Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:54 AM   #1
Jimmy.apple.fan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
New iMac!

Hi....

Very first post after registering...... Need the forums help!!!

Am ready to order/purchase my very first IMac however am really not sure which one to go for!!

Will def order the 27inch with 1TB fusion drive however.... What is the best processor to go for....i5 or i7....?!?

Also what is the best Ram.... Start of with 8 or upgrade to 16?!?

Also do I get the better graphics card with 2gb Ram....

Also how easy is it to upgrade Ram after purchase as many people seem to state!?

My use will be the usual Internet/emails.... Light gaming.... Photo editing of kids pics & small video clips taken on IPhone!!..... Also want to download Kids DVD collection for apple sharing via iPad/apple TV in the house?!?

Confused as to what is necessary?

Any help/advice welcome.

Last edited by Jimmy.apple.fan; Feb 13, 2013 at 05:18 AM.
Jimmy.apple.fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 02:14 AM   #2
Serban
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
in terms of graphic cards core speed is the most important and after that the vRam so for you no, you can stay with the default one. Ram can you upgrade yourself later very easy if you need it. And for your work the i5 it's ok
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 02:25 AM   #3
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Your requirements aren't very high.

Get the i5.
Get 16GB RAM stock.
Get the 1GB RAM GPU.

Enjoy!
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 08:22 AM   #4
Ajay(UK)
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
During my deliberations and discussions the most common "trend" I found was that Fusion makes a real noticable difference to the speed so that I would say is a must. As for RAM I have ordered another 16gb from the UK Crucial Website (73 delivered) which arrived next day already for DIY fit when I eventually get mine. As for the processor I think we can all get wrapped up in the "max out the spec" philosophy and I am sure the i5 will be more than capable for most especially with its 1GB graphics although adding the 2GB gpu maybe worth a punt!
__________________
Late 2012 27" 3.4Ghz i7, 24GB RAM, 1TB FD, GTX 680MX;
iPad Air 32GB White, LTE;
iPhone 5 32GB White;
Ajay(UK) is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 10:13 AM   #5
leerichards1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
My requirements are on the lower end like yours, but considering I will likely have this computer for the next 4/5 years (as I did with my previous PC) I opted for the specification below. Perhaps I won't get the benefit of the higher-spec graphics card, but I felt it was worth paying a little extra now on the off-chance it will prove a wise investment further down the line.

i5 3.2 Ghz Processor
8GB RAM (3rd party upgrade to 16GB)
1TB Fusion Drive
2GB Graphics Card

Ordered day 1 so have had my machine since late December and I absolutely love everything about it.
leerichards1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 10:39 AM   #6
Norcal.
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Do NOT buy ram from apple. You are wasting your money. When you buy your iMac, get 8GB. Since you're getting the 27" you can manually install additional 3rd party RAM after you buy it.
Norcal. is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 10:42 AM   #7
bflowers
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
You will be fine with the base 8GB of RAM to start with. You can always upgrade the 27"'s RAM later, or buy it cheap from someone upgrading to 32 like I did. Don't pay the Apple tax for the RAM.
bflowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:27 AM   #8
jtrainor56
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
My requirements were not earth shattering, I believe Lightroom and DAZ 3D are the most intensive applications I play around in. I do some gaming but most is through Steam.

With that said I went for the i7 with the 680MX video, 8 gig of ram that I upgraded my self to 24 gig and the 3TB fusion. In 2-3 years I didn't want to look back and regret I didn't go for it. Good lick in whatever you decide. ~ Joe.
__________________
2012 27" iMac: i7 3.4GHz: GTX 680 MX: 24 GB RAM; 3TB Fusion HD| Apple TV | iPad 16gb 1st Gen| iPhone 5c
Nikon D5100, 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6, 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6
jtrainor56 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 01:44 PM   #9
Jimmy.apple.fan
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Thanks for the tips!!

Summary!! Fusion is a no brainer.
i5 is more than acceptable.... Not sure what the real time difference would be between i5/i7 ?!?

The higher spec 2Gb Ram for graphics card may help for future value

Stay with standard 8gb RAM & upgrade in time... Only concern is how easy is it to install the RAM as dont enjoy the thought of messing & taking apart a brand new IMac machine!??

Thanks for everyone's opinion!! Exciting times
Jimmy.apple.fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 01:50 PM   #10
Twimfy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy.apple.fan View Post
Thanks for the tips!!

Summary!! Fusion is a no brainer.
i5 is more than acceptable.... Not sure what the real time difference would be between i5/i7 ?!?

The higher spec 2Gb Ram for graphics card may help for future value

Stay with standard 8gb RAM & upgrade in time... Only concern is how easy is it to install the RAM as dont enjoy the thought of messing & taking apart a brand new IMac machine!??

Thanks for everyone's opinion!! Exciting times
Running a 2008 iMac on a 3Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo and 4GB of RAM.

I use my machine for way more intensive purposes than you plan to and it still chugs along nicely some 4-5 years after it was purchased.

So I see no point in you throwing money at something you don't necessarily need, the i5 will be more than enough.

Unless Apple start making some drastic changes to OS X an i5 machine will perform really well for your three year Apple care period.

As for the ram upgrade. On a 27" it's so simple a child could do it.
Twimfy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 02:52 PM   #11
mushroomtip
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy.apple.fan View Post

Only concern is how easy is it to install the RAM as dont enjoy the thought of messing & taking apart a brand new IMac machine!??

Thanks for everyone's opinion!! Exciting times


here is a video . fast forward to the 1:00 minute mark

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0uYzM9cwNas&sns=em

__________________
Once You Go Mac, You Never Go Back !
mushroomtip is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 12:57 AM   #12
Jimmy.apple.fan
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Thanks for advice & video..... Really didnt realise it was so simple or there was even a small little partition at the back! Clearly makes sense to start with the standard 8Gb RAM and upgrade later.

Also fusion clearly provides huge improvements and is a must on new IMacs for future value. Also everyone appears to agree with the better graphics card with 2GB Ram
Salty it's just the processor and i5/i7...... If, as the majority agree, there is very little real need for the i7 why do so many people purchase it ?!? Is it worthwhile for future proofing?!?
Jimmy.apple.fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 08:04 PM   #13
mrmarts
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Melbourne Australia
Hey guys I know its to early to call but is there any signs or rumours of apple upping the memory in their video cards in 2013.
__________________
Late 2013 13" MacBook Pro Retina | Time Capsule 2TB | iPhone 6 Plus 128GB Black | Apple TV 3 Living Room | iMac 27" Late 2013: i7 3.5 GHz, 16GB Ram, 3TB Fusion, 780M, |Ipad Air 128Gb Space Grey
mrmarts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 08:11 PM   #14
WhiteIphone5
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Quote:
Originally Posted by bflowers View Post
You will be fine with the base 8GB of RAM to start with. You can always upgrade the 27"'s RAM later, or buy it cheap from someone upgrading to 32 like I did. Don't pay the Apple tax for the RAM.
21.5 inch.doesn't allow RAM changing?
WhiteIphone5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 11:46 PM   #15
bflowers
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteIphone5 View Post
21.5 inch.doesn't allow RAM changing?
No, for whatever reason, they designed it so that only the 27 inch iMac has user accessible RAM. The 21.5 only has 2 slots, both of which are filled with whatever you pay Apple to have installed at the time you buy the iMac. You can upgrade the 8 to 16 only if you are willing to take apart the machine. It is not like the old days of computer repair. See iFixit's guide.

http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Upgradin...Memory/12218/1
bflowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 05:17 PM   #16
WhiteIphone5
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Quote:
Originally Posted by bflowers View Post
No, for whatever reason, they designed it so that only the 27 inch iMac has user accessible RAM. The 21.5 only has 2 slots, both of which are filled with whatever you pay Apple to have installed at the time you buy the iMac. You can upgrade the 8 to 16 only if you are willing to take apart the machine. It is not like the old days of computer repair. See iFixit's guide.

http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Upgradin...Memory/12218/1
is it possible to buy it without fusion and then add an SSD later then configure on terminal to make a fusion drive?
i dont understand how it works, if you order fusion drive, you get 128GB flash and 1TB drive right? then what if you just order the TB, is there like an empty space to where the SSD wouldve been?
WhiteIphone5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 05:42 PM   #17
bflowers
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteIphone5 View Post
is it possible to buy it without fusion and then add an SSD later then configure on terminal to make a fusion drive?
i dont understand how it works, if you order fusion drive, you get 128GB flash and 1TB drive right? then what if you just order the TB, is there like an empty space to where the SSD wouldve been?
Yes, but again, it requires CUTTING open your brand new machine.

You can actually upgrade several things: RAM, Hard Drive, Solid State Drive, and apparently even the processor.

I recommend reading this thread, at least the first several pages.

If you buy the standard configuration, it will come with the slower 5400 RPM HDD. The 27" model gets a 7200 RPM drive. If you then want to add (not replace the HDD) a SSD, you have to use a blade style SSD. OWC carries them, as I suspect other sources do now too. You could also find one on ebay, as people will have taken them out of other Apple computers.

Once both drives are installed, it seems that the computer will auto detect the presence of both, and attempt to get you to let it create a Fusion Drive. If you are all backed up, you could simply let it do this, then restore your files to the new drive.

Again, check out the other thread, as one user cut his open very early, and details a lot of what he found.
bflowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 05:52 PM   #18
WhiteIphone5
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Quote:
Originally Posted by bflowers View Post
Yes, but again, it requires CUTTING open your brand new machine.

You can actually upgrade several things: RAM, Hard Drive, Solid State Drive, and apparently even the processor.

I recommend reading this thread, at least the first several pages.

If you buy the standard configuration, it will come with the slower 5400 RPM HDD. The 27" model gets a 7200 RPM drive. If you then want to add (not replace the HDD) a SSD, you have to use a blade style SSD. OWC carries them, as I suspect other sources do now too. You could also find one on ebay, as people will have taken them out of other Apple computers.

Once both drives are installed, it seems that the computer will auto detect the presence of both, and attempt to get you to let it create a Fusion Drive. If you are all backed up, you could simply let it do this, then restore your files to the new drive.

Again, check out the other thread, as one user cut his open very early, and details a lot of what he found.
ill definitely check it out, you mention if i add an SSD it would automatically detect and attemp to create it? then why are there tutorials of how to make one, im gonna take a guess and say because its a2012 imac that comes configured with fusion so it just detects and creates it right?
WhiteIphone5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 06:12 PM   #19
bflowers
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteIphone5 View Post
ill definitely check it out, you mention if i add an SSD it would automatically detect and attemp to create it? then why are there tutorials of how to make one, im gonna take a guess and say because its a2012 imac that comes configured with fusion so it just detects and creates it right?
The new machines automatically try to make one. The tutorials should all center around forcing an older model to do it. It might be tied into the firmware.

Here is the pertinent post from R.OG from the other thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by R.OG View Post
The blade ssd install went as planned, so i decided to boot into recovery with the 128gb samsung drive and Blade SSD. Thankfully disk utility did not try to fuse the two SSDs together. I swapped out the samsung SSD with the 3.5" 1tb and booted back into recovery and disk utility tried to fuse the two drives together to create a fusion drive. This is good news for those who what to run the imac with 2 SSDs, my ultimate goal is to install a 512GB Samsung ssd and a 256GB blade ssd.

bflowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 07:21 PM   #20
Fried Chicken
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I don't foresee needing a massive processor but I do foresee needing a massive graphics card.
I went with the GTX680MX but the i5 processor. The $200 wasn't worth it for the what I saw as minor speed bump and hyperthreading support.

I deliberated intensely on the fusion drive and decided against it. NAND prices will go down significantly, and so a year from now I could either put in an SSD stick from some future apple product or OWC.

Alternatively by a year from now I expect 2.5" SSDs to achieve 1TB capacities and have reached the full limit of SATA III, so I could just replace the HDD with an SSD in the iMac.
Someone argued that I would be having a slow iMac for most of its useful lifetime, however I plan on keeping the iMac at least 5 years, so one year of "only" having an HDD in a computer that is exponentially faster than the one I use now is a simple tradeoff.
Fried Chicken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 08:23 PM   #21
Jimmy.apple.fan
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
thanks for advice.....

In smmary the graphics card higher spec 680 is def worth the extra however there is no real benefit of the i7 over the i5 and wont be for a number of years......

lastly then.....what is the main/key benefit as to why lots of people purchase the i7....??

Thanks
Jimmy.apple.fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 12:20 PM   #22
Twimfy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy.apple.fan View Post
thanks for advice.....

In smmary the graphics card higher spec 680 is def worth the extra however there is no real benefit of the i7 over the i5 and wont be for a number of years......

lastly then.....what is the main/key benefit as to why lots of people purchase the i7....??

Thanks
Because they can, some people just like to have the best of everything.

In all seriousness though it's likely to be bought by people doing constant intense video encoding or studio work. From what you've mentioned though you probably won't see the benefits with the tasks you have in mind.

You really will not notice the difference.

My last machine was a i5 1.7Ghz 13" Macbook air and with the SSD apps opened so quickly I couldn't even fathom how they could be any faster.
Twimfy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac SMC Firmware Update 1.1 - Fan Noise - Late 2013 27 iMac alksion iMac 139 Jan 17, 2014 10:51 AM
Help, Erased iMac HDD volume drive trying reset my iMac to factory conditions trueq iMac 12 Dec 23, 2013 10:27 AM
Is possible to install Ati HD 6670m (iMac 2011 21,5) in iMac 27 late 2009?? Gianca90 iMac 4 Nov 5, 2013 05:08 PM
Late 2009 27" iMac Graphics Card DYING AGAIN. Which new iMac to replace it? DracoDWS iMac 0 Sep 29, 2013 09:50 PM
iMac late 2012 not the same brightness as iMac 2011/2010/2009? Krrrt iMac 10 May 16, 2013 09:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC