Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 26, 2011, 06:28 AM   #1
Ctrice
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Unhappy Handbranke not encoding full length of movie

This happens to me from time, it is very rare though. I'll rip a movie with MTR and then when I encode it, the last few minutes of the film will be missing. Lets say the movie is 1h57m, the final outputted file will only be 1h53m.

Has this ever happened to anyone? Is there any way to fix this?
__________________
MacBook 2.16 GHz
Mac Pro 2.8 Quad Core
23" ACD
tv
Ctrice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2011, 08:46 AM   #2
CylonGlitch
macrumors 68030
 
CylonGlitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SoCal
This has happened to me when the studio has put multiple "copies" on the disc in an attempt to get people frustrated and not rip them. True Grit did this; there was 50+ different "versions" of the movie and only ONE that played all the way to the end. When you get the info on the disc it says that every title is the same length, thus Handbrake just pulls the first one, which is wrong.

Load the disc in DVDPlayer and look at the title # that is shown when the movie is playing, that will be the title# you need to rip.
__________________
Last edited by CylonGlitch : Tomorrow at 37:05 AM.
MRoogle
CylonGlitch is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2011, 12:06 AM   #3
xraydoc
macrumors Demi-God
 
xraydoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Top left corner
Could also be a MTR issue. Try RipIt and see if you get the same result.
__________________
3.5GHz i7 27" iMac 1.8GHz i7 11" MacBook Air 2.5GHz i5 Mac mini + 27" Thunderbolt display
4TB RAID 10 8TB RAID 0 6TB RAID 0 2TB Time Capsule ac White/silver iPhone 5S & iPad Air
xraydoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2011, 03:42 PM   #4
obsidian1200
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Albuquerque, NM
I've had similar issues with MTR in the past. I loaded the disc in DVDplayer, and it turns out the disc was corrupted in that section that handbrake either dropped or otherwise messed up on. So, it could be possible that you have the bad luck of trying to rip a damaged enough disc. You could even open the resulting VIDEO_TS folder with DVDplayer or VLC and check the end of the movie to see if it's the complete film. The error may not be on handbrake in this case.

Have you tried encoding the movie directly from the disc? Make sure that, if it's one of those discs with 99 titles on it, that you have the right title selected, as has already been mentioned.
obsidian1200 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2011, 07:37 AM   #5
Ctrice
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Thanks for the reply guys. I even tried ripping directly from the DVD, and even just ripping the main title from the disc. I even tried using DVDFab and still no luck. Could it just be because the DVD is corrupt, perhaps?

DVDFab


Handbrake


Quicktime
__________________
MacBook 2.16 GHz
Mac Pro 2.8 Quad Core
23" ACD
tv
Ctrice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2011, 05:41 PM   #6
slothrob
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
In DVDFab, it looks like you have selected Merge, instead of Full Disk or Main Movie.
slothrob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2011, 06:29 PM   #7
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
To answer the op ...

https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/Suppo...lespecificscan
dynaflash is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 07:50 AM   #8
rumin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Multiple Movies Not Copying Full

I'm downloading from DVD to HD. Then using Handbrake to convert to MP4. I'm copying a course I'm taking so I can watch them fast on VLC and to make a backup. With the whole VIDEO_TS file downloaded I use Handbrake to change over. For some reason it stopped copying the whole movie. Out of ave size of 500 MB for 1.3 hours I'm only getting 120 MB and its cut off randomly. First 4 movies no problem. Last 3 same problem. ALL chapters are checked so that's NOT the problem. Nothing changed. Computer restarted. Same problem. I even downloaded Mac the Ripper. Ripped from DVD and SAME problem. PLEASE help!!!!!!!!!
rumin is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Posts Full-Length iPad Media Event Video MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 54 Oct 23, 2013 12:49 AM
Why do full-length movies stream faster than iPhone videos? HarryKeogh Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Aug 8, 2013 03:52 AM
Graffiti: The Premiere Movie Encoding and Tagging Application bona Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Sep 6, 2012 05:15 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC