Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 9, 2012, 03:34 AM   #1
hywelmered
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Migration Assistant problems

Using Migration Assistant to move from MacBook pro to MacMini, via Ethernet,
I was NOT informed that it would be 40% faster to link both computers via the Router with Ethernet. And not informed that both computers should not go to sleep. Originally I was informed that the Migration would take 90 hours * - but froze regularly!
Then after phoning Apple support for the third time, the advisor didn't know how to speed things up. Then he was told by his Supervisor that linking both computers via the Router with Ethernet would migrate 40% faster. Which is true. I have Migrated in 27 hours.
Why doesn't Apple explain this up front?
hywelmered is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 04:46 AM   #2
jimbo1mcm
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Did you do any research on this or many other forums or google, to find out the best way to do something, or do you just expect to be spoon fed or maybe have Tim come to your house and do it for you?
jimbo1mcm is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 06:34 AM   #3
hywelmered
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbo1mcm View Post
Did you do any research on this or many other forums or google, to find out the best way to do something, or do you just expect to be spoon fed or maybe have Tim come to your house and do it for you?
Your sarcasm is very profound!

I did research the issue, but nowhere online is it explained that using the Router is a fast way on Migration.
I'm sure others in the future would benefit from clear instructions on using the Router.
hywelmered is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 10:11 AM   #4
Weaselboy
macrumors G4
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by hywelmered View Post
Your sarcasm is very profound!
No idea why some members here post just to be rude and make smart remarks. Sad.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hywelmered View Post
I did research the issue, but nowhere online is it explained that using the Router is a fast way on Migration.
I'm sure others in the future would benefit from clear instructions on using the Router.
I agree, for a new user the instructions when you start Migration Assistant could be more thorough. So you had an ethernet wired connection directly between the two machines (?), and connecting by wired ethernet through a router was faster? I would not think there would be any difference at all.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 11:58 AM   #5
Mojo1
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Confused...

I am having trouble understanding how your router and Ethernet were used with Migration Assistant.

Was the data transfer over your wireless network? If so, it should be substantially slower than a direct Ethernet connection. It makes no sense to connect both Macs via Ethernet with a router in the middle...

90 hours? You must have a lot of data... I would only expect a transfer to take that long if you had many terabytes and it was being done via wireless.
Mojo1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC