Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Web Design and Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 7, 2013, 11:47 AM   #1
aoitsukinosuke
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Need "Under Construction" help

I don't know how to explain this w/o sounding silly.

I just got my own domain for my start-up with my 2 partners in different countries.
Our business isn't too much based on customer logging, just informative introduction, our company, mission, etc and contact info of our locations.

Being an absolute newbie with CMS, I'm fiddling around with the cPanel of the host site. Out of a number of CMS options, I'm focusing on Joomla and Wordpress.

What I want to do is; make my own basic design until we need further professional help later. However, until we have all the information to be posted, I want my domain to show an "Under Construction" screen.

But, I want the website visible in the background with the "Under Construction" picture of my choice at the front, not just a ready made template.

Below is an example I prepared.


Is it possible to achieve that with my shallow knowledge? And if yes, which CMS should I choose?

I appreciate all the help in advance.

Last edited by aoitsukinosuke; Jan 7, 2013 at 11:59 AM.
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 12:43 PM   #2
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
No one is going to care about your under construction sign.

If you got content, show it (such as your contact, what you do), otherwise don't publicize your website yet.
Consultant is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 01:25 PM   #3
AFPoster
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
AOITS is right. Under Construction is a waste of time and it will probably make you lose potential prospects from viewing your site in the future. If you have data make it visible otherwise wait until it's complete. Showing something is better than showing nothing.
__________________
2012 15" MacBook Pro 2.3Ghz i7
iPad 2 32gb (white)
iPhone 5s 16gb x2
AFPoster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 07:02 AM   #4
960design
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Destin, FL
Agreed, NEVER post under construction.

Just put up a single page with an image, your company name and contact information.
__________________
TI-99/4A, tape cassette, 12" B&W Zenith
960design is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 10:23 AM   #5
notjustjay
macrumors 603
 
notjustjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Canada, eh?
Agreed. "Under construction" is a cliche in the web world. I remember back when sites would even post pictures of construction barricades, shovels, hard hats, and for bonus points they were even animated GIFs with pictures of little construction sign stick-men shovelling dirt. Edit: like these!

The reason it is cliche is because all web sites are ALWAYS under construction. That's sort of the point of a website, it is dynamic, and ever-changing. A good website is always being updated. The problem occurs because always, inevitably, there's one page (or worse, an entire site) that the webmaster never seems to quite get around to, and doesn't get updated for weeks, months, even years... all the while, the little animated shovel keeps flickering away...

No, take a cue from Gandalf ("a wizard is never late, nor is he early, he arrives precisely when he means to.") Your website displays what it displays. If a page isn't ready, don't publish it yet.

There are a few exceptions, for example if this is a high-profile product launch, you could generate buzz by posting a big countdown until the site is available to the public. But other than that, nobody will care -- just post what you have when it's ready.
__________________
.
notjustjay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 10:28 AM   #6
aoitsukinosuke
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I hope you guys do not take this as an insolent remark, but when I posted my message, I had already made up my mind. And was just asking for tech advice, not whether I should do it or not. Now, it's up and running.

Nevertheless, I appreciate your time and suggestions. Thank you.
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 12:45 PM   #7
notjustjay
macrumors 603
 
notjustjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Canada, eh?
Quote:
Originally Posted by aoitsukinosuke View Post
I hope you guys do not take this as an insolent remark, but when I posted my message, I had already made up my mind. And was just asking for tech advice, not whether I should do it or not. Now, it's up and running.

Nevertheless, I appreciate your time and suggestions. Thank you.
Understood, and I'm glad you found what you wanted. You are certainly free to run your website however you want, but it's worth pointing out that you posted your question in a website forum frequented by industry professionals and experienced web/graphic designers, and all four out of four (100%) respondees strongly indicated that what you wanted to do was a bad idea.

Good luck with your venture, though.
__________________
.
notjustjay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 12:54 PM   #8
aoitsukinosuke
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by notjustjay View Post
Understood, and I'm glad you found what you wanted. You are certainly free to run your website however you want, but it's worth pointing out that you posted your question in a website forum frequented by industry professionals and experienced web/graphic designers, and all four out of four (100%) respondees strongly indicated that what you wanted to do was a bad idea.

Good luck with your venture, though.
And I have full respect for their experience and opinions. This is why I posted my question here in the first place. I read what they wrote and made my decision. So the blame is on me.

Actually, what I ended up doing is design the website in such a way that people see that it has content, they see it's under construction and there is also contact info. Guess you could say that I followed their advice.
Kind of anyway.

Thank you for your concern and kind wishes and once again I hope I haven't offended anyone.
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Web Design and Development

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2010 27" iMac screen issue..."dirty", "cloudy", image retention issues MMcCraryNJ iMac 1 May 18, 2013 04:02 PM
My Logic "track expander tube" doesn't have "end tips" to grab! Whats up? kristenanne77 Digital Audio 3 Mar 28, 2013 08:15 AM
Resolved: Weird problem with keyboard mapping : LMP Bluetooth Keypad's "enter" seen as "CMD" DanRom iMac 2 Aug 24, 2012 12:27 AM
Start a new tab similar to "iOS blog" and "Mac blog" but make it "IPhone Leaks?" Dewroo Site and Forum Feedback 2 Aug 23, 2012 09:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC