Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 10, 2012, 08:06 AM   #1
Mattjeff
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Send a message via AIM to Mattjeff
Is a Raid 0 right for me?

I bought a 2012 Mini 2.6 i7 Quad and currently have 2 x 256 SSDs up and running in it. I have my startup disk backed up via time machine but don't know the best way to implement the extra storage space on my second drive. I would like to run media and possibly the larger game Apps on the second but i want it backed up as well and Time Machine only backs up the one disk (that I'm aware).

I would also love to install windows on here using bootcamp but I have no idea how to handle that with 2 drives in the mini because I have always just had my MBP with one drive.

Should/how would I do all this? I have never done a Raid of any kind but it looks like a 0 backed up on time machine might be what I need.
__________________
MrJ
Mattjeff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 08:13 AM   #2
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
What is the purpose of STRIPING the two drives together - what are you looking to do? There may be other solutions such as setting up the drives as JBOD instead of RAID 0
maflynn is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:30 PM   #3
Mattjeff
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Send a message via AIM to Mattjeff
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
What is the purpose of STRIPING the two drives together - what are you looking to do? There may be other solutions such as setting up the drives as JBOD instead of RAID 0
I don't know any solutions to be honest. I want to keep movies, music, photos and larger games on the second drive I just installed but I want it to be backed up. I read that Raid 0 makes the two drives into one and that time machine can back it up as one.
... However I'm also reading that it "messes up" trim and I should avoid Raiding SSDs.
I'm relatively new to SSDs and Raid so help is very welcome.
__________________
MrJ
Mattjeff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:51 PM   #4
KScottMyers
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattjeff View Post
I bought a 2012 Mini 2.6 i7 Quad and currently have 2 x 256 SSDs up and running in it. I have my startup disk backed up via time machine but don't know the best way to implement the extra storage space on my second drive. I would like to run media and possibly the larger game Apps on the second but i want it backed up as well and Time Machine only backs up the one disk (that I'm aware).

I would also love to install windows on here using bootcamp but I have no idea how to handle that with 2 drives in the mini because I have always just had my MBP with one drive.

Should/how would I do all this? I have never done a Raid of any kind but it looks like a 0 backed up on time machine might be what I need.
RAID 0 would really fly in your setup. As you can see from the OWC article - the read and write speeds are pretty impressive. http://wp.me/pmPaT-2Vq

I use to run this way in my mini, but have now gone to one 480GB SSD and one 1TB drive for extra space.

A few things to consider when using RAID 0.

- You lose the ability to have the recovery partition
- FileVault in not compatible with RAID volumes
- If one drive fails, the whole volume is toast
- You get one single partition - 500GB in your case
- BootCamp is not supported on RAID drives

If your looking for speed - its about as fast as it gets.

Search the forum for how-to's - its pretty easy.
KScottMyers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 05:00 PM   #5
COrocket
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
If you do RAID 0 them together, I'd recommend keeping a bootable backup in case one of the SSD's fail. Your chance of drive failure essentially doubles because the entire thing fails if either SSD goes bad. There is no reason you can't RAID them, plenty of people have done it. One thing to note is that TRIM is not enabled on SSD's that didn't come from Apple with the computer. The computer I'm running uses a single SSD and I use a program called Trim Enabler http://www.groths.org/?page_id=322 to enable this feature. You could try using it if you choose to RAID them together.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini - i7 Quad Core 2.3 GHz - 16GB RAM - 128 GB SSD
COrocket is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 05:21 PM   #6
Exodist
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Buenavista, Agusan Del Norte, Philippines
I have used many RAID setups via many OS's. RAID0 is actually not RAID but just stripped disc. The benefit is it effectively doubles your SATA bandwidth and over all performance to a degree. I did have a 4 disc array in my gaming PC and the 4 drives ran ruffly 380r/370w with 4 WD Blue SATA2 drives, alone they ran about 90MB/s. However there is no redundancy to protect your data if one disc fails, the entire stripped array goes down and in most cases all data is lost. I use this often, but I make frequent backups. I also dont know about OSX but Linux based system dont work well with SSD RAID due to TRIM support. Cant remember if windows is to hot with it as well when in RAID Arrays. But since I cant comment on OSX, I will leave that part up to your or a local expert to comment on. But its something I would keep in mind. Now RAID1 will mirror both drives, sadly performance is that of one drive. Also not effective in a MacMini as you still have to shut the system down to replace the drive if it fails, also you make backups anyway. Only practical on small yet important servers. All the other RAID arrays require 3 or more drives. Here is a link to wikipedia that will explain more in detail http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RAID
Exodist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 05:33 PM   #7
niteflyr
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southern Cal
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattjeff View Post
I would like to run media and possibly the larger game Apps on the second but i want it backed up as well and Time Machine only backs up the one disk (that I'm aware).
Time machine should back up everything. It has options to exclude stuff you don't need backed up.

Quote:
I would also love to install windows on here using bootcamp but I have no idea how to handle that with 2 drives in the mini because I have always just had my MBP with one drive.
I haven't used bootcamp. I use Parallels to run Windows. However, it's my understanding that bootcamp sets up it's own partition.
niteflyr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 06:29 PM   #8
Mattjeff
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Send a message via AIM to Mattjeff
Quote:
Originally Posted by niteflyr View Post
Time machine should back up everything. It has options to exclude stuff you don't need backed up.



I haven't used bootcamp. I use Parallels to run Windows. However, it's my understanding that bootcamp sets up it's own partition.
Thanks for the help everyone. It would seem that my Time Machine does in fact back up both already. If I run boot camp on my mini it shouldn't erase anything correct? it just creates a new partition on the one drive? its been a few year since I did it. I would just want 80GB on my boot drive.

I have decided not to do the Raid 0. I get 406r/472w already and I think I have all my programs (aperture, iTunes and such) pointed to their respective files correctly.
__________________
MrJ
Mattjeff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 06:38 PM   #9
MattSepeta
macrumors 65816
 
MattSepeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: 375th St. Y
Send a message via AIM to MattSepeta
based on the initial question I will assume you do not need the speed increase.
I would look into a SPAN or JBOD option instead. No need risking your data for speed boosts you will NOT notice. WILL NOT NOTICE.

Also, using an internal SSD for backup is not optimal. What if your computer drops in a puddle? Your main and your backup are gone... Invest in a cheapo USB 3 external HDD and use that for your time machine. Keep it in a safe or firevault
__________________
busy, busy busy.
MattSepeta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 06:24 PM   #10
ModernMan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattjeff View Post
I bought a 2012 Mini 2.6 i7 Quad and currently have 2 x 256 SSDs up and running in it. I have my startup disk backed up via time machine but don't know the best way to implement the extra storage space on my second drive. I would like to run media and possibly the larger game Apps on the second but i want it backed up as well and Time Machine only backs up the one disk (that I'm aware).

I would also love to install windows on here using bootcamp but I have no idea how to handle that with 2 drives in the mini because I have always just had my MBP with one drive.

Should/how would I do all this? I have never done a Raid of any kind but it looks like a 0 backed up on time machine might be what I need.
One my 2012 Mac Mini with two 256G SSDs I used diskutil cs (CoreStorage) to create one big logical volume consisting of the two SSDs. So, they just look like one big drive: I can have whatever partitions I like, simple TM backup, and also use FileVault. I don't think Raid sets can be FileVaulted.

You'll need to use diskutil from the command line in terminal. Google osx corestorage to see all the cool stuff you can do. Standard disclaimers apply.
ModernMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 07:28 PM   #11
Yebubbleman
macrumors 68020
 
Yebubbleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattjeff View Post
I bought a 2012 Mini 2.6 i7 Quad and currently have 2 x 256 SSDs up and running in it. I have my startup disk backed up via time machine but don't know the best way to implement the extra storage space on my second drive. I would like to run media and possibly the larger game Apps on the second but i want it backed up as well and Time Machine only backs up the one disk (that I'm aware).

I would also love to install windows on here using bootcamp but I have no idea how to handle that with 2 drives in the mini because I have always just had my MBP with one drive.

Should/how would I do all this? I have never done a Raid of any kind but it looks like a 0 backed up on time machine might be what I need.
Time Machine actually backs up both drives. I thought once, as you did, that it didn't, and I made a RAID 0 on my former Mid 2010 Mac mini Server so I could use the two 500GB drives as a single 1TB volume, thinking that I had to in order for Time Machine to back it up, but that's apparently not the case. At least, it isn't in OS X 10.7 Lion and newer. If you want the convenience of one volume, a RAID 0 is a good idea, plus it'll make the combination of the two SSDs that much faster. Though, that's much more of a reason to have a good Time Machine back-up. Otherwise, it's not necessary.
__________________
MacBook Pro (15" Mid 2012); PC Tower (3.4GHz Phenom II x4; Radeon HD 6850); 5th Gen iPod touch; 2nd and 3rd Gen tv; iPad Air Verizon; Galaxy S5 Verizon
"Don't Cry, Eat Pie"
Yebubbleman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 10:49 AM   #12
Pie Chips Salad
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Do it ! I did it with the same machine and have 800 MBs read write speeds. However you NEED to make a back up clone of your main server hd using super duper on an external drive. Very easy to do. Then make the raid zero hitting cmd r in recovery mode disk utility . Then boot the computer back up on your external hd by pressing option key at the chime on restart. Then clone the hd back to your raid zero that you made in recovery mode. Then restart your comp and in settings select your start up disk so it finds the disk straight away! It's fantastic raid 0 !
Pie Chips Salad is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2nd & 3rd drives in software raid... will I lose the raid if i reinstall my OS? ASFx Mac Pro 2 May 1, 2014 05:40 PM
Replacing a dead g-tech raid with an external RAID? SpastikMonkii Digital Video 16 Jul 19, 2013 07:47 AM
How to check if a RAID enclosure is working as RAID savedave Mac Peripherals 7 May 30, 2013 11:45 AM
G-Raid w/ Thunderbolt - RAID 1, discs swappable? james*b Mac Peripherals 1 May 25, 2013 08:46 PM
RAID Firewire 800 vs RAID USB 3.0 (5400RPM) LeandrodaFL Mac Peripherals 4 Mar 3, 2013 09:59 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC