Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2013, 07:08 AM   #26
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiatlux View Post
My 5340 Engineering Sample CPUs do not show up correctly in the About this Mac details, with 1,1 or 2,1 firmware. Not that it matters, though. It has no impact on performance.
Out of curiosity, what stepping they do have? B0 or B1? And CPUID?
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 10:48 AM   #27
Tucom
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
to the best of my knowledge it does. Neither your nor my processors were ever factory options.


The E5345's would NOT be recognized properly, as those were never factory options. Our processor upgrades were actually factory options, but generally for the latter 2,1 Mac Pros.
Tucom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 11:50 AM   #28
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tucom View Post
The E5345's would NOT be recognized properly, as those were never factory options. Our processor upgrades were actually factory options, but generally for the latter 2,1 Mac Pros.
The 5355 were not either to the best of my knowledge..and mine show in flashed and do not unflashed..
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 06:23 PM   #29
Tucom
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
The 5355 were not either to the best of my knowledge..and mine show in flashed and do not unflashed..

Do you notice an increase in speed for day to day usage from the 5150's to 5355's (if you had 5150's).


I'd like to go 8 core but not sure if I should pop in my already bought 5160's at 3.0Ghz or sell them and go 5355's for the extra horsepower.


If only the 5365's were cheaper...


Suggestions?
Tucom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 12:34 AM   #30
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tucom View Post
Do you notice an increase in speed for day to day usage from the 5150's to 5355's (if you had 5150's).


I'd like to go 8 core but not sure if I should pop in my already bought 5160's at 3.0Ghz or sell them and go 5355's for the extra horsepower.


If only the 5365's were cheaper...


Suggestions?
I don't notice until I fire up one of the VM's I can now give the VM's more resources, so I end up with 2 fluid OS's running. When I rip and convert blu-rays I can also do other things at the same time, I couldn't do that in the past if the blu-ray was converting that all the machine would do.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro 2006 Overhaul - SSD Question Ibrin Mac Pro 8 Sep 4, 2011 07:26 PM
Love my new Mac Pro but having 2 issues mrt209 Mac Pro 10 Feb 2, 2011 05:44 PM
Mac Pro 1,1 Owners - CPU Power - OS X 10.5.2 vs 10.5.3 & later? jsurpless Mac Pro 14 Aug 17, 2010 08:31 PM
First post, new Mac Pro 1.1 Owner with Questions about vid and ram. VanneDC Mac Pro 4 Jun 7, 2010 04:36 AM
New Mac Pro 1 CPU -> 2 CPU? crontab Mac Pro 39 May 18, 2008 05:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC