Motion+iMovie? - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 20, 2012, 08:45 AM   #1
Supernerd
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Yo momma's house
Motion+iMovie?

Just making sure before I buy: Apple Motion wil be completely compatible with iMovie for video editing? FCPX is a little too much money for me right now..
Supernerd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 11:19 AM   #2
Ifti
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
No, you need FCPX to use alongside Motion.
You can create a template in Motion and import it into FCPX as an effect. You won't be able to import it into imovie as an effect.
__________________
See my YouTube Channel for reviews & tech tips!
2012 Mac Mini Server / 2.6GHz Quad i7/8GB/2x1TB HDD
2013 MBA11 1.7GHz Dual i7/8/256 - 2013 rMBP15 2.6GHz Quad i7/16/1TB/750m
TC / iPhone5 / Drobo 5D
Ifti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:00 PM   #3
rx7dude
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
depends what you mean by compatible.
I use both iMovie and Motion.
You have to export from Motion as a clip and then import the clip into iMovie.
It works but it's not the best way to do.
I don't do video editing for a living so it suits me until I get FCPX
__________________
MBA 13, Powermac G5 SP 1.8, 12" ibook G4 6,7
rx7dude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:29 PM   #4
Ifti
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by rx7dude View Post
depends what you mean by compatible.
I use both iMovie and Motion.
You have to export from Motion as a clip and then import the clip into iMovie.
It works but it's not the best way to do.
I don't do video editing for a living so it suits me until I get FCPX
True, you can do it this way but you won't get any of the editing options etc.
So if you make a fancy title, for example, you need to export it as a video clip and then import into imovie as a clip - not as an effect.
With FCPX you can import it as an effect, so when you add it to your project you can still make changes, edit text, and so on.
__________________
See my YouTube Channel for reviews & tech tips!
2012 Mac Mini Server / 2.6GHz Quad i7/8GB/2x1TB HDD
2013 MBA11 1.7GHz Dual i7/8/256 - 2013 rMBP15 2.6GHz Quad i7/16/1TB/750m
TC / iPhone5 / Drobo 5D
Ifti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:52 PM   #5
Supernerd
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Yo momma's house
All that means is I have to re-edit it in motion if I don't like it, and export another clip. For me, that's all I need. I knew it wasn't going to be streamlined. Anything else I should know?
Supernerd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 02:09 PM   #6
floh
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Well, you can use Motion for two purposes: Its main purpose and its "can also do this quite well" purpose. Its main purpose it to create nice-looking and easily editable titles, generators and presets for Final Cut Pro X. This part will not work with iMovie. At all.

But the second part it is surprisingly capable in is compositing and visual effects. If you want to play with greenscreen keying, masking tools, compositing modes, muzzle flashes and other visual effects (like a cheaper Adobe After Effects replacement), it will work as well (or bad) with iMovie as it does with Final Cut Pro X. You will in both programs have to export the clips you want to deal with in Motion, do your magic, and then export back.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supernerd View Post
Anything else I should know?
Yes, one more thing: You will notice a lot more than in iMovie if you have a crappy or usable graphics card. iMovie hardly does anything on the GPU, Motion does a lot. I noticed that it works way smoother on my iMac than on my MBP although the latter is superior in all hardware except the GPU.
floh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 02:20 PM   #7
Ifti
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
You'll also notice that importing back into imovie lowers the quality of the original motion export a fair bit.
__________________
See my YouTube Channel for reviews & tech tips!
2012 Mac Mini Server / 2.6GHz Quad i7/8GB/2x1TB HDD
2013 MBA11 1.7GHz Dual i7/8/256 - 2013 rMBP15 2.6GHz Quad i7/16/1TB/750m
TC / iPhone5 / Drobo 5D
Ifti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 06:35 PM   #8
12dylan34
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ifti View Post
You'll also notice that importing back into imovie lowers the quality of the original motion export a fair bit.
It shouldn't matter if you export from Motion in a proper intermediate codec.
12dylan34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 06:37 PM   #9
Supernerd
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Yo momma's house
Well, I will miss the titles, but the compositing software is actually the major reason why I am interested in Motion. I plan to purchase it as an alternative to the devilishly expensive After Effects, but really the only thing I am probably going to end up doing with it on my upcoming short film is color grading. Thank you @floh for making up my mind. The workflow sounds extremely complicated, but for the price, it looks more than worth it. Thanks, and happy not-end-of-the-world and merry Christmas, and if the world does end, god bless you.
Supernerd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 07:28 PM   #10
Siderz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London, UK
Judging by your needs, yes, Motion will be good enough.

It may not have as complicated a workflow as people are saying; you may be able to:
  1. Export something from Motion
  2. Import to iMovie
  3. Feel it's not good enough, so go back to Motion and edit it a bit
  4. Export it again, overwriting the previous file
  5. iMovie should then reload the file and you will see the changed file

Now, I'm not entirely sure if this is how iMovie works. I think it may import files, create a proxy, and work from there. So perhaps it won't create new proxies every time a file gets updated, and this workflow won't work...meaning you'll need to keep importing things again.

This works in FCP7/Premiere Pro. I deleted iMovie so I can't try it out.

Nevertheless, it sounds like Motion will do your needs.
__________________
focus
Siderz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I filmed a video in slow motion but won't play slow motion on Instagram Knockoutjosie iPhone 3 Sep 23, 2013 07:19 PM
There's Reduce motion, but what about No motion? cobbyco iOS 7 28 Aug 8, 2013 01:26 AM
Moved from iMovie HD to iMovie 8 and can't use a diskimage for storage barkmonster Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jul 22, 2013 03:00 PM
Former iAd Chief Andy Miller Joins 3D Motion Control Company Leap Motion MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 155 Jul 20, 2012 01:19 PM
Can templates from Motion 4 be used on the new Motion 5? Luba Digital Video 0 Jun 6, 2012 12:16 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC