do the same thing? I'd like to avoid having to do all of the downloading, setting up, etc, that I just did a few days ago. Anyway to save me from this without migration assistant? e.g. files, applications (particular MS office since I only have 1 license), touchpad settings, etc.
whiteboxamir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 01:38 PM   #2
TheRealDamager
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Can they just swap the SSDs?
TheRealDamager is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 01:42 PM   #3
wolfpuppies3
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia, USA
I just use carbon copy cloner and make an exact copy of the SDD and use that for the new drive.

Be sure to see the old drive reformatted to do away with an]ll your personal information,
__________________
2012 MBA 13, 2 Ghz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD; 2011 MBA 11, 1.8 Ghz i7, 4 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD; 2010 MB Pro 15, 2.66 Ghz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD; two iPad 3s and a mini, two iPhones and a bunch of iPods
wolfpuppies3 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:00 PM   #4
whiteboxamir
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Didn't even know what an SSD was until you mentioned it (says the fairly new mac user).

Thanks for referring me to Carbon Copy Cloner. Downloading it now.

How do I format the old drive?
whiteboxamir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:06 PM   #5
KPOM
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboxamir View Post
Didn't even know what an SSD was until you mentioned it (says the fairly new mac user).

Thanks for referring me to Carbon Copy Cloner. Downloading it now.

How do I format the old drive?
If it is a new MacBook Air it will have Recovery Mode. Reboot and hold down Command-R. It will boot into a special recovery mode. From there you can go into Disk Utility and reformat the drive (and reinstall OS X if you want).

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4718
KPOM is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:17 PM   #6
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboxamir View Post
How do I format the old drive?
You don't have to reboot.

Just go into DISK UTILITY, in there you will be able to partition and format the externally attached backup drive, or flash dongle.

CC (and cousins) are highly recommended to use beyond your current need. With an "image" you can make the machine to "go back" to a known state. Often time one download somethings, make some changes, upgrade to a new OS version you don't like, and now how do you EASILY undo? Answer: Carbon Copy.

Spend some time learning what the App can do, and how u recover when needed.
__________________
Solution: FREE, Explanation: Is gonna cost ya.
Mrbobb is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:21 PM   #7
whiteboxamir
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
You guys are amazingly responsive and generous with your help.

***

Just ran the first standard (just followed the recommended flow of the software) CC, but it couldn't create a copy of the recovery partition. I have the sense that I wouldn't need this, though?
whiteboxamir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:32 PM   #8
KPOM
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboxamir View Post
You guys are amazingly responsive and generous with your help.

***

Just ran the first standard (just followed the recommended flow of the software) CC, but it couldn't create a copy of the recovery partition. I have the sense that I wouldn't need this, though?
No. The new MacBook Air you get will have its own recovery partition. Plus, even if the recovery partition is missing from a Mac, you can still use Internet Recovery using the same command-R method, as long as you have wi-fi.
KPOM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 03:33 PM   #9
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboxamir View Post
So I'm taking my new macbook air to the shop and the seller is probably going to replace it with a new one (camera isn't working).

My question is migration. They'll take the one and give me another, without my being able to use migration assistant.

Will time machine via an external drive be able to do the same thing? I'd like to avoid having to do all of the downloading, setting up, etc, that I just did a few days ago. Anyway to save me from this without migration assistant? e.g. files, applications (particular MS office since I only have 1 license), touchpad settings, etc.
You can do what you need without any other tools. Just run a Time Machine backup to your external drive. When you get home and boot the new machine at the end of the setup process run the Migration Assistant and point it to your external drive with the TM backup on it. Check all the boxes on what you want to import with Migration Assist. When it is done your new machine will be just like the old one with your user account and all data present.

The only issue is if you have MS Office or any Adobe apps you will need to reenter the serial numbers for them.
Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Migration Assistant help Kafkaesque Mac Basics and Help 1 Nov 21, 2013 07:18 PM
migration assistant or setup assistant? [also connection method] KaraH iMac 1 Oct 7, 2013 10:48 AM
Migration Assistant help? Chippy99 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Jun 12, 2013 07:03 AM
Migration Assistant Help Ethnarg Mac Basics and Help 0 Jul 28, 2012 03:01 PM
ML Changes to Migration Assistant? jw138 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 8 Jun 24, 2012 09:38 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC