Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 30, 2013, 09:09 PM   #1
RoastingPig
macrumors 65816
 
RoastingPig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SoCal
Send a message via AIM to RoastingPig
CPU Core 0 30-35 degrees hotter

Just a Quick Question im on a 5.1 quad core 2.8 mac pro with istat and im wondering why my CPU Core 0 "runs at 136 degrees at idle" is always 30-35 degrees hotter than CPU A Tdiode wich runs at 98 degrees on idle and CPU Heatsink wich runs at 93 degrees on idle?
__________________
Mac Pro 6 Core D700*, Retina 13 256gb/8gb 5000
RoastingPig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 10:16 PM   #2
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoastingPig View Post
Just a Quick Question im on a 5.1 quad core 2.8 mac pro with istat and im wondering why my CPU Core 0 "runs at 136 degrees at idle" is always 30-35 degrees hotter than CPU A Tdiode wich runs at 98 degrees on idle and CPU Heatsink wich runs at 93 degrees on idle?
It could be any one or a combination of many things including:
  1. the accuracy of one or more sensors,
  2. the difference in placement of one or more sensors,
  3. the scheduler bias of one CPU over another,
  4. the heat sink fins are dirty in one area more than another,
  5. the thermal paste was applied differently on one or the other,
  6. the airflow volume favors one over the other.
and so on.

If I were to guess I would accuse numbers 1, 2, and 6 as being the most responsible - especially number 6. And you should be able to tell if it's number 6 I would think... After awhile number 6 will cause a number 4 condition to appear.
Tesselator is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 10:19 PM   #3
rabidz7
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoastingPig View Post
Just a Quick Question im on a 5.1 quad core 2.8 mac pro with istat and im wondering why my CPU Core 0 "runs at 136 degrees at idle" is always 30-35 degrees hotter than CPU A Tdiode wich runs at 98 degrees on idle and CPU Heatsink wich runs at 93 degrees on idle?
This sounds like it may be thermal paste.
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 10:48 PM   #4
RoastingPig
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
RoastingPig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SoCal
Send a message via AIM to RoastingPig
i still have applecare until september you think i should take it in?
__________________
Mac Pro 6 Core D700*, Retina 13 256gb/8gb 5000
RoastingPig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 11:46 PM   #5
RoastingPig
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
RoastingPig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SoCal
Send a message via AIM to RoastingPig
Im coming towards the end of my applecare and i want at least one thing to get replaced never had too




Here are the readings im getting

Last edited by RoastingPig; Jul 1, 2013 at 02:02 AM.
RoastingPig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 12:07 PM   #6
RoastingPig
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
RoastingPig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SoCal
Send a message via AIM to RoastingPig
Any suggestions on what i should do?
RoastingPig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 12:42 PM   #7
Studio K
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoastingPig View Post
Any suggestions on what i should do?
What exactly is the 'CPU0 Relative to...' reading?

I can't remember what mine is, but I noticed that it goes down as Tdiode rises.

I mostly pay attention to Temp Diode and individual Cores (readable using Temperature Montior app). I've no idea what this Relative reading is supposed to be. Hopefully someone on the forum has knowledge about this. I'd love to know.
Studio K is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 01:54 PM   #8
pastrychef
macrumors 68020
 
pastrychef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York City, NY
Sometimes I see about a 20F difference between CPU A and B. Sometimes A is hotter, sometimes B. I've never had any problems with stability on my Mac Pro.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.2x8 - 48GB - GTX 680 - Crucial M4 SSD - Dell 3007WFP-HC
Alu MacBook 5,1 2GHz C2D - 8GB - 9400M
Mac mini 2.33GHz C2D - 4GB - GMA950 - 2 Drobos - SS4200 (unRAID)
iPhone 5 + iPhone 4 S⃣
pastrychef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 02:11 PM   #9
Studio K
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastrychef View Post
Sometimes I see about a 20F difference between CPU A and B. Sometimes A is hotter, sometimes B. I've never had any problems with stability on my Mac Pro.
I don't know if the 'Relative' reading is to do with 2-processor setups. Mabye it is.
The OP and I are using single-processor Mac Pros. Yet we still get a temperature reading for this.
Studio K is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 02:14 PM   #10
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Studio K View Post
What exactly is the 'CPU0 Relative to...' reading?

I can't remember what mine is, but I noticed that it goes down as Tdiode rises.

I mostly pay attention to Temp Diode and individual Cores (readable using Temperature Montior app). I've no idea what this Relative reading is supposed to be. Hopefully someone on the forum has knowledge about this. I'd love to know.
What might make sense is "xxx Relative to Ambient" ... i.e. the temperature rise of the part over nominal.

Perhaps the OP can revisit that screen and see if it is possible to pull it wider to get the whole line of text.
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 02:24 PM   #11
RoastingPig
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
RoastingPig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SoCal
Send a message via AIM to RoastingPig
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
What might make sense is "xxx Relative to Ambient" ... i.e. the temperature rise of the part over nominal.

Perhaps the OP can revisit that screen and see if it is possible to pull it wider to get the whole line of text.
it says CPU A, Core 0 Relative to Prochot
__________________
Mac Pro 6 Core D700*, Retina 13 256gb/8gb 5000
RoastingPig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 02:30 PM   #12
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoastingPig View Post
it says CPU A, Core 0 Relative to Prochot
What's a "Prochot"?


Prochot
Prochot is a village and municipality in Žiar nad Hronom District in the Banská Bystrica Region of central Slovakia.


or maybe this:
http://www.overclock.net/t/275776/tj...rmtrip-prochot
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 02:32 PM   #13
RoastingPig
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
RoastingPig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SoCal
Send a message via AIM to RoastingPig
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
What's a "Prochot"?


Prochot
Prochot is a village and municipality in Žiar nad Hronom District in the Banská Bystrica Region of central Slovakia.


or maybe this:
http://www.overclock.net/t/275776/tj...rmtrip-prochot
i have no clue but it has me worried
__________________
Mac Pro 6 Core D700*, Retina 13 256gb/8gb 5000
RoastingPig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 02:37 PM   #14
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoastingPig View Post
i have no clue but it has me worried
Back in the Pentium days it was a CPU pin which would go active on "Processor Hot" ... perhaps Intel still uses that term (and pin) today?

The extreme temperature you are seeing only on one location, assuming all continues to run OK, sounds like a faulty sensor to me.
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 02:57 PM   #15
RoastingPig
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
RoastingPig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SoCal
Send a message via AIM to RoastingPig
I wonder if that sensor being bad can cause my fans to act all wonky
RoastingPig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 03:01 PM   #16
Studio K
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
Back in the Pentium days it was a CPU pin which would go active on "Processor Hot" ... perhaps Intel still uses that term (and pin) today?

The extreme temperature you are seeing only on one location, assuming all continues to run OK, sounds like a faulty sensor to me.
Perhaps the Relative to ProcHot is the number of Degrees F or C that you are FROM the maximum allowable temperature (TJmax?). My Prochot number DECREASES as my Tdiode increases.
That would put your T Diode's maximum 'safe' temperature at 234F (or 111C) more or less (91F + 143F). I presume that this is the temperature at which your system would shut itself down to prevent damage from overheating.

I always understood that anything above 100C was too hot.
If all of this is the case, then the high number that you see (for Relative to Prochot) is possibly a good thing.

Try stress-testing the CPU and see what the 'CPUA Relative' temperature does. Open Terminal and type: yes > /dev/null &

Do several of these until your CPU cores are being heavily utilised.
To stop the testing, type: killall yes

Last edited by Studio K; Jul 1, 2013 at 03:05 PM. Reason: clarification
Studio K is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 03:25 PM   #17
RoastingPig
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
RoastingPig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SoCal
Send a message via AIM to RoastingPig
When i stress the cpu and the temp rises the prochot goes down. I understand now thats how much more degress the cpu can handle...does anyone else have that feature i have the latest update to istat wich i think is 4.06

Quote:
Originally Posted by Studio K View Post
Perhaps the Relative to ProcHot is the number of Degrees F or C that you are FROM the maximum allowable temperature (TJmax?). My Prochot number DECREASES as my Tdiode increases.
That would put your T Diode's maximum 'safe' temperature at 234F (or 111C) more or less (91F + 143F). I presume that this is the temperature at which your system would shut itself down to prevent damage from overheating.

I always understood that anything above 100C was too hot.
If all of this is the case, then the high number that you see (for Relative to Prochot) is possibly a good thing.

Try stress-testing the CPU and see what the 'CPUA Relative' temperature does. Open Terminal and type: yes > /dev/null &

Do several of these until your CPU cores are being heavily utilised.
To stop the testing, type: killall yes
RoastingPig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 03:36 PM   #18
Studio K
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoastingPig View Post
When i stress the cpu and the temp rises the prochot goes down. I understand now thats how much more degress the cpu can handle...does anyone else have that feature i have the latest update to istat wich i think is 4.06
What sort of temperatures did you see in iStat when stressing the cpu?
What was your CPU T diode? And what was the Relative to....?
Studio K is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 03:56 PM   #19
RoastingPig
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
RoastingPig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SoCal
Send a message via AIM to RoastingPig
when stressing with cinebench cpu test

__________________
Mac Pro 6 Core D700*, Retina 13 256gb/8gb 5000
RoastingPig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 06:13 PM   #20
Studio K
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Here are my Cinebench results.
My temperatures are higher than yours, so I am the one that needs to be concerned.
You topped out at 60C with no increase in fan speed.
I only STOPPED at 72C because the CPU fans were going faster. And because the test was short.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-07-01 at 7.07.09 PM.png
Views:	29
Size:	420.4 KB
ID:	420967  
Studio K is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 07:01 PM   #21
Studio K
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I am paying close attention to my CPU temps because I've just replaced my W3520 processor with a W3570.
I am concerned that my choice of thermal paste and/or my method of applying it may be contributing to these higher temperatures.

I used Noctua NT-H1 paste.

I would like to see others in the forum who've swapped CPU's in their quad-core Mac Pros post their CPU temps and share their choice of thermal paste.
I'm beginning to wonder if Apple's thermal grease is particularly optimised to work with their heatsink. And that applying any other random thermal paste will not yield the same quality of cooling.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoastingPig View Post
Just a Quick Question im on a 5.1 quad core 2.8 mac pro with istat and im wondering why my CPU Core 0 "runs at 136 degrees at idle" is always 30-35 degrees hotter than CPU A Tdiode wich runs at 98 degrees on idle and CPU Heatsink wich runs at 93 degrees on idle?
Is your machine a quad-core? Your sig says 12-core.
I am a single processor, quad-core. Are you dual-processor?
Studio K is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 07:45 PM   #22
RoastingPig
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
RoastingPig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SoCal
Send a message via AIM to RoastingPig
I just picked up this quad from a friend on the cheap and intend to flip on a later date..my 12 core is for home use and on the version of istat i have on that machine that reading dosent even show up on the menus
RoastingPig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 08:06 PM   #23
Studio K
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoastingPig View Post
I just picked up this quad from a friend on the cheap and intend to flip on a later date..my 12 core is for home use and on the version of istat i have on that machine that reading dosent even show up on the menus
I notice that all of your temperature readings are lower than mine. Ambient is lower and hard drives are all considerably lower.

My room termperature is 79-80F. What's it like where you live? Do you live in a cold climate?

--------
I can't imagine buying a 2010 Mac Pro 'on the cheap'? Mine's a 2009 I picked up used, but I still wouldn't say it was inexpensive. Just a lot less than it's original new price.
Studio K is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 08:50 PM   #24
RoastingPig
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
RoastingPig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SoCal
Send a message via AIM to RoastingPig
I got it for 700 ..im in L.A its pretty hot today like 90 but on average like 80 and in my room like 75


Quote:
Originally Posted by Studio K View Post
I notice that all of your temperature readings are lower than mine. Ambient is lower and hard drives are all considerably lower.

My room termperature is 79-80F. What's it like where you live? Do you live in a cold climate?

--------
I can't imagine buying a 2010 Mac Pro 'on the cheap'? Mine's a 2009 I picked up used, but I still wouldn't say it was inexpensive. Just a lot less than it's original new price.
RoastingPig is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rMBP 15" idle CPU idling at 65-70 degrees? DaSal MacBook Pro 6 Mar 2, 2014 02:44 AM
Two Retinas running same software, one is 30 degrees F hotter? heythisisdave MacBook Pro 6 Jan 21, 2013 10:35 AM
47 Degrees Celsius diff between heatsink and CPU? TheRdungeon MacBook Pro 14 Jan 17, 2013 09:14 AM
Mid 2007 iMac CPU upgrade: Core 2 Duo to Core 2 Extreme or Core 2 Quad Hexley iMac 2 Dec 9, 2012 09:56 AM
My 2009 MBP's CPU is running at 80 degrees for no reason ViolentHero MacBook Pro 0 Jun 13, 2012 11:48 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC