Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 10, 2013, 11:17 AM   #1
lovematch
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Central Southern England
Make a link live

How can I make a link live.
lovematch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 11:17 AM   #2
chrfr
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
You need to explain further.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 11:24 AM   #3
Weaselboy
macrumors P6
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovematch View Post
How can I make a link live.
Do you mean like if you paste a link into an email? If won't be clickable (live) when you paste it in, but then the email is received the recipient's email client will see it as a link and make it into a clickable link. You can send a test email to yourself and it will do the same thing.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 11:39 AM   #4
lovematch
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Central Southern England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Do you mean like if you paste a link into an email? If won't be clickable (live) when you paste it in, but then the email is received the recipient's email client will see it as a link and make it into a clickable link. You can send a test email to yourself and it will do the same thing.
I can do this on an e-mail but when passing one to a forum it isn't live.
lovematch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 12:01 PM   #5
Weaselboy
macrumors P6
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovematch View Post
I can do this on an e-mail but when passing one to a forum it isn't live.
Ah... gotcha. It needs to have HTML code around the link to work. When in the message compose window click the globe I marked in my screenshot then paste the link into the popup box. That will surround your link with the HTML code required.

Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 12:41 PM   #6
lovematch
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Central Southern England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Ah... gotcha. It needs to have HTML code around the link to work. When in the message compose window click the globe I marked in my screenshot then paste the link into the popup box. That will surround your link with the HTML code required.

Image

I have an Apple Mountain lion Computer and doesn't show these setting as explained.
lovematch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 01:11 PM   #7
Weaselboy
macrumors P6
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovematch View Post
I have an Apple Mountain lion Computer and doesn't show these setting as explained.
It will be there if you click reply to my message it will look like the screenshot below. Other forums may look a little different, but they all have some variation of this same setup.

Just to clarify, you are asking about posting a link here in this forum?

Thumb resize.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2013, 03:47 AM   #8
lovematch
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Central Southern England
I've managed it and thank you very much indeed for your useful assistance and help.


http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/england/
lovematch is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC