Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 9, 2013, 07:05 AM   #501
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The New World
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra Mac View Post
You can put your sewage plant next to the upgraded water station and use filter pumps for unlimited water. Or up the water in the other two cities. When selling to other cities, the units are divided by total cities in the region. For example, if I have a city selling 100 units of something to the region, and theres 4 other cities, only 25 units will be available to each. This is good and bad.
The other two cities are already pegged on water pumping and barely sending 84? whatever (going from memory right now).

I'll try putting the sewage plant next to the water plant and see how it goes.

I also saw a YouTube video that says planting trees in ground polluted areas helps, so I've been doing that too.
__________________
"Gee, I've been on this diet only ten minutes and I've already lost something, my sense of humor."
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2013, 09:36 AM   #502
Kissaragi
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra Mac View Post
You can put your sewage plant next to the upgraded water station and use filter pumps for unlimited water. Or up the water in the other two cities. When selling to other cities, the units are divided by total cities in the region. For example, if I have a city selling 100 units of something to the region, and theres 4 other cities, only 25 units will be available to each. This is good and bad.
Plus one on this. Its the only way to get a steady long term water supply.

I don't think you even need to use filtered water pumps, I've never had any pollution with the normal ones.
Kissaragi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 10:52 AM   #503
Jamie-30
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
for those of you running mavericks, and having to play simcity in -w (window mode)

There has been an update for origin and your now able to play the game full screen!
Jamie-30 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2013, 06:47 PM   #504
CyrusKafaiWu
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I recently upgraded from a 2011 Macbook Air so I am wondering what I should put as my settings for a 2013 13" 1.3ghz core i5 Macbook Air.
__________________
Current: 13" 2013 1.3ghz i5 Macbook Air 4GB, 128GB SSD
iPhone 5 16GB 2nd Gen Apple TV
Games?
CyrusKafaiWu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2013, 03:28 PM   #505
sparkyms
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southampton UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyrusKafaiWu View Post
I recently upgraded from a 2011 Macbook Air so I am wondering what I should put as my settings for a 2013 13" 1.3ghz core i5 Macbook Air.
Default/Low.
sparkyms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2013, 02:24 PM   #506
tee-tz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Totally forgot about this game being released.

So now that some Mac OS people have started playing - how is it ? Keep in mind I didn't have to endure the endless waiting, so my expectations are fairly 'normal'.

Would love to hear some more feedback on performance, graphics and game features. Hope those that waited so long to purchase it are at least enjoying now.

Thanks.
tee-tz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2013, 02:26 PM   #507
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The New World
Quote:
Originally Posted by tee-tz View Post
Totally forgot about this game being released.

So now that some Mac OS people have started playing - how is it ? Keep in mind I didn't have to endure the endless waiting, so my expectations are fairly 'normal'.

Would love to hear some more feedback on performance, graphics and game features. Hope those that waited so long to purchase it are at least enjoying now.

Thanks.
I play on medium settings and it works fine for me. It has its design flaws and gameplay issues, by design, like smaller areas and no subways among other things. but for what it does have its still fun to play - for me.
__________________
"Gee, I've been on this diet only ten minutes and I've already lost something, my sense of humor."
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2013, 08:10 AM   #508
tee-tz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
@ SandboxGeneral - Thanks...

Well I'm sold. Hoping it performs well... My specs: iMac, 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2048 MB...
__________________
iMac | Macbook Air | Mac Mini | iPhone 5 | iPad Air
tee-tz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2014, 02:05 PM   #509
Badrottie
macrumors 68030
 
Badrottie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Los Angeles
I finally bought SimCity 5 this week and I hope it will be fun for me. I haven't finished SimCity 2000 on Atari computer. It was hard to learn as a mayor!
__________________
That is OK to make fun of my poor english grammars just because you are bullying deaf people.
Badrottie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2014, 05:55 PM   #510
blacka4
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
How does it run on your system? I bought the program too and it runs like trash on my computer. So I am in need of a new system for this game.
__________________
Iphone 6+
MBP 17" 2.26GHz, 120 GB HD,1GB RAM ;Mac Mini 2.0GHz, 2GB RAM, 1TB HD Multimedia Server,Mac Pro 5,1 12core
blacka4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2014, 09:42 AM   #511
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Looks like EA is going to put in an offline mode as reported by Engadget

It seems like a desperate move born out by low sales volumes, or at least unmet sales goals. I myself have decided not to buy the game for a variety of reasons, one of which is the always on requirement. Their excuse that it needs the cloud to function is BS and it was reported shortly have the Windows release that a hacked version worked just as well w/o an internet connection.

I'm also disappointed by the fact they offer no demo or trial version and I'm not willing spend that much money on something that may not work too well. Too many reports of stability issues, even though much those have been ironed out I think
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2014, 02:34 PM   #512
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
I'm also disappointed by the fact they offer no demo or trial version and I'm not willing spend that much money on something that may not work too well. Too many reports of stability issues, even though much those have been ironed out I think
If you buy it on origin, you can get a refund if you contact them within 24 hours of your first launch of the game and it hasn't been more than seven days since you bought it.

It's good offline mode is coming, if only for the reason that it may make it easier for modders to fix the game. Not holding my breath though.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2014, 05:28 AM   #513
Sylon
macrumors 68000
 
Sylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Michigan/Ohio, USA
Just picked this game up thanks to a nice sale on Amazon and a discount code on top of that. Now it would be nice if the damn game would run. It keep getting stuck downloading the initial updates. It's crashed about a dozen times now.
__________________
2013 13" Retina MacBook Pro | 64GB iPhone 6 | 32GB iPad Air | TV
Sylon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2014, 07:40 AM   #514
ELMI0001
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Olympic Hills GC
Anyone try the new offline mode?

Sim City Offline Mode

I'm interested to know what everyone thinks.

I've been waiting to buy a new Mac for 2 reasons
1.) Updated Mac Mini - to decide if I go that route or MacBook Pro/iMac
2.) Sim City 5 offline mode.
__________________
Al-MacBook, 13-inch, Late 2008, C2D 2.0ghz, 4gb ram, 500 gb SSD; 32gb iPhone 5S, blue nano; iPad (3rd Gen); Apple TV(3rd Gen)
ELMI0001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2014, 10:51 AM   #515
garnerx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I haven't tried it yet - I'm waiting for somebody to mod it to increase the city size.

That was the biggest problem with it, for me. Online / offline makes no difference to me, but I quickly ran out of space in every city I made. Once you've added the garbage dumps, power stations, water pumps, storage depots, and all of the other stuff needed to make the city function, there's very little space left.

Offloading various utilities to another city never seemed to work properly, and it was annoying to have to switch between them to find out why you've run out of power or the garbage isn't being collected.

I played it for over 50 hours before giving up, so it's definitely a good game, but I'd only come back to it if I could have a single massive city.
garnerx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2014, 11:04 AM   #516
ELMI0001
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Olympic Hills GC
Quote:
Originally Posted by garnerx View Post
I haven't tried it yet - I'm waiting for somebody to mod it to increase the city size.

That was the biggest problem with it, for me. Online / offline makes no difference to me, but I quickly ran out of space in every city I made. Once you've added the garbage dumps, power stations, water pumps, storage depots, and all of the other stuff needed to make the city function, there's very little space left.

Offloading various utilities to another city never seemed to work properly, and it was annoying to have to switch between them to find out why you've run out of power or the garbage isn't being collected.

I played it for over 50 hours before giving up, so it's definitely a good game, but I'd only come back to it if I could have a single massive city.
I can see that. I played SC a lot growing up and just recently jumped back into SC4 while waiting for this version to get mature enough to play. Sometimes I felt like the cities were too large in SC4. I guess I'll know for sure once I dive into SC5.
__________________
Al-MacBook, 13-inch, Late 2008, C2D 2.0ghz, 4gb ram, 500 gb SSD; 32gb iPhone 5S, blue nano; iPad (3rd Gen); Apple TV(3rd Gen)
ELMI0001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2014, 11:07 AM   #517
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by ELMI0001 View Post
Anyone try the new offline mode?

Sim City Offline Mode

I'm interested to know what everyone thinks.

I've been waiting to buy a new Mac for 2 reasons
1.) Updated Mac Mini - to decide if I go that route or MacBook Pro/iMac
2.) Sim City 5 offline mode.
Is this update for the OSX version as well as windows?
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2014, 12:12 PM   #518
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
Is this update for the OSX version as well as windows?
Yes.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2014, 12:57 PM   #519
ELMI0001
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Olympic Hills GC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougarcat View Post
Yes.
Had a chance to play with it yet? Do you like it?
__________________
Al-MacBook, 13-inch, Late 2008, C2D 2.0ghz, 4gb ram, 500 gb SSD; 32gb iPhone 5S, blue nano; iPad (3rd Gen); Apple TV(3rd Gen)
ELMI0001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2014, 06:36 PM   #520
garnerx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I just updated it and had a quick go. Seems it's exactly the same but you get the option to manually save your city or save a new copy of it, which would be useful if you wanted to invoke a disaster and smash the place up for fun, or revert to a previous version.

It's still divided into tiny squares of buildable land within larger regions, though. That's the only thing wrong with it. You have to decide on one industry or business for your city, as there's no room for anything else. And if you want the raw materials to make that industry grow, you have to set up other cities. One region, half a dozen bite-size micro-cities, all managed by one player.
garnerx is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Store is down [5th Apr 2013 - MERGED] lewdvig Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 16 Apr 5, 2013 07:09 AM
SimCity 2013 will it work on my MacBook Pro 2009 in Windows 7? melman101 MacBook Pro 22 Apr 4, 2013 07:38 AM
First Look at the New SimCity, Coming February 2013 MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 129 Mar 17, 2013 10:16 AM
New SimCity Coming to Mac in February 2013 MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 157 Mar 14, 2013 07:20 AM
Apple Store Down - 27 Feb 2013 [Merged] carl0sian Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 39 Feb 28, 2013 06:44 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC