Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 27, 2013, 06:12 AM   #1
sparkskraps
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
I have a 2009 Mac Pro with no wireless capability

Hi

I have been given a 2009 Mac Pro with no wireless capability.

I have a Virgin Media broadband wireless router.

Is it possible to get this router to connect to my Mac wirelessly (without buying an internal card)?
sparkskraps is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 06:17 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
If the Mac Pro has not wireless abilities and you do not want an internal card and you do want a wireless connection, you then need a wireless adapter with a USB interface like this.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 07:39 AM   #3
mooblie
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Or something like this:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Edimax-EW-74.../dp/B001HW0JVU
...set up in "AP Client Mode", where it picks up your WiFi signal and is connected to your Mac Pro with a short RJ45 patch lead.



That device will add WiFi capability to ANY wired-Ethernet-capable device, without needing a WiFi dongle and drivers, etc., and the problems that can bring (e.g. also for Smart TVs, etc.)
__________________
Martin at HeadSpin HD now on Blu-ray

Last edited by mooblie; Jun 27, 2013 at 07:53 AM.
mooblie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 10:58 AM   #4
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by mooblie View Post
Or something like this:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Edimax-EW-74.../dp/B001HW0JVU
...set up in "AP Client Mode", where it picks up your WiFi signal and is connected to your Mac Pro with a short RJ45 patch lead.

Image

That device will add WiFi capability to ANY wired-Ethernet-capable device, without needing a WiFi dongle and drivers, etc., and the problems that can bring (e.g. also for Smart TVs, etc.)
Thats called a wireless bridge.
brand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 11:31 AM   #5
The-Pro
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
installing the internal card takes about 2 minutes and is the most elegant solution. Why dont you want this?
__________________
2012 15" 2.6 i7 AG MBP, 2009 17" AG MBP, 2009 8C 2.26 MP, 2010 4c MP,2010+07 MM, 17" 2007 MBP,20" iMac G5,17" PB G4,4x30"CD,2x23" CD, G3's,G4's, 17"iMac g4,iMac G3 turquoise,macintoshes dating to 1985
The-Pro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 01:16 PM   #6
rk25123
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by The-Pro View Post
installing the internal card takes about 2 minutes and is the most elegant solution. Why dont you want this?
On top of that you get Airdrop!
rk25123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 04:42 AM   #7
sparkskraps
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Thanks the for replies everyone!

I had looked into the internal card a little bit, and read some reports saying that the connection can drop out every now and then, and as the computer will be situated in a room fairly far away from the router I thought external might be the best option?
sparkskraps is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 05:22 PM   #8
The-Pro
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkskraps View Post
Thanks the for replies everyone!

I had looked into the internal card a little bit, and read some reports saying that the connection can drop out every now and then, and as the computer will be situated in a room fairly far away from the router I thought external might be the best option?
Never ever had mine drop out in over 3 years. And I am constantly moving files and loading files, so I would notice.
With an external one you really dont know what quality stuff you are getting it could have some cheap internals, with less range stability etc. Who knows.

Could I suggest an Airport express for Wifi range extension?
__________________
2012 15" 2.6 i7 AG MBP, 2009 17" AG MBP, 2009 8C 2.26 MP, 2010 4c MP,2010+07 MM, 17" 2007 MBP,20" iMac G5,17" PB G4,4x30"CD,2x23" CD, G3's,G4's, 17"iMac g4,iMac G3 turquoise,macintoshes dating to 1985

Last edited by The-Pro; Jul 1, 2013 at 06:04 PM.
The-Pro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 05:26 PM   #9
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by The-Pro View Post
Could I suggest an Airport express for Wifi range extension?
Um, you kind of just did.
brand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 06:04 PM   #10
The-Pro
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by brand View Post
Um, you kind of just did.
That was the point my friend
__________________
2012 15" 2.6 i7 AG MBP, 2009 17" AG MBP, 2009 8C 2.26 MP, 2010 4c MP,2010+07 MM, 17" 2007 MBP,20" iMac G5,17" PB G4,4x30"CD,2x23" CD, G3's,G4's, 17"iMac g4,iMac G3 turquoise,macintoshes dating to 1985
The-Pro is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC