Windows 7 on iMac - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 3, 2012, 08:43 PM   #1
Trojans
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Windows 7 on iMac

Just installed a clean copy of windows 7, and the system is freaking slow because of 5400 rpm HDD. If fusion drive doesn't work in windows, I'm gonna change my 1 TB fusion drive to SDD. I can't take this freaking slow speed of HDD anymore. From push power button to desktop, it takes 75 seconds, and then open Spotify, it takes me 30 seconds. Totally, it takes me almost 2 minutes. My MBP has a SDD. All of above I mentioned, it just takes less than 30 seconds. Damn it, Why don't Apple make every iMac SDD standard?

Last edited by Trojans; Dec 3, 2012 at 08:54 PM.
Trojans is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 08:51 PM   #2
CoreyLahey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojans View Post
Just installed a clean copy of windows 7, and the system is ******* slow because of 5400 rpm HDD. If fusion drive doesn't work in windows, I'm gonna change my 1 TB fusion drive to SDD. I can't take this freaking slow speed of HDD anymore.
Can you let me know how gaming works? I heard the HDD shouldn't make a difference in-game? Personally I won't have another use for windows in bootcamp.

If you're using windows 7 for other purposes than gaming, look into installing it on an external ssd, I think I read somewhere that it's possible, but honestly I'm not sure.
CoreyLahey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 09:25 PM   #3
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
75 seconds is not normal, even for a 5400 rpm drive. It should be nearer 20-25 sec for a clean Windows 7 install.

Windows 7 has problems with picking correct partition alignment on the brand new 4k sector drives.

If you can, I would find a copy of Windows 7 SP1 (or Windows 8) and install from that, as the installer in SP1 is intelligent enough to correctly align your disk partition to 4k sectors. Note: installing win7 SP1 on top of your current setup WILL NOT fix this. You need to do a clean install from a newer OS that knows about 4k drives, or align the partitions manually. You'll need to re-partition the disk.


Or locate a guide (google) on Windows 7 partition alignment.


The problem isn't 100% due to your hard drive, you are seeing WAY worse performance than you should due to the win7 installer not knowing about 4k sectors. If the partition is misaligned - every single read or write operation you do will be multiplied - a write requires 2 sector reads and a write, a read requires 2 reads.

I just spent a couple of days sorting this problem out at work...
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)

Last edited by throAU; Dec 3, 2012 at 09:32 PM.
throAU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 09:42 PM   #4
Aluminum213
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Why wouldn't fusion drive work with windows? Are you using bootcamp or parallels?
__________________
iPad Air | 32GB | LTE
2012 iMac 27" | i7 | 3.4Ghz | Fusion | 32GB RAM | 680MX
iPhone 5 | Black | 32GB
TV (3rd Gen)
Aluminum213 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 09:44 PM   #5
Jay9495
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
May I ask how you installed windows on your imac ?
Jay9495 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 01:28 AM   #6
Trojans
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay9495 View Post
May I ask how you installed windows on your imac ?
I downloaded a copy of Win 7 and followed Boot camp instruction.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aluminum213 View Post
Why wouldn't fusion drive work with windows? Are you using bootcamp or parallels?
I'm using bootcamp because some softwares are not working in parallel
Trojans is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 01:31 AM   #7
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
see here:
http://www.overclock.net/t/1156654/s...-for-ssds-hdds


not sure how boot camp will affect this.

You may be able to realign your existing boot camp partition by running a third party partitioning tool, such as a gparted liveCD.

I haven't run one on a mac and am not sure if it will work, but it may be worth a try. Back up your machine first obviously.

Realigning will take several hours, as every sector within the partition needs to be read and re-written to disk.


Also, see here for more info: http://www.anandtech.com/show/2888


4k alignment isn't only an SSD problem. Newer hard drives use 4k sectors these days as well.
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)

Last edited by throAU; Dec 4, 2012 at 01:38 AM.
throAU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 04:00 AM   #8
HBen
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoreyLahey View Post
Can you let me know how gaming works? I heard the HDD shouldn't make a difference in-game? Personally I won't have another use for windows in bootcamp.

If you're using windows 7 for other purposes than gaming, look into installing it on an external ssd, I think I read somewhere that it's possible, but honestly I'm not sure.
+1
Have you played any games yet??
HBen is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using windows on imac andycarpman iMac 6 Mar 2, 2014 08:49 AM
How to hook up windows laptop to iMac and use iMac's display? tokyodrift iMac 7 Nov 25, 2013 07:02 AM
2010 iMac with Windows 8 boots only into Windows Krafcik Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 5 Dec 30, 2012 12:59 PM
Upgrade mid 2011 imac with windows xp to windows 7 ultimate Murl Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Nov 10, 2012 07:14 PM
Running Windows XP on iMac, also utilizing Windows 2000 Word? MacLady54 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Jun 29, 2012 10:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC