Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 7

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 12, 2013, 11:03 AM   #1
likemyorbs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Send a message via AIM to likemyorbs
Personal Hotspot on iOS 7? (AT&T)

My personal hotspot option is no longer there where it used to be, now it says I have to contact AT&T to set it up. Anyone else getting this issue?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	123.1 KB
ID:	432749  

Last edited by likemyorbs; Sep 12, 2013 at 11:16 AM.
likemyorbs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2013, 11:07 AM   #2
Armen
macrumors 68020
 
Armen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Los Angeles
The personal hotspot feature is still there for me but I'm with Verizon. It's included in the data sharing plan I'm on.
__________________
iPhone 5 32GB Black (A1429); Mid 2013 Macbook Pro 8GB, 500GB; iPad Mini, 1st Gen Apple TV
Armen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2013, 11:10 AM   #3
likemyorbs
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Send a message via AIM to likemyorbs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Armen View Post
The personal hotspot feature is still there for me but I'm with Verizon. It's included in the data sharing plan I'm on.
It's included with my family plan as well. And it was always there on iOS 6
likemyorbs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2013, 11:13 AM   #4
ross1998
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Still here for me on tmobile iohone 5. ( I have the unlimited data plan with 5gb of tethering)
ross1998 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2013, 11:17 AM   #5
likemyorbs
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Send a message via AIM to likemyorbs
Weird. It's also telling me I have to activate FaceTime over cellular. I posted a screenshot
likemyorbs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2013, 11:22 AM   #6
Armen
macrumors 68020
 
Armen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Try resetting all network settings.
__________________
iPhone 5 32GB Black (A1429); Mid 2013 Macbook Pro 8GB, 500GB; iPad Mini, 1st Gen Apple TV
Armen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2013, 11:22 AM   #7
EJ8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by likemyorbs View Post
My personal hotspot option is no longer there where it used to be, now it says I have to contact AT&T to set it up. Anyone else getting this issue?
Try Settings / Cellular - Personal Hotspot. This same thing happened to me last year. There was another place that Hotspot had to be turned on before it became available on the main settings screen. I can't remember exactly where that was though. I CAN tell you that in my case it had nothing to do with my ATT account and the CS peeps at AT&T had ZERO clue had to fix it. Shocker.
EJ8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2013, 11:23 AM   #8
likemyorbs
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Send a message via AIM to likemyorbs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Armen View Post
Try resetting all network settings.
I tried that, didn't work.
likemyorbs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2013, 11:31 AM   #9
Armen
macrumors 68020
 
Armen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by likemyorbs View Post
I tried that, didn't work.
I remember I did a combo of reset network and rebooted and I got this weird message from verizon I clicked ok to.
__________________
iPhone 5 32GB Black (A1429); Mid 2013 Macbook Pro 8GB, 500GB; iPad Mini, 1st Gen Apple TV
Armen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2013, 11:37 AM   #10
likemyorbs
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Send a message via AIM to likemyorbs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Armen View Post
I remember I did a combo of reset network and rebooted and I got this weird message from verizon I clicked ok to.
I'm on live chat with AT&T right now, we'll see what they say...

EDIT: Low and behold att adjusted some sort of a setting on their end and i restarted the phone and the problem was fixed! case closed!

Last edited by likemyorbs; Sep 12, 2013 at 11:49 AM.
likemyorbs is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IOS 7.02 - Can't connect to Personal hotspot S team iOS 7 2 Oct 10, 2013 11:51 AM
Personal Hotspot in iOS 7 SexyBeast iOS 7 4 Jun 20, 2013 07:30 PM
Personal Hotspot problems with iOS 6 darbyclash34 iOS 6 7 Jan 25, 2013 01:16 AM
All iPads: Personal Hotspot under iOS 5 citivolus iPad 0 Jan 16, 2013 06:50 AM
iOS 6, Personal Hotspot requires new plan w/AT&T bryan85 iPad 5 Sep 21, 2012 03:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC