Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 1, 2012, 12:46 PM   #1
travistaylor
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
2012 iMac and Starcraft/Diablo

Anyone thrown either of these games at their new iMac? Just wondering how the 21.5" handles these two games...

Thanks!
__________________
| 15" MacBook Pro | 64GB iPad WiFi + 3G | 32GB iPhone 3GS | 30GB iPod Photo |
travistaylor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 01:17 PM   #2
Johnf1285
macrumors 6502a
 
Johnf1285's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by travistaylor View Post
Anyone thrown either of these games at their new iMac? Just wondering how the 21.5" handles these two games...

Thanks!
I am looking forward to this too.

I will be installing World of Warcraft, Diablo III, and Starcraft II onto my machine when I receive it. It will be the 21.5" with the GT 650m, Fusion, 8gb, i5 3470s.

I will have a very detailed analysis for the forum in the next 2 weeks!
Johnf1285 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:48 PM   #3
Hakone
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnf1285 View Post
I am looking forward to this too.

I will be installing World of Warcraft, Diablo III, and Starcraft II onto my machine when I receive it. It will be the 21.5" with the GT 650m, Fusion, 8gb, i5 3470s.

I will have a very detailed analysis for the forum in the next 2 weeks!
When you get a chance, could you post your FPS on high and/or ultra settings when raiding in WoW? I'm deciding if the 21.5" is sufficient since i play WoW more than any other game.

Thanks!
Hakone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 03:02 PM   #4
Johnf1285
macrumors 6502a
 
Johnf1285's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hakone View Post
When you get a chance, could you post your FPS on high and/or ultra settings when raiding in WoW? I'm deciding if the 21.5" is sufficient since i play WoW more than any other game.

Thanks!
Certainly. I just need to convince my wife to hand over Mists of Pandaria to me before Christmas!

----------

Does anyone know if the water effect issue has been resolved yet with OS X? I recall last time I was on a Mac playing Wow, that having the water effects higher than the base would result in multi-sampling not working. It also sucked up a lot of resources as it was supposedly a hack job to implement those new features in Open GL. Any input on that?
Johnf1285 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 03:03 PM   #5
bflowers
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
I plan on playing these eventually, but I'd first like to get some decent quality time with Civ 5 that I got cheap on Steam. My 3 year old MacBook cries every time I boot that game even with 8 Gigs of RAM and the graphics set to Ultra Poor! Oh well, that will all change in slightly over 3 weeks!
bflowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 12:30 AM   #6
Deathwish86
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Come on guys, nothing?
I need to see if the 640M is enough...
Deathwish86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 02:13 AM   #7
MacMiguel
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathwish86 View Post
Come on guys, nothing?
I need to see if the 640M is enough...
It's more than enough
MacMiguel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 07:59 PM   #8
travistaylor
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Anything?
__________________
| 15" MacBook Pro | 64GB iPad WiFi + 3G | 32GB iPhone 3GS | 30GB iPod Photo |
travistaylor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 09:15 PM   #9
Hesays
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I play diablo and have played mop on my late 2009 iMac on high settings and it runs great. So the 2012 iMac should blow them out of the water
Hesays is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC