Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 4, 2013, 12:13 AM   #1
sosinsurr
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Who's my problem with, T-Mobile or Apple?

Just got a new iphone 5 through T-Mobile and am having a rather weird issue...I can't text some people (no one in particular and very random, maybe every 8 people) and they can't text me cause my number comes up as a landline.

How can this be? I gave my new number to people and they tried to text me and then sent me messages on facebook and twitter asking if it was a real number cause it comes back as an error saying it's a landline.

I've called both Apple and T-Mobile and I get the same thing, each saying it's the others problem.

What are your thoughts?
sosinsurr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 12:18 AM   #2
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Do you have access to another phone that you can put the SIM into?
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 12:20 AM   #3
sosinsurr
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal View Post
Do you have access to another phone that you can put the SIM into?
Yes, my fiance also has a T-MO iPhone 5. Same issue occurred. The message goes through on my end, but it never makes it. When they try and text me, they get the error landline.
sosinsurr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 12:24 AM   #4
apunkrockmonk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Sounds like the problem is T-Mobile.

Easiest way to confirm is turn off the phone and have someone text you that was receiving the error.

If they still get the error with the phone off and out of the equation you have your answer.
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 32GB T-Mobile
iPad Mini 2 Black 32GB T-Mobile
Hackintosh i5 4GHz|24GB|7TB
MacBook Pro 13" i5 2.4GHz|8GB|256GB
apunkrockmonk is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 12:31 AM   #5
sosinsurr
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by apunkrockmonk View Post
Sounds like the problem is T-Mobile.

Easiest way to confirm is turn off the phone and have someone text you that was receiving the error.

If they still get the error with the phone off and out of the equation you have your answer.
Just did and still got the landline error.

I figured it had nothing to do with Apple, but T-Mo is saying it's not them it's the phone, which to me sounds like complete BS. What does the phone have to do with the number coming up as a land line?
sosinsurr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 12:48 AM   #6
apunkrockmonk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Are the effected people all on the same carrier?

I know that regular phone calls route using ENUM databases which essentially say how to route the call.

I'm unsure if SMSes work the same way though.

If they are all on the same carrier it may be worth having them contact their carrier so they can look into why they're receiving that error.
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 32GB T-Mobile
iPad Mini 2 Black 32GB T-Mobile
Hackintosh i5 4GHz|24GB|7TB
MacBook Pro 13" i5 2.4GHz|8GB|256GB
apunkrockmonk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 12:54 AM   #7
sosinsurr
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by apunkrockmonk View Post
Are the effected people all on the same carrier?

I know that regular phone calls route using ENUM databases which essentially say how to route the call.

I'm unsure if SMSes work the same way though.

If they are all on the same carrier it may be worth having them contact their carrier so they can look into why they're receiving that error.
No, not one of them is with T-Mobile so far. And it's only with people in different states so far. None of them have ever been local.
sosinsurr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 01:07 AM   #8
apunkrockmonk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by sosinsurr View Post
No, not one of them is with T-Mobile so far. And it's only with people in different states so far. None of them have ever been local.
What I was asking is if the people receiving the error all share the same carrier between them.

For example all of them on Sprint, or some on Sprint and others on Virgin/Boost (Sprint MVNOs)
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 32GB T-Mobile
iPad Mini 2 Black 32GB T-Mobile
Hackintosh i5 4GHz|24GB|7TB
MacBook Pro 13" i5 2.4GHz|8GB|256GB
apunkrockmonk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 01:10 AM   #9
sosinsurr
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by apunkrockmonk View Post
What I was asking is if the people receiving the error all share the same carrier between them.

For example all of them on Sprint, or some on Sprint and others on Virgin/Boost (Sprint MVNOs)
No, some are Verizon, Sprint, ATT, US Celluar to name a few that I asked so far.
sosinsurr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 01:20 AM   #10
HiRisk
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
What plan are you on?
HiRisk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 01:23 AM   #11
sosinsurr
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiRisk View Post
What plan are you on?
Unlimited Nationwide 4G for $70 a month.
sosinsurr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 08:56 AM   #12
thelatinist
macrumors 603
 
thelatinist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Connecticut, USA
Did you port your number? If so, was it a landline that you ported?
thelatinist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 09:57 AM   #13
Caesars
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2013
If it was a brand new number, I'd recommend changing :-)
Caesars is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 04:01 PM   #14
sosinsurr
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by thelatinist View Post
Did you port your number? If so, was it a landline that you ported?
No I did not port the number.
sosinsurr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 11:11 AM   #15
kmichalec
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sosinsurr View Post
No I did not port the number.
So it's a new number TMob gave you? Then it's definitely their issue. Call and ask to escalate the issue. Don't accept the Tier 1 support answer that it's Apple.
__________________
iPhone 5, 64GB, TMo, Black; iPhone 5, 16GB, TMo, Black
iPhone 4S, 64GB, White, Used as iPod
2 @ iPad Mini WiFi 32GB, Black; 1 iPad3 WiFi + 4G, 64GB, Verizon, Black
kmichalec is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 03:19 PM   #16
Weiser878
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Definitely TMobile's problem. Good luck getting them to do anything about it. Most horrible carrier I've ever dealt with
__________________
 Mid 2013 New MacBook Air, iPhone 5, iPad 3 
Weiser878 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 03:28 PM   #17
rockitdog
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Just ask for a new number, that's a pretty simple request
__________________
Yeah baby, I love when you talk all nerdy to me!
iPhone 5S - ME308LL/A |13" late 2012 MBP | Black Ipad 2
rockitdog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 05:32 PM   #18
Ajones330
macrumors 6502a
 
Ajones330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SEC Country
Try turning imessage off and back on. Changing the number seems to be the best bet though
__________________
There is nothing so useless as doing efficiently that which should not be done at all.~Peter F. Drucker

13" MBP l 13" MB l iPhone 5S Gold Jailbroken 64GB l
Ajones330 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC