Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 6, 2008, 10:27 PM   #26
jb60606
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Just because you don't use it, doesn't make it useless. Asking why someone would use it is like asking why someone would use the backspace key.

It's an alternative to backtracking through text you would like to remove, while simultaneously allowing you to overwrite it. A time saver to some people that have been using it for years and if they removed it from the standard-101 keyboard, I'd personally be kinda bummed.

Last edited by jb60606; Apr 7, 2008 at 12:59 AM.
jb60606 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2008, 09:29 AM   #27
fuzzyspider101
Guest
 
insert key!

you can find the insert key on the mac keyboard for things like maya under the f14 key the arrow that goes diagonally top left next to the fn key??
  0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 11:29 PM   #28
Macnification
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mankar4 View Post
just found this. at least it works in windows on my mbp. fn + enter.
fn + return

This worked for me in XP on Bootcamp! Make sure and release the return key before the fn key or you'll accidentally type a line break. I also read the Help key, but I have no help key! And F13-F19 are like absent party members here.

Now, to those of you being angry and such, I use the insert key extensively in coding. Many times I need to type comments or code headers that are in blocked sections, and it is MUCH easier to create the blocked sections, then type inside them with the OVR on than put the borders in one by one. There's no reason to banish something from the keyboard just because someone can't find a use for it! That's just silly
Macnification is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 06:49 AM   #29
puma25uk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Hi guys, newbie here

I came across this thread looking for the same thing - I'm primarily a Windoze developer, having just moved to the fruity side. I'm loving it!

The bootcamp manual points in this direction, where Apple details the various keyboard models and the windows mappings for each type.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1167

Hope this helps
puma25uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 02:18 PM   #30
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
And since the Fn key is where the Insert was, it can be remapped probably.
__________________
Mac Pro | Mac mini | 15" MacBook Pro | iPad Air | iPhone 6
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2010, 03:09 PM   #31
TucsonTom
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Overwrite key on Mac Keyboards

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMonarch View Post
I feel like suck a newb for asking, but... Does anybody know what the insert key is on a Mac?

Right now I'm in desperate need of the insert key. And its nowhere to be found.


Thanks

EDIT: I'm using an Apple BT keyboard, if thats any help.
On my logitech keyboard the Help key toggles between insert mode and overwrite mode.
TucsonTom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2011, 10:07 AM   #32
bartszyszka
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York, NY
For filling out old forms...

Hi, I'm looking for a solution to this. Don't see it in the thread.

To people wondering why you would need it, it would come in handy if you receive a form made in Microsoft Word where it has a lot of underscores where you're supposed to fill things out. If you just type something into a form like that, then "_______" turns into "_ABCXYZ_______", which expands the form and breaks its layout. But if you had the insert key on, you could type things in and have the characters replace the lines, which would make it "_ABCXYZ_".
bartszyszka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2011, 04:53 PM   #33
benf.dc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Word 2008 solution

Word 2008 does not have an OVR toggle in the status bar.

However, if you go to View > Customize Toolbars and Menus you can assign a keyboard shortcut to toggle Overtype mode on and off, or add Overtype to one of your toolbars or your Edit menu. I couldn't find "Overtype" among the Editing commands, but it is there under All Commands. I believe that Word stores these customizations in your Normal template.

There is also an "Overtype" checkbox in Word's editing preferences that you can toggle if you only need Overtype mode on rare occasions or if you are using someone else's Mac.

Overtype mode is clearly deprecated in Word 2008. I don't have Office 2011 so I can't say whether any trace remains.
benf.dc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2011, 05:52 PM   #34
Astrobop
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Insert Key on Mac

Insert" is sometimes obtained by pressing the Fn key and the numeric keypad 0 key at the same time.
Astrobop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2011, 02:34 PM   #35
Bill.Raynor
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
fn+numeric 0 works

Both the fn+numeric 0 and fn+return work just fine for programming a windows app under parallels on a macbook

THanks
Bill.Raynor is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 08:14 PM   #36
TheSotomatic
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Maya Insert Key

I'm not sure if anyone still needs this info, but the insert key in Maya is simply holding down the "D" key. If you want to continually work in insert mode, the command is "fn"+"Enter".

Hope that helps.
TheSotomatic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2012, 07:03 PM   #37
bill94566
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Here's a Workaround

Instead of trying to morph your Windows software into the Mac keyboard, just connect up a standard 101 keyboard via bluetooth to your Mac. You'll have to take the Mac by the hand and specify the keyboard type, but it works brilliantly. The Apple evil empire hasn't been able to supplant ASCII yet . By the way, this is the preferred method for working remotely with Windows apps via RDP over your Mac. Save yourself the headaches.
bill94566 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 11:18 AM   #38
ArtOfWarfare
macrumors 603
 
ArtOfWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Send a message via Skype™ to ArtOfWarfare
I hate to revive such an old topic, but, how on earth does one swap to insert mode on a Mac!?

It's nice that there's a work around for Word, but I need to know how to use it in Eclipse (which is Java based.)

But while I'm at it, how does one enter Insert mode on any cocoa text field (IE, in Safari, or TextEdit, or Pages... etc... and I don't want an app specific answer!)

And if the answer is that there simply isn't an insert mode, then say so! I don't understand why people have been dodging just answering the question for six years!

Edit: I found this, saying there is no such thing:

https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0

Bummer. I wonder how difficult writing some kind of utility app to do this would be... or if people would pay money for it...
__________________
Don't tell me Macs don't last: 2007 iMac, 2007 Mac Mini, 2008 MacBook Air, all Vintage.
(iMac obsoletion: April 28, 2015, MBA: October 14, 2015, Mac Mini: March 9, 2016)
ArtOfWarfare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 06:46 AM   #39
ezerini
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I found a workaround for me using a different Mac Application that needs the Insert Key. I'm using Citrix Viewer, which is like a remote desktop into a PC from a Mac. I previously used the FN + Enter keys in Parallels which was assigned as the key command for Insert. I used this to toggle emails as read/unread.

so anyway, it seems that Mac OSX has a way to specify an application that you wish to program an insert key for, so here are the instructions for doing it using my example:

1. Open System Preferences on the Macintosh computer.
2. Go to the Keyboard preference pane and select the Keyboard Shortcuts tab.
3. Select Application Shortcuts.
4. Press the + button located under the right list box.
5. Select Other from the list for Application.
6. In the dialog press Shift, Command, and G simultaneously to open the Go To Folder page.
7. In the Go To Folder page, enter /Applications/Citrix Receiver.app/Contents/Helpers/.
8. Click Go.
9. Select Citrix Viewer.app and click Add.
10. Enter the exact name of the keystroke that you would like to create a Key Command for, such as 'Insert' in the 'Menu Title' field (I found this to be case sensitive).
11. Enter the shortcut key you are using. I tried combinations of fn + enter and ctrl + enter, but thise did not work, so try Command + i
12. Click Add.
ezerini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 05:03 PM   #40
Gordon Klaus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
MacBook Insert = Fn+Shift+M

Someone mentioned Fn+NumpadZero. On a MacBook the numpad keys are accesible via Fn+{mjkl;uiop7890}; NumpadZero is Fn+M. Long story short, Fn+Shift+M seems to produce Insert, at least judging by the results in Adobe Reader via Remote Desktop to Windows. FWIW.
Gordon Klaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2014, 03:22 AM   #41
safiqahamed
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
It works

Command + i == Insert

safiqahamed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2014, 05:05 AM   #42
dan1eln1el5en
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Maya seems to map their keys to the windows kayboard "mostly".
you can Ctrl+C for copy...it's nice since I work on Maya on Windows and OS X and I don't need to "adapt" my shortcut moves...but a tad annoying it's "windows style" that's the basis.
dan1eln1el5en is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no bootable device insert boot disk and press any key dannyhv Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 6 Feb 16, 2014 07:18 AM
No Bootable Device -- Insert Boot Disk And Press Any Key 53kyle Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 6 Jul 24, 2013 12:51 PM
Office 2011 and insert key SoIsays MacBook Air 0 Mar 29, 2013 02:55 PM
No bootable device -- insert book disk and press any key dplus OS X 7 Mar 14, 2013 11:46 AM
No bootable device -- insert boot disk and press any key. nkllr Mac Basics and Help 1 Jun 27, 2012 09:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC