Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 26, 2012, 05:52 AM   #1
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Can I enable trim on raid 0 ssds?

See title
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 02:01 PM   #2
saulinpa
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Yes, if software RAID then TRIM can work.
saulinpa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 05:45 PM   #3
SDAVE
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by saulinpa View Post
Yes, if software RAID then TRIM can work.
Thanks! I was reading conflicting statements here on the forum. It is a software raid.

Is it safe to turn it on right now? They are 2x80GB Intel X-25M (Kind of oldish, but they're super fast). So far the speeds haven't dropped off and was wondering if even trim is worth it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-12-26 at 3.44.50 PM.png
Views:	16
Size:	903.6 KB
ID:	385957  
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:09 PM   #4
saulinpa
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
One thing I've tried as a compromise is to boot to a 10.8 disk that has TRIM enabled and then do a Disk Utility repair on the SSDs. That "trims" unused blocks. Figure that would work since Intel's PC software for XP defaults to once a week for those old disks.
saulinpa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:48 PM   #5
SDAVE
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by saulinpa View Post
One thing I've tried as a compromise is to boot to a 10.8 disk that has TRIM enabled and then do a Disk Utility repair on the SSDs. That "trims" unused blocks. Figure that would work since Intel's PC software for XP defaults to once a week for those old disks.
Cheers.

Just enabled Trim via Trim Enabler, and both SSD's show as it being enabled.

So far so good! Really happy with this upgrade.

I plan to get a single SSD when prices drop, probably a 256GB.
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC