Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 4, 2014, 09:01 AM   #1351
MacGamver
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by emmab2006 View Post
Thanks the only issue is if its running at 5.0Gt/s ... and if it works 100% in X Plane , thats my only worry , if i buy it and my x plane settings are awful with a pc card ive lost money you see... so i'm still confused as what to do ...
Well, you will get full PCIe speeds under Mac OSX, but not Windoze. It's been suggested that the EFI firmware is responsible for that—however you won't notice a real drag in performance. I run Skyrim on ultra settings under Win7 in bootcamp on my 3,1 with zero performance hit. I can;t see X-Plane being more demanding than that.
MacGamver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2014, 09:04 AM   #1352
aronidisd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Hi all,

I just ordered the EVGA GTX 760 SC 2GB for my Mac Pro 2008.
The box contains a dual 4 pin molex to 6 pin cable.
I have a mini 6 pin to 6pin cable and a 6 pin to 8 pin adapter.

Here are my thoughts on powering it.

The card asks for 170W, so it will use the 75W from the PCI-e connection and i am planning on connecting a mini 6 pin to 6 pin and then to the 6 pin to 8 pin cable adapter for the 8 pin connection on the card. This should give the additional 75W to the card. Until now I have the 150W. So, I m thinking on using the second drive 4 pin molex to provide these extra 20W. Can I split a single 4 pin drive molex with a Y splitter and then connect the dual 4 pin molex to 6 pin cable to give the additional 20W to my card through the 6 pin socket?

I am thinking of something wrong?

ps. I would like to leave the second mini 6 pin socket of the motherboard free

Thank you!

Last edited by aronidisd; Apr 4, 2014 at 09:08 AM. Reason: edited VRAM
aronidisd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2014, 09:07 AM   #1353
BDM STUDIOS NL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by aronidisd View Post
Hi all,
I just ordered the EVGA GTX 760 SC 20GB for my Mac Pro 2008.
Very good VRAM numbers for gaming with 12 monitors!
__________________
MAC PRO 3.1 | OSX 10.9.2 (13C64) - NVIDIA 8.25.9 (331.01.01f02) - CUDA 5.5.47 - GT-8800 MAC | SneakerCamp - WIN8 PROx64 - NVIDIA 310.90 WHQL + CUDA 5.0.35 - EVGA GTX-670FTW-4GB
BDM STUDIOS NL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2014, 12:20 PM   #1354
blueshogun96
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacGamver View Post
This is just a wild guess, but if your frame rates are choppy with an 8800, that 760 probably will not perform too well.
After swapping the 8800 GT for the GTX 760, no problems. It's even quieter then the former. OpenGL 4 support at last.

I found out why my frame rates were so choppy, even at full speed. It turns out that when I change my refresh rate to 75hz instead of 60, the screen tears like crazy, even with vsync on. So I switched back to 60hz, no problems. Either way, I fail to see any visual difference between 60hz and 75hz on my LCD TV.
blueshogun96 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2014, 05:06 PM   #1355
sines
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
issues with 660 Ti and Mavericks 10.9.2

have been using a 660 Ti for about a year in an early 2008 era Mac Pro. It is in slot one, my stock ATi 8800GT is in slot 2 and this worked fine until... 10.9.2 update it seems.

Since then I've been bogged down with crashes left and right. 15-20 restarts in a row until I remove the card. Left it sit there with no power to the card, out of the slot for 3 days. The machine starts up, but won't see the 660 Ti no matter what I do; zapped PRAM, ran Disk Utility, updated to WebDriver-331.01.01b07, CUDA version 5.5.

As I'm doing a bunch of Davinci Resolve work, I need a working GPU to get anything done.. if anyone can help, it would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
sines is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2014, 08:56 AM   #1356
Asgorath
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sines View Post
updated to WebDriver-331.01.01b07
Why not try the officially released version?
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2014, 10:55 AM   #1357
flowrider
macrumors 65816
 
flowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sines View Post
updated to WebDriver-331.01.01b07,
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
Why not try the officially released version

That is available here:

http://www.nvidia.com/download/drive...px/74402/en-us

Lou
flowrider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2014, 06:49 PM   #1358
sines
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by flowrider View Post
I appreciate the help. Problem seemed be stemming from the physical placement of my existing GeForce 8800 GT card. [Apple OEM from 2008, which I've had to bake in the oven a few times over the years] > http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_NGODs_waoI

I pulled everything out, then started with the 660 TI in slot 1. Got an Apple startup screen with the 331.01.01 webdriver. After that I tried putting the 8800GT in slot 2, which made the machine just reboot over and over. Moved it to Slot 4, got a happy mac, checked to see if both cards were present, then put the BlackMagic Decklink and finally my eSata card.

So far, so good. *fingers crossed*
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2014-04-05 at 7.21.10 PM.png
Views:	49
Size:	212.7 KB
ID:	467532  
sines is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2014, 07:35 PM   #1359
harrymiln3
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Hello! I am very new to the world of replacing graphics card so I am running into a persistent problem. When my ZOTAC GTX760 4gb is all plugged up and such my MacPro 3.1 running 10.8.5 won't even start up! I have the correct drivers and CUDA installed, and the mini-6-pin to 6-pin converters, so I'm curious as to what my problem is.


I think it might have something to do with the PSU, but I don't know exactly because I'm such a noob to this kind of stuff... Anyways here is a link to the card I have:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814500312


If anyone could shed some light, it'd be much appreciated!
harrymiln3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2014, 05:58 AM   #1360
BDM STUDIOS NL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
New GeForce 337.50 Beta drivers

New in GeForce 337.50 Beta drivers

Performance - Introduces key DirectX optimizations which result in reduced game-loading times and significant performance increases across a wide variety of games.Results will vary depending on your GPU and system configuration. Here are some examples of measured gains versus the previous 335.23 WHQL driver:

Geforce 337.50 BETA

GeForce GTX 700 Series (Single GPU):
Up to 64% in Total War: Rome II
Up to 25% in The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Up to 23% in Sleeping Dogs
Up to 21% in Star Swarm
Up to 15% in Batman: Arkham Origins
Up to 10% in Metro: Last Light
Up to 8% in Hitman Absolution
Up to 7% in Sniper Elite V2
Up to 6% in Tomb Raider
Up to 6% in F1 2013


GeForce GTX 700 Series (SLI):
Up to 71% in Total War: Rome II
Up to 53% in Sniper Elite V2
Up to 45% in Aliens vs. Predator
Up to 31% in Sleeping Dogs
Up to 20% in CoD: Black Ops 2
Up to 10% in Hitman Absolution
Up to 9% in F1 2013
Up to 7% in Far Cry 3
Up to 6% in Metro: Last Light
Up to 6% in Batman: Arkham Origins

SLI Technology
Total War: Rome II – added profile
War Thunder – added profile
Watch Dogs – updated profile
Diablo III – updated profile

Gaming Technology
Supports GeForce ShadowPlay™ technology
Supports GeForce ShadowPlay™ Twitch Streaming

SHIELD
Supports NVIDIA GameStream™ technology

3D Vision
Supports new “3D Compatibility Mode” for 3D Vision that enables us to improve the 3D experience for many key DirectX 10 and 11 games.

3D Vision Profiles
Path of Exile – rated “Good”
KickBeat – rating now “Excellent”

3D Compatiblity Mode Profiles
Assassin’s Creed Liberation – previously “Not Recommended”, now rated as “Excellent”
Sniper Elite: Nazi Zombie Army – previously “Good”, now rated as “Excellent”
Sniper Elite: Nazi Zombie Army 2 – previously “Good”, now rated as “Excellent
Strike Suit Zero – previously “Not Recommended”, now rated as “Good”
Watchdogs – rated as “Good”
__________________
MAC PRO 3.1 | OSX 10.9.2 (13C64) - NVIDIA 8.25.9 (331.01.01f02) - CUDA 5.5.47 - GT-8800 MAC | SneakerCamp - WIN8 PROx64 - NVIDIA 310.90 WHQL + CUDA 5.0.35 - EVGA GTX-670FTW-4GB
BDM STUDIOS NL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2014, 10:05 AM   #1361
flowrider
macrumors 65816
 
flowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
^^^^Those beta drivers are Windoze only

Lou
flowrider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2014, 09:31 PM   #1362
energy23
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
I bought an Asus Nvidia 660 GTX OC but it didn't come with the 6pin PCIE to 6pin Mini cable.

Does anyone know if a 6pin to two 4pin molex cable will work such as this one:



http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16812887001

I dont use optical drives so both the molex cables are free to use. I'm on a 2008 Mac Pro.

Thanks!
energy23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2014, 03:22 AM   #1363
BDM STUDIOS NL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by flowrider View Post
^^^^Those beta drivers are Windoze only

Lou
Nothing to be sad about Lou, for all bootcampers among us!

Cheers
__________________
MAC PRO 3.1 | OSX 10.9.2 (13C64) - NVIDIA 8.25.9 (331.01.01f02) - CUDA 5.5.47 - GT-8800 MAC | SneakerCamp - WIN8 PROx64 - NVIDIA 310.90 WHQL + CUDA 5.0.35 - EVGA GTX-670FTW-4GB
BDM STUDIOS NL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2014, 06:40 AM   #1364
Vylen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Just received this today:

http://www.amazon.com/PNY-GeForce-Di...7475181&sr=8-2

Installed it and it works like a charm.
__________________
Mac Pro 2010: 3.33Ghz Hexacore + 24GB RAM + PNY GTX 760 2GB OC + Dell U2711 + 2xDell U2311H

Vylen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2014, 05:48 PM   #1365
energy23
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
If I want to install windows and run some games via bootcamp, do I insert my original GT 120, install windows, install all drivers (including the GT120) from Apple's driver setup, then uninstall the driver, put in the new card and install Nvidia drivers for my 660 GTX?
energy23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2014, 10:14 AM   #1366
Earl Urly
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vylen View Post
Just received this today:

http://www.amazon.com/PNY-GeForce-Di...7475181&sr=8-2

Installed it and it works like a charm.
Does it take one or two power cables? Did you have to buy 6 pin to 8 pin cables?
Earl Urly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2014, 10:46 AM   #1367
flowrider
macrumors 65816
 
flowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
^^^^It takes two six pin power cables. No adapters necessary.

Lou
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pict.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	39.9 KB
ID:	468646  
flowrider is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2014, 04:26 PM   #1368
brom
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Power Supplies

I'm nearly ready to pull the plug on a new card and would be grateful for your thoughts. I've been set against using an external power supply but I'm not sure why; maybe because I don't understand it enough.

Are there any power supplies out there that will fit on top of a Mac Pro tower really nicely, that will turn on/off when the Mac Pro does, and that would power a 780ti or Titan Black ?

Cable-wise I'd be grateful to know what you recommend. I could invest as high as a Titan Black; however I think that it would probably be overkill. The 780 is nice b/c no external power is needed, but now that the TI is available I can't determine whether it's worth the extra expense/effort of a power supply for that extra power.

What I really need is someone who has these systems to share your opinions; I'd be very grateful for your thoughts re: whether you have a power supply that works perfectly with your tower, whether you think the extra for the TI or Titan/Black is worth it etc.

Everyone's needs are different but I sense that I will only do this once for this system and want to make the best decision for Adobe CS6/FCPX/Lightroom5/Scoring Video/Gaming with 2X27" Cinema Display Maxed full resolution. I'm very grateful for your help!
Mac Pro 2010 3.33 6core 48gb 960 accelsior 3tbX4
brom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2014, 06:12 PM   #1369
Vylen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Earl Urly View Post
Does it take one or two power cables? Did you have to buy 6 pin to 8 pin cables?
Yep, 2x6 pin power, it's the reason I got it - didn't want to be worried about power requirements.
__________________
Mac Pro 2010: 3.33Ghz Hexacore + 24GB RAM + PNY GTX 760 2GB OC + Dell U2711 + 2xDell U2311H

Vylen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 02:06 AM   #1370
BDM STUDIOS NL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
NVIDIA GeForce R337.61 BETA Hotfix Display Driver Release

For Windoze only!

http://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answe...d/3491/kw/3491
__________________
MAC PRO 3.1 | OSX 10.9.2 (13C64) - NVIDIA 8.25.9 (331.01.01f02) - CUDA 5.5.47 - GT-8800 MAC | SneakerCamp - WIN8 PROx64 - NVIDIA 310.90 WHQL + CUDA 5.0.35 - EVGA GTX-670FTW-4GB
BDM STUDIOS NL is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC