Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 13, 2013, 10:46 PM   #1
cowbellallen
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
New offices don't have fast Internet, need help

We're moving into these great new offices in Dallas, but the building doesn't have a fast connection. Currently, most tenants are hooked up to a 768kbps connection as that's pretty much all that is offered. Our company is currently on 10mbps and I couldn't imagine moving down that low.

I've called Verizon, who doesn't offer service in the area. Time Warner Cable said they would have to 'build out' to the location, but that it would take 60 days to do and if we were the only tenant to do it, it would not be worth the cost of doing even if we had their most expensive plan and signed up for like 5 telephone lines. That's pointless because we have a VOIP system.

AT&T is based in Dallas and supposedly has this whole city wired, but they are being extremely flaky and won't return my calls. The guy said we could do 768kbps if we wanted phone lines, but he would have to survey the area and see if it would be worth adding the building to their network.

What the heck can I do? This part of Dallas is extremely busy and almost every other building within a mile gets AT&T Uverse. I'm running out of options and we have to get out of our current offices in the next 2 weeks.

Would appreciate any advice you have that doesn't consist of 'don't move their'. I'm currently looking into CLEAR, but I don't really understand it and they seem like the Boost Mobile of ISPs (that's an insult).
cowbellallen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 02:52 AM   #2
dinggus
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
You got Comcast?
dinggus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 10:57 AM   #3
Tomorrow
macrumors 603
 
Tomorrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Always a day away
Dallas is one of the most connected cities in the country. It's hard to imagine you're having trouble getting adequate service.

As I re-read your post, I couldn't help but notice that all the services you mentioned are residential. Is there a reason you aren't looking into any commercial services? What part of Dallas are you in?
__________________
I would scream just to be heard, as if yelling at the stars - I was bleeding just to feel.
You would never say a word, kept me reaching in the dark - always something to conceal.
Tomorrow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 03:34 PM   #4
heehee
macrumors 68020
 
heehee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Same country as Santa Claus
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowbellallen View Post
We're moving into these great new offices in Dallas, but the building doesn't have a fast connection. Currently, most tenants are hooked up to a 768kbps connection as that's pretty much all that is offered. Our company is currently on 10mbps and I couldn't imagine moving down that low.

I've called Verizon, who doesn't offer service in the area. Time Warner Cable said they would have to 'build out' to the location, but that it would take 60 days to do and if we were the only tenant to do it, it would not be worth the cost of doing even if we had their most expensive plan and signed up for like 5 telephone lines. That's pointless because we have a VOIP system.

AT&T is based in Dallas and supposedly has this whole city wired, but they are being extremely flaky and won't return my calls. The guy said we could do 768kbps if we wanted phone lines, but he would have to survey the area and see if it would be worth adding the building to their network.

What the heck can I do? This part of Dallas is extremely busy and almost every other building within a mile gets AT&T Uverse. I'm running out of options and we have to get out of our current offices in the next 2 weeks.

Would appreciate any advice you have that doesn't consist of 'don't move their'. I'm currently looking into CLEAR, but I don't really understand it and they seem like the Boost Mobile of ISPs (that's an insult).
Have you tried business providers like http://www.cogentco.com?
heehee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 06:01 PM   #5
waloshin
macrumors 68030
 
waloshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: in my world.
Do you really need fast internet for your job?
__________________
Best camera lenses for real estate agents
[/B][/URL]2008 Macbook Unibody 2.4 Ghz Core 2 Duo
waloshin is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow internet with fast speedtest spiegelprime iPhone 5 Apr 14, 2014 12:46 PM
I just upgraded my Internet to 5 mbps....what kind of router do I need for fast wifi? TH55 iPhone 33 Dec 18, 2012 12:13 AM
Mac wifi internet slow after ML upgrade, PC still fast heyjack70 MacBook Air 16 Nov 30, 2012 03:19 AM
If I don't update my iOS will my iPhone 5 stay fast Myiphone7 iPhone 13 Nov 28, 2012 03:21 PM
[AEBS] Fast Internet, but slow local transfers? Stike Mac Basics and Help 10 Jun 29, 2012 05:40 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC