Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:21 PM   #1
Siderz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London, UK
Question Will the 2012 iMac be good for video editing?

I can't get my head around that new case. It looks like they cello-taped a MacBook Air to a stand.

I edited a 7 minute video on an 11" MBA* for a bit of fun, just to see how it faired, and, yeah I guess it worked. It lagged a lot, it's in no way ideal, but I got a 1080p video up to 7 minutes before deciding that I couldn't be bothered anymore - And I had a bit of compositions in it.

Obviously the MBA is much thinner than the new iMac, and the specs aren't close. But I can't help but feel it's going to get hot quickly and just go really slow.

So I'm pretty much wondering, how do people feel about this for some video editing? I would tell you what I used to edit on, if someone asks I will. I just don't want this message to get too big.

*I was using the internal SSD.

----------

Edit: Just as an update, I've got the top of the range 21.5" iMac, and it works perfectly fine for video editing, no worries here.

Specs:
  • 3.1GHz i7
  • 16GB RAM
  • GeForce 650M 512MB
  • 1TB Fusion Drive
  • 4TB G-RAID FireWire 800 (For scratch)

At my College, we also have the lowest specs 21.5", and that works perfectly fine as well...this question is redundant, I can't believe I had a bit of doubt...comparing a MBA to an iMac?

Last edited by Siderz; May 23, 2013 at 06:13 AM.
Siderz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:29 PM   #2
f64
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I've read where professionals are editing on MBPro with no problem. The new Imac with their best video card should be smok'in with no problem for HD video.

Video editing is the reason I'm buying the new Imac. I'm considering the 760 GB SSD with maybe their 3-4 TB tower connected via Thunderbolt. I like the idea of the main Imac having no moving parts.
f64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:37 PM   #3
Siderz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by f64 View Post
Video editing is the reason I'm buying the new Imac. I'm considering the 760 GB SSD with maybe their 3-4 TB tower connected via Thunderbolt. I like the idea of the main Imac having no moving parts.
I was using a 2010 21.5" base iMac for editing, upgraded to 8GB RAM. It worked great and then it broke last April and I've been waiting since to get the next one.

I'm thinking of going up a notch this time and getting a 21.5" with Fusion Drive, not going to be able to get the model with the best graphics card.

I'll get a Thunderbolt G-RAID some time next year, for now I'll use a FireWire to Thunderbolt adapter. And then later next year I'll get an external graphics card for the Thunderbolt port, maybe even a Thunderbolt PCIe rack thingymabob and plug a bunch of other things into it.
Siderz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 06:25 PM   #4
atthecross
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
not for full blown editing i would think but for simple stuff would think this guy would shine
atthecross is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 06:55 PM   #5
tears2040
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
People have been editing with less for years, myself included. As long as you have a dedicated graphics card, external or another hard drive plus setup your sessions accordingly you will be able to edit fine.

I just returned a new Mac mini because the hdmi port when connected to a display was causing screen flickering. I'm hoping the new iMac will be released next week so I can purchase. even the base model will be faster than many computers of the past. Couple that with a fusion drive or better yet external and you are Good.
tears2040 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 07:19 PM   #6
joeysarks
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Detroit
If ur recording HD video with a fusion drive, does it record to the flash drive so u can achieve better quality? Only worried cuz my current 13 inch MBP has a 5400rpm drive and i can't seem to get above ProRes LT without any issues arising. Kinda confused on how the fusion thing works for that.
joeysarks is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 07:23 PM   #7
Siderz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London, UK
Yeah, I use an external FireWire 800 HDD. I bought a handy adapter from Apple last week so I could plug it into the Thunderbolt port.

I'll just use that until I have the money to get a Thunderbolt drive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tears2040 View Post
setup your sessions accordingly you will be able to edit fine.
What do you mean? As in, have all the resources (Videos, project files, assets etc.) on the secondary/external drive?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeysarks View Post
If ur recording HD video with a fusion drive, does it record to the flash drive so u can achieve better quality? Only worried cuz my current 13 inch MBP has a 5400rpm drive and i can't seem to get above ProRes LT without any issues arising. Kinda confused on how the fusion thing works for that.
I think it's on the website that new files will be written to the SDD, and in the background will be moved to the HDD.

So, yeah, I'm sure the OS should opt to encode videos to the SDD first and then will simply move to the HDD.

However, it's not ideal to be encoding videos to the internal drive, you're better off getting an external one, or at least, one that's separate from the drive that the OS is on (In this case, the only option is to use an external drive for video). Simply it's because there's less work for the hard drives to do; one drive to deliver video, the other drive to deliver the OS and software.
Siderz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 07:28 PM   #8
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by atthecross View Post
not for full blown editing i would think but for simple stuff would think this guy would shine
What is full blown editing anyway?

If your footage is in an editable format, not that compressed feces called MPEG-4, then even a 2008 or 2009 iMac can be used for editing a feature length HD movie.

Hell, we edited several TV series, though still PAL, on a G4 in 2008 and 2009.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 07:34 PM   #9
joeysarks
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Detroit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siderz View Post
However, it's not ideal to be encoding videos to the internal drive, you're better off getting an external one, or at least, one that's separate from the drive that the OS is on (In this case, the only option is to use an external drive for video). Simply it's because there's less work for the hard drives to do; one drive to deliver video, the other drive to deliver the OS and software.
Yeah I use an external 7200rpm for working with FCPX right now. That's great that I can record in a higher codec tho, may look into gettin an iMac over a MBPr then...or at least till the MBPr with Haswell is released. Been a laptop guy for a while now, if Haswell delivers on what it claims, I might not have to go back to desktop then
joeysarks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 05:46 AM   #10
Siderz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
What is full blown editing anyway?

If your footage is in an editable format, not that compressed feces called MPEG-4, then even a 2008 or 2009 iMac can be used for editing a feature length HD movie.

Hell, we edited several TV series, though still PAL, on a G4 in 2008 and 2009.
Could even just make proxies at 480p if it really can't handle it.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeysarks View Post
Yeah I use an external 7200rpm for working with FCPX right now. That's great that I can record in a higher codec tho, may look into gettin an iMac over a MBPr then...or at least till the MBPr with Haswell is released. Been a laptop guy for a while now, if Haswell delivers on what it claims, I might not have to go back to desktop then
I think you should definitely look into the iMac instead for editing.

You get more for your money and a bigger screen.

There again, I guess you could just plug in an external monitor for a MBP, but that means more money.
Siderz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 12:22 PM   #11
tears2040
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siderz View Post
Yeah, I use an external FireWire 800 HDD. I bought a handy adapter from Apple last week so I could plug it into the Thunderbolt port.

I'll just use that until I have the money to get a Thunderbolt drive.



What do you mean? As in, have all the resources (Videos, project files, assets etc.) on the secondary/external drive?

----------


Yes, external HD will allow smooth playback of Pro Res files or native formats when used in other Editing programs such as Avid, Premiere, etc.

SSD for the win if possible as that is my next move.
tears2040 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 01:22 PM   #12
MattSepeta
macrumors 65816
 
MattSepeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: 375th St. Y
Send a message via AIM to MattSepeta
I have professionally edited full HD on a 2011 15" MBP, a 2011 17" MBP, and a 2010 27" iMac. The 27" iMac was hands down the fastest and easiest to edit on.

My 17" Macbook pro, 2.2 i7, 16gb RAM edits like a champ in Adobe Premiere CS6, although it gets bogged down and crashes occassionaly when working on comps with 5+ tracks. I am planning on getting a fully specced 2012 iMac as soon as the 27" is available... It will edit video famously, count on it.
__________________
busy, busy busy.
MattSepeta is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2013 27" iMac 3.2GHz i5 vs 2012 Mac Mini 2.3GHz i7 for video editing MrXiro iMac 9 Nov 8, 2013 12:57 PM
Will A 2012 Baseline iMac 21.5" Be Sufficient For Video Editing macnibblet Buying Tips and Advice 5 Jul 31, 2013 07:41 PM
brand new MacMini 2012 or used MacPro for video editing chris990 Buying Tips and Advice 1 Oct 29, 2012 06:56 PM
Can MBP 13 (2012 -- ivy 2.9GHz) handle Video Editing? mischi001 Buying Tips and Advice 6 Jun 16, 2012 11:52 AM
Video Editing on the 2012 MBP MacBookProzak Digital Video 6 Jun 15, 2012 04:21 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC