Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 27, 2013, 01:23 AM   #26
Dopeyman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Los Angeles!
Send a message via AIM to Dopeyman Send a message via MSN to Dopeyman
I replaced the hard drive to see if maybe the main was causing issues with the system and also with the external....

Nope.. Same issue.. It goes to the white screen after the first apple and spinning wheel... And even though it's at the white screen, the fans are still blowing high cause of the hard drive swap....

So maybe it is the GPU.....

But my question is: Would I still have images on my screen (ie: first apple with spinning wheel, the hardware test, the internet recovery, etc.) if it was the GPU that was the culprit?
__________________

Last edited by Dopeyman; Jun 27, 2013 at 01:32 AM.
Dopeyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 04:49 AM   #27
keysofanxiety
macrumors 65816
 
keysofanxiety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a house that defies physics by being colder than absolute zero.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dopeyman View Post
I replaced the hard drive to see if maybe the main was causing issues with the system and also with the external....

Nope.. Same issue.. It goes to the white screen after the first apple and spinning wheel... And even though it's at the white screen, the fans are still blowing high cause of the hard drive swap....

So maybe it is the GPU.....

But my question is: Would I still have images on my screen (ie: first apple with spinning wheel, the hardware test, the internet recovery, etc.) if it was the GPU that was the culprit?
Hi Dopeyman,

Not sure what could be causing this issue, in all honesty. I know you don't have AppleCare, but if you pop down to a local Apple Store they'll be able to have a look at the machine and diagnose the issue for free.

This way you'll know exactly what's wrong and what replacement hardware part to order. Furthermore, Apple will give you a repair quotation so you can see if it's cheaper to source the part yourself or to let them do it.

Sorry I can't be of any assistance in what exactly is wrong, but seeing as you've already replaced the HDD without much luck, getting an Apple store to diagnose it might be quicker/cheaper than listening to my speculation about what could be causing the problem

Really hope you get it fixed and that there's nothing hugely wrong with it. Best of luck.
__________________
- "How can anyone do a spoken word version of a rap song?"
- "He found a way ... he found a way."
keysofanxiety is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 05:35 AM   #28
Dopeyman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Los Angeles!
Send a message via AIM to Dopeyman Send a message via MSN to Dopeyman
Quote:
Originally Posted by keysofanxiety View Post
Hi Dopeyman,

Not sure what could be causing this issue, in all honesty. I know you don't have AppleCare, but if you pop down to a local Apple Store they'll be able to have a look at the machine and diagnose the issue for free.

This way you'll know exactly what's wrong and what replacement hardware part to order. Furthermore, Apple will give you a repair quotation so you can see if it's cheaper to source the part yourself or to let them do it.

Sorry I can't be of any assistance in what exactly is wrong, but seeing as you've already replaced the HDD without much luck, getting an Apple store to diagnose it might be quicker/cheaper than listening to my speculation about what could be causing the problem

Really hope you get it fixed and that there's nothing hugely wrong with it. Best of luck.
I think you just said the magic word!!!

Are you serious?? They'll diagnose my machine for free??

UPDATE: I've had the machine off for the past 3 hrs since switching drives (the new one is still in there) so I decided to turn it on and it booted up.. From my external cause the new one is blank... Lets see how long it lasts...

Boy oh boy, this is some strange ****!!!
__________________
Dopeyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 06:00 AM   #29
macthefork
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Also, I can't find the guy that I purchased this iMac from... How can I find out when it was purchased? Maybe I can still get applecare?
You can find out when your iMac was built at this site. Just put in your serial number. Since your repairs and technical support has expired with Apple, Apple Care can no longer be purchased.
__________________
iMac 27" 12,2 (2011) 2.7 GHz i5, 32 RAM, 480 GB SSD & 1TB HDD
iMac 27" 13,2 (late 2012) i7 32 RAM, 1.1 GB Fusion Drive
Mac Pro 1,1 (2) 2.66GHz Xeon 5150, 12GB RAM, 27" NEC Graphics Monitor
macthefork is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 06:56 AM   #30
AppleNewton
macrumors 65816
 
AppleNewton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 1 Finite Place
try a PRAM reset with the new drive, could be something with the sata controller, but again with external drive issues, sounds like something on the board got messed up.

Perhaps try an SMC reset again.
AppleNewton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 07:04 AM   #31
keysofanxiety
macrumors 65816
 
keysofanxiety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a house that defies physics by being colder than absolute zero.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dopeyman View Post
I think you just said the magic word!!!

Are you serious?? They'll diagnose my machine for free??

UPDATE: I've had the machine off for the past 3 hrs since switching drives (the new one is still in there) so I decided to turn it on and it booted up.. From my external cause the new one is blank... Lets see how long it lasts...

Boy oh boy, this is some strange ****!!!
Yep, that's right. They'll assess the machine free of charge and issue you a repair quote. If you choose not to pay for the repair, you get the machine back unrepaired. Apple customer service really is amazing!
__________________
- "How can anyone do a spoken word version of a rap song?"
- "He found a way ... he found a way."
keysofanxiety is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 09:58 PM   #32
Dopeyman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Los Angeles!
Send a message via AIM to Dopeyman Send a message via MSN to Dopeyman
Update - Took the iMac to the apple store @ The Grove.... Jerry (very helpful guy!! A++++) tried everything he can to get it to boot. He then took it to the back to run more tests. Although everything came out ok, he still had the feeling it was the graphics card.....

So that's where it stands...
__________________
Dopeyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 12:29 AM   #33
Dopeyman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Los Angeles!
Send a message via AIM to Dopeyman Send a message via MSN to Dopeyman
UPDATE - I opened 'er up and removed the gpu.. I did one of those DIY repair options from youtube...

But as I'm putting it back, am I missing a connection? The one to the right of BLC_ACDC... I can't find a plug for it...

Also, in the other pic, I connected the power and only noticed one of those 4 lights on... Are all 4 supposed to turn on?

Again, this is a mid 2011 27" iMac 3.4/i7....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 2.JPG
Views:	17
Size:	2.64 MB
ID:	421000   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 4.JPG
Views:	17
Size:	2.29 MB
ID:	421001  
__________________
Dopeyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2013, 08:45 PM   #34
Dopeyman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Los Angeles!
Send a message via AIM to Dopeyman Send a message via MSN to Dopeyman
I have a question: If I were to get one of those TB adapters, like TB toHDMI, does my graphics card need to be functional or will it bypass it when it's displayed on an external monitor?
Dopeyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 06:35 AM   #35
fhall1
macrumors 68020
 
fhall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY State of mind
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dopeyman View Post
I have a question: If I were to get one of those TB adapters, like TB toHDMI, does my graphics card need to be functional or will it bypass it when it's displayed on an external monitor?
Your graphics card has to be functional - how do you think the graphics get from your machine to your external monitor? The adapter essentially only changes one plug type to another.
__________________
2012 2.3GHz i7 Mini, 16GB RAM; 2009 2.93 GHz C2D iMac, 8GB RAM, GT120 GPU
1.83 GHz CD Mini, 2GB RAM, 200GB HD; 1.25 GHz 17" G4 iMac, 2GB RAM, 128GB SSD
64GB Silver iPhone 5s, 64GB White iPad Air
fhall1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2013, 01:28 AM   #36
Dopeyman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Los Angeles!
Send a message via AIM to Dopeyman Send a message via MSN to Dopeyman
Thank you very much to Apple for starting this program!!!

My iMac has been fixed!!
__________________
Dopeyman is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2013, 05:20 AM   #37
Aameiel
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dopeyman View Post
Thank you very much to Apple for starting this program!!!

My iMac has been fixed!!
woohoo happy days m8 !!!
__________________
iMac i7 16 gigs of ram 1TB Fusion 21.5" ~ iPad Air ~ iMac G4 20" 1.25ghz 2 gigs of ram

www.retrogameage.com
Aameiel is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is wrong with my iMac? 1000 iMac 15 Apr 2, 2014 02:32 PM
Is something wrong with my 2013 iMac? ChitoCrisis iMac 8 Oct 6, 2013 01:50 AM
iMac 27: Was I wrong? Cherrymind iMac 5 Mar 7, 2013 01:21 PM
What is wrong with my iMac? Sammy Cat iMac 4 Nov 25, 2012 03:06 AM
Something wrong with iMac? jonathanuy OS X 3 Aug 13, 2012 07:04 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC