Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 28, 2012, 03:51 PM   #1
JessicaSideways
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Boulder, CO
Dvorak and the MacBook Pro Retina


Okay, so I am typing this at my local Apple Store... in QWERTY. Blegh.

I have to replace my mid-2010 MacBook Pro because it was stolen. So, I am here and looking at the 15" MacBook Pro Retina (the $2199 USD model, in case you were curious). So, I asked a sales clerk if they sold a version of the Retina with the keyboard in the Dvorak format. He had to go to the back... they don't. Fsck.

I then asked a lady who works here if I could do some jiggery pokery with the keyboard to convert the actual keys to Dvorak. She told me that the keyboard was welded to the computer and that would make it impossible to convert the keys to Dvorak. Again, fsck.

But is that true? Is it really that hopeless? Is there a way to convert the MacBook Pro Retina keyboard to Dvorak? Has anyone here done it? Is there any stumbling blocks or possible places where I might encounter some trouble doing it myself?

I've also asked locally at independent Mac repair shops and so far, no dice. They do not do keyboard remapping at the Mac Shack, a repair shop on University Hill. I am planning on going to Boulder Mac Repair and to a couple of places in Denver to see if they do this but I'm starting to think that this is something I'm going to have to DIY.
__________________
15" Retina MacBook Pro (late 2013), 2.6GHz Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, 500GB HD
27" iMac (late 2013), 3.2GHz i5, 8GB RAM (for now), 1TB HD

Last edited by stridemat; Dec 29, 2012 at 03:58 AM. Reason: Cleanup
JessicaSideways is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 03:54 PM   #2
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
How did you get your current MBP to Dvorak?
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 03:57 PM   #3
JessicaSideways
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Boulder, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
How did you get your current MBP to Dvorak?

I didn't. My ex did. And no, she wouldn't tell me. And no, she won't do it again. That is, if I had the courage to ask her again, and frankly - I don't.
__________________
15" Retina MacBook Pro (late 2013), 2.6GHz Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, 500GB HD
27" iMac (late 2013), 3.2GHz i5, 8GB RAM (for now), 1TB HD

Last edited by stridemat; Dec 29, 2012 at 04:02 AM. Reason: Cleanup
JessicaSideways is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 03:59 PM   #4
1member1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Who the **** is Dvorak ?




I took my time to read @ wikipedia and it sounds nice. why can't you use sticks on it ?
1member1 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 04:02 PM   #5
A Hebrew
macrumors 6502a
 
A Hebrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Minnesota
Google keyboard mapper for Mac to get the software you are looking for.

Edit: Or go into settings and then Keyboard settings, select DVORAK layout there.
__________________
2012 13" MacBook Air | 2012 27" iMac | iPad 3 | iPhone 5
A Hebrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 04:03 PM   #6
JessicaSideways
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Boulder, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1member1 View Post
Who the **** is Dvorak ?




I took my time to read @ wikipedia and it sounds nice. why can't you use sticks on it ?

Three words: Autistic Sensory Overload.

Same reason why I buy certain clothing (and modify certain vintage clothing so seams, tags, etc aren't nearly as obtrusive). Because if I don't, it'll bug the fsck out of me.
__________________
15" Retina MacBook Pro (late 2013), 2.6GHz Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, 500GB HD
27" iMac (late 2013), 3.2GHz i5, 8GB RAM (for now), 1TB HD

Last edited by stridemat; Dec 29, 2012 at 04:01 AM. Reason: Cleanup
JessicaSideways is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 04:05 PM   #7
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Hebrew View Post
Google keyboard mapper for Mac to get the software you are looking for.

Edit: Or go into settings and then Keyboard settings, select DORVAK layout there.
Did you read the original post? She knows how to use software to remap the keys, but it's the keys themselves that are the issue.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 04:05 PM   #8
JessicaSideways
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Boulder, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Hebrew View Post
Google keyboard mapper for Mac to get the software you are looking for.

... Out of curiousity, why would I need that? Esp. given that the Dvorak layout is included as a part of Mac OS X, so the software part is a non-issue.
__________________
15" Retina MacBook Pro (late 2013), 2.6GHz Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, 500GB HD
27" iMac (late 2013), 3.2GHz i5, 8GB RAM (for now), 1TB HD

Last edited by stridemat; Dec 29, 2012 at 04:01 AM. Reason: CLeanup
JessicaSideways is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 05:43 PM   #9
pgiguere1
macrumors 68000
 
pgiguere1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Seeing as they offer replacement keys online like those:
http://www.replacementlaptopkeys.com...op-Keys/Detail

I would be surprised there is no way to replace keys. I'm pretty sure you could just somehow pop them out and clip them back in in the order you like.

Like that: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kh88cn_rtLo

Since the rMBP has keys like on a MBA, look at around 2:00.

Last edited by pgiguere1; Dec 28, 2012 at 05:48 PM.
pgiguere1 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 05:01 AM   #10
Ploki
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Uhm. I swapped a few Qwerty to Qwertz.

It's PITA to do it for the whole layout but it can be done. You just need to pry the keys out and replace them yourself.


http://www.flickr.com/photos/stephen...7604515714260/

there is also this:
http://www.kbcovers.com/servlet/Detail?no=284


I can't remember apple ever offering a Dvorak layout out of the box?
Ploki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2013, 12:45 PM   #11
otab
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Thumbs up I've successfully converted my MBP/Retina to Dvorak

Use a plastic spudger tool to gently pry the keys off from the top, then move them where they should go and press them back down until they click back into place.

Took me about 10 minutes.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo-1.JPG
Views:	278
Size:	85.5 KB
ID:	414442  
otab is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2013, 01:05 PM   #12
wmage
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: San Francisco
Quote:
Originally Posted by otab View Post
Use a plastic spudger tool to gently pry the keys off from the top, then move them where they should go and press them back down until they click back into place.

Took me about 10 minutes.
And that's how I destroyed my right command key on my wired keyboard.
wmage is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2013, 06:02 PM   #13
leman
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmage View Post
And that's how I destroyed my right command key on my wired keyboard.
Wired keyboard uses different mechanism for fixating the keys But for the MBP, with some practice and lots of patience, its easily doable.
leman is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Releases Battery Fix SMC Firmware Update for MacBook Air, MacBook Pro and Retina MacBook Pro MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 55 Jun 18, 2014 11:39 PM
Is a Retina Macbook Pro needed for Music production or can I get by with a Non Retina PreacherKane Digital Audio 13 Nov 20, 2013 06:09 AM
Resolved: I'm Going to Sell Retina MacBook Pro and Live on Retina iPad Mini, BUT I NEED........ HappyDude20 iPad 40 Sep 2, 2013 01:09 AM
macbook pro retina trade up to the possible new macbook pro retina september 2013 tbluhp MacBook Pro 10 Aug 26, 2013 10:20 PM
High-end Non Retina Macbook pro or Base Retina Macbook pro? Votre Altesse MacBook Pro 36 Jul 13, 2012 04:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC