Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2013, 04:55 PM   #26
jtara
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
You don't need speeds anywhere near this to stream 1080p. If you are having buffering issues, the problem lies elsewhere than your link bandwidth.

Bluray, for example, typically needs a bit less than 20mbit/sec, (although the spec allows up to 50mbit/sec, but that would be for resolutions higher than 1080p).
jtara is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 05:20 PM   #27
Pyromonkey83
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgolfpro View Post
I don't wanna hijack the thread but there seems to be a lot of knowledgeable people in here in regards to home networking. I just have one question.

When I go into the airport utility and see a list of devices connect to my airport express, I see that, for instance, my macbook has a connection speed of 130mbps. Then when I go and do a speed test I get a speed of 16mbps. How does this happen? Is the 130 just a hypothetical "max" connection speed and the 16mbps is what my actual connection is? I just wanna make sure I maximize my connection speed. Thanks
You are talking about two different connections here. When you run a speed test (on websites such at speedtest.net) you are measuring your actual internet speed, which is dependent on your ISP and what you pay for. This measures your speed outside of your local network. In your case is is approximately 16 Mb/s.

The 130 Mb/s is your speed within your network. This is only the speed between your MacBook and your router, no further. If you want to "maximize" your connection speed you would have to pay for 130 Mb/s internet through your ISP. The max so far that I have seen for residential use is 100 Mb/s through Comcast and Time Warner for about $200 a month.
Pyromonkey83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2013, 07:33 PM   #28
dduttonnc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anonymous Freak View Post
When you say "straight to my Apple TV by Ethernet", do you mean with a crossover Ethernet cable? If so, do you have one rated for Gigabit speeds? If not, then you're only getting 100 Mbps, which is slower than a good 802.11n connection. Gigabit Ethernet requires what is effectively a "double crossover" cable, in which both sets of wires are crossed over, as opposed to just the 10/100 set of wires. Hence the need for a Gigabit-rated crossover cable.

Also, are you doing the "Computers" option on the AppleTV, or are you going directly to Movies/TV Shows/Photos/etc? If you're going through Movies/TV Shows/Photos/etc, then it's using your internet connection, which is probably the slow part, rather than streaming directly from the computer.
Odd you should need cross over cables. The need should have vanished in the last 10 yrs. most modern devices handle all that internally so you don't need one. It appears the atv3 does not. Lame

But it has one antenna and has a limit of 144Mbps on wifi. With over head , signal, that's about 100Mbps. So you should see the same perf, but apple should have fixed it so no X over cable is needed.

But if the atv3 can get nearly a full 1Gps, then itunes to atv3 over ethernet would b VERY fast
dduttonnc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2013, 07:37 PM   #29
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
AppleTV's WiFi is limited to 70 Mbps, and as mentioned there's all sorts of flotsam and overhead so you'll never get those speeds anyway. Use wired Ethernet.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2013, 07:42 PM   #30
alent1234
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
crossover cables are only for specific uses like computer to computer

difference between a cross over and regular ethernet is the order of the wires
alent1234 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2013, 07:48 PM   #31
dduttonnc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromonkey83 View Post
You are talking about two different connections here. When you run a speed test (on websites such at speedtest.net) you are measuring your actual internet speed, which is dependent on your ISP and what you pay for. This measures your speed outside of your local network. In your case is is approximately 16 Mb/s.

The 130 Mb/s is your speed within your network. This is only the speed between your MacBook and your router, no further. If you want to "maximize" your connection speed you would have to pay for 130 Mb/s internet through your ISP. The max so far that I have seen for residential use is 100 Mb/s through Comcast and Time Warner for about $200 a month.
I pay 450$/month for a Twc 100/20 pipe. But that's a business account. Why? You get QOS data priority over residential data anywhere in the Twc network. So during prime time, I don't slow, my neighbors do. And if their backbone is overloaded, I won't slow as it slow residential first

But apple limits DL from iTunes and app stores to about 35-45Mbps (not per connection .. Total to your routers public IP). Many sites also have limits for DLiing. Most cap at 50Mbps

But this lets everyone in my house do stuff at once and not slow down

I now have 2 802.11ac routers, both have 2.4 radios disabled. Each runs 80mhz wide 36-48 & 149-161. The upstairs is router plus ap, downstairs is AP. Both connected by a cat 7 100Gps cable for future upgrades. Each router has a max port speed of 10gps as once 160mhz wide AC comes out, I think that's nearly 3Gps. I hired a cabling company to run a drop for me. I should have had another drop to the master bedroom and added a 4 port, 10gps switching hub. Nothing I have uses that, but I buy for the future

Upstairs, master bedroom: DVR, ps4, atv3 are wireless. Desktops wired with 10Gps cards. Upstairs runs the upper channels of the 5Ghz band in N+AC only

Lv room, downstairs: same AC router, but in AP mode. Xbox one, DVR , atv3 are wired. The ap runs in the 4 lower 5g band. I have a 3500sq FT house and the 5ghz signal doesn't make it from one floor to the next

15ft away from my house, my routers can be seen at -90db (which means I can't interfere with neighboring 5g networks)

My household has 3 iPhone 5s, 2 ipad Airs, and 1 ipad 4 which roam and need to aps. Same SSID, just different channels.

The only time 2.4 ghz is turned on is if company has a 2.4 only device
dduttonnc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2013, 08:08 PM   #32
alent1234
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
way too much to pay for this cloud thing. why not DL itunes to a computer and stream from inside your house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dduttonnc View Post
I pay 450$/month for a Twc 100/20 pipe. But that's a business account. Why? You get QOS data priority over residential data anywhere in the Twc network. So during prime time, I don't slow, my neighbors do. And if their backbone is overloaded, I won't slow as it slow residential first

But apple limits DL from iTunes and app stores to about 35-45Mbps (not per connection .. Total to your routers public IP). Many sites also have limits for DLiing. Most cap at 50Mbps

But this lets everyone in my house do stuff at once and not slow down

I now have 2 802.11ac routers, both have 2.4 radios disabled. Each runs 80mhz wide 36-48 & 149-161. The upstairs is router plus ap, downstairs is AP. Both connected by a cat 7 100Gps cable for future upgrades. Each router has a max port speed of 10gps as once 160mhz wide AC comes out, I think that's nearly 3Gps. I hired a cabling company to run a drop for me. I should have had another drop to the master bedroom and added a 4 port, 10gps switching hub. Nothing I have uses that, but I buy for the future

Upstairs, master bedroom: DVR, ps4, atv3 are wireless. Desktops wired with 10Gps cards. Upstairs runs the upper channels of the 5Ghz band in N+AC only

Lv room, downstairs: same AC router, but in AP mode. Xbox one, DVR , atv3 are wired. The ap runs in the 4 lower 5g band. I have a 3500sq FT house and the 5ghz signal doesn't make it from one floor to the next

15ft away from my house, my routers can be seen at -90db (which means I can't interfere with neighboring 5g networks)

My household has 3 iPhone 5s, 2 ipad Airs, and 1 ipad 4 which roam and need to aps. Same SSID, just different channels.

The only time 2.4 ghz is turned on is if company has a 2.4 only device
alent1234 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2013, 11:43 AM   #33
Pyromonkey83
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dduttonnc View Post
I pay 450$/month for a Twc 100/20 pipe. But that's a business account. Why? You get QOS data priority over residential data anywhere in the Twc network. So during prime time, I don't slow, my neighbors do. And if their backbone is overloaded, I won't slow as it slow residential first

But apple limits DL from iTunes and app stores to about 35-45Mbps (not per connection .. Total to your routers public IP). Many sites also have limits for DLiing. Most cap at 50Mbps

But this lets everyone in my house do stuff at once and not slow down

I now have 2 802.11ac routers, both have 2.4 radios disabled. Each runs 80mhz wide 36-48 & 149-161. The upstairs is router plus ap, downstairs is AP. Both connected by a cat 7 100Gps cable for future upgrades. Each router has a max port speed of 10gps as once 160mhz wide AC comes out, I think that's nearly 3Gps. I hired a cabling company to run a drop for me. I should have had another drop to the master bedroom and added a 4 port, 10gps switching hub. Nothing I have uses that, but I buy for the future

Upstairs, master bedroom: DVR, ps4, atv3 are wireless. Desktops wired with 10Gps cards. Upstairs runs the upper channels of the 5Ghz band in N+AC only

Lv room, downstairs: same AC router, but in AP mode. Xbox one, DVR , atv3 are wired. The ap runs in the 4 lower 5g band. I have a 3500sq FT house and the 5ghz signal doesn't make it from one floor to the next

15ft away from my house, my routers can be seen at -90db (which means I can't interfere with neighboring 5g networks)

My household has 3 iPhone 5s, 2 ipad Airs, and 1 ipad 4 which roam and need to aps. Same SSID, just different channels.

The only time 2.4 ghz is turned on is if company has a 2.4 only device
I made that post almost a year ago... Quite a bit has changed since then...

Congrats on being rich and bragging about it on the macrumors forums though!

I'm perfectly content with my 50/10 Mb/s residential class cable for $30 a month from Comcast. 99.9% uptime, and after 3 years I have never seen a speed test fall below 50 Mb/s (I generally get 56-60).
Pyromonkey83 is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UK, O2 and poor 3G performance on the iPhone 5 northernbaldy iPhone 9 Sep 10, 2014 10:28 AM
Poor journalism? Not posting news that reflects Apple in a poor light. rmwebs Site and Forum Feedback 48 May 16, 2013 11:20 PM
Poor SSD performance No Pain No Gain iMac 15 Apr 14, 2013 01:46 PM
Poor Graphic Performance after Upgrade to 10.8 brgnewman Mac Pro 10 Aug 11, 2012 04:54 AM
MBP Ethernet vs Apple Thunderbolt 27" Ethernet Performance Disparity appletechpro MacBook Pro 15 Jun 28, 2012 11:04 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC