Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 24, 2011, 01:25 PM   #1
okayokay
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Thunderbolt Display + PS3. Possible?

Self explanatory title.

Can I connect PS3 to a Thunderbolt Display?
okayokay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2011, 01:31 PM   #2
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Right now, you cannot. In the future you may be able to do that if an appropriate adapter is released.
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2011, 01:32 PM   #3
okayokay
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
Right now, you cannot. In the future you may be able to do that if an appropriate adapter is released.
I forgot to say I have a HDMI to USB adapter, won't it work ??
okayokay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2011, 01:33 PM   #4
xraydoc
macrumors Demi-God
 
xraydoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 192.168.1.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by okayokay View Post
I forgot to say I have a HDMI to USB adapter, won't it work ??
No.
__________________
3.5GHz i7 27" iMac • Surface Pro 3 i5 • 2.5GHz i5 Mac mini + 27" Thunderbolt display • iPhone 6 Plus
xraydoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2011, 05:36 PM   #5
DarwinOSX
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Kanex and others make adapters that work with mini-dosplay port to HDMI for PS/3 and other devices. But the new ACD uses a TB cable. I would expect these same companies to make an adapter for TB to HDMI as well but there is nothing right now.
__________________
Mac user since 1984.
DarwinOSX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2011, 08:19 PM   #6
misterbig
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Right now, Thunderbolt display + anything that doesn't have a thunderbolt port = Not possible.
misterbig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2011, 04:20 PM   #7
Iamcardboard
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I'm also interested in knowing if a tb display can be used for ps3. Would something like this not work? http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mac-Neet®-Un...7413496&sr=8-1

Would be great to get rid of my ugly TV and replace it with a tb display!
Iamcardboard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2011, 05:06 PM   #8
auero
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iamcardboard View Post
I'm also interested in knowing if a tb display can be used for ps3. Would something like this not work? http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mac-Neet®-Un...7413496&sr=8-1

Would be great to get rid of my ugly TV and replace it with a tb display!
No. Why would you waste money turning a $1,000 monitor into a television? You can BUY a nice television for the price.
auero is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2011, 07:33 PM   #9
xraydoc
macrumors Demi-God
 
xraydoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 192.168.1.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iamcardboard View Post
I'm also interested in knowing if a tb display can be used for ps3. Would something like this not work? http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mac-Neet®-Un...7413496&sr=8-1

Would be great to get rid of my ugly TV and replace it with a tb display!
No. That's a miniDisplayPort video (with which TB also is backward-compatible with) to HDMI adapter. Not the other way around. This little box takes a miniDisplayPort signal - which you'll also get out of a Thunderbolt port if nothing else is plugged in to it* - and output an up to 1920x1080 HDMI signal. That's all.

The ONLY THING that can drive a picture on the Apple Thunderbolt Display is a Thunderbolt Mac. Period.


*To complicate things, certain TB peripherals will allow you to daisy chain a single displayport monitor off them, though for very specific technical reasons the Apple Thunderbolt display cannot without another non-video TB peripheral in the chain after it. AnandTech has the technical details well described, and it's not just because Apple felt like being mean; it's a specific TB-protocol hardware limitation.
__________________
3.5GHz i7 27" iMac • Surface Pro 3 i5 • 2.5GHz i5 Mac mini + 27" Thunderbolt display • iPhone 6 Plus
xraydoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 07:10 PM   #10
Amnesiac7
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
Right now, you cannot. In the future you may be able to do that if an appropriate adapter is released.
When is that going to happen? Any news?
Amnesiac7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012, 11:29 AM   #11
kyjaotkb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Paris, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amnesiac7 View Post
When is that going to happen? Any news?
Given the lack of enthusiasm regarding Thunderbolt adoption among OEMs and the fact that TB requires quite a few electronics components in the cable and at each end of it - I'd not bet my money on it... And even if it appears it is likely it will be costly (I'd guess no less than $100).
cheers
__________________
13" MBA '11, 1.7/4/256 ; 16GB iPad 4 Wifi ; 64GB iPhone 6 ; 16GB iPhone 3GS ; 160GB iPod Classic '07 ; 8GB nano 3G ; 1GB Shuffle 2G
kyjaotkb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 07:30 PM   #12
IAMMICK
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Intensity extreme by blackmagic can capture ps3 on macs with thunderbolt. Only within the software you get with it though I think. Zero lag so if the viewer was larger playing multiplayer fps would be fine.
IAMMICK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 07:50 PM   #13
demosthenes80
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Nope
demosthenes80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 08:06 PM   #14
cocacolakid
macrumors 65816
 
cocacolakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by IAMMICK View Post
Intensity extreme by blackmagic can capture ps3 on macs with thunderbolt. Only within the software you get with it though I think. Zero lag so if the viewer was larger playing multiplayer fps would be fine.
That captures video, it won't connect a non-Thunderbolt PC/Console to a Thunderbolt display. It's also $299.
__________________
2012 Mini 2.3 i7 Samsung 840 250 GB SSD 16GB RAM
2012 13" MBP Samsung SSD, 16GB RAM
TBD, iPad 4, iPhone 5S and PPC's
cocacolakid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 09:11 PM   #15
APlotdevice
macrumors 68020
 
APlotdevice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
Right now, you cannot. In the future you may be able to do that if an appropriate adapter is released.
I'm not the most savvy when it comes to the technical aspects of video cables, but I don't think an adapter is even posibble in this case.
__________________
There is something deeply wrong with a society more offended by breasts than by entrails.
Pebble SmartWatch | iPhone 5c | 11" Macbook Air '13 | HTPC | TV | Numerous Old Consoles
APlotdevice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 11:02 AM   #16
pbmagnet4
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by APlotdevice View Post
I'm not the most savvy when it comes to the technical aspects of video cables, but I don't think an adapter is even posibble in this case.
I am pretty sure you can only use component and standard definition cables with the ps3 due to HDMI being locked for video capture by Sony. This is all possible. Try the EasyCap for a cheap solution on amazon.
__________________
15" iMac G4, 1ghz PPC, 2gb RAM, 160gb HD
13" MBP, 2.9ghz i7, 8gb 1867mhz RAM, 240gb SSD, BR
iPhone, 16gb ; iPad 1, 64gb ; iPhone 4, 32gb
iPod, 20gb ; iPod Nano, 16gb
pbmagnet4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thunderbolt Display and PS3 (or any HDMI console) Rizzm Mac Peripherals 3 Nov 15, 2013 11:30 AM
Keeping a thunderbolt external hdd connected to a Thunderbolt Display? shorn Mac Peripherals 11 Jul 29, 2013 06:05 PM
Anyway to connect Cable and a PS3 to a Thunderbolt display? TSE Mac Peripherals 2 Jul 16, 2013 09:48 AM
Running a second display off of Thunderbolt Display's Thunderbolt Port? Rob.G Mac Peripherals 6 Nov 5, 2012 11:36 AM
Thunderbolt: extending screen but thunderbolt as main display + dock Retr083 Mac Peripherals 3 Aug 11, 2012 08:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC