Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 15, 2009, 05:10 PM   #1
samiwas
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Guest-Tek hotel internet sucks

I am on my second week in a hotel in Chicago, where their "High Speed Internet Service" is provided by Guest-Tek. Good God, I have never used a more painfully slow internet service since I was on 2400 baud dialup in 1993.

Just to load this forum took 93 seconds. For a FORUM. It's freakin' TEXT...and it took 93 seconds to load. Google Maps is almost unusable, and forget even trying to go to speedtest.net to test the speed...the page can't even load after about 4 minutes of letting it sit there.

I called the front desk, and even Guest-Tek's service tech, all of whom said the service was working just fine and as it's supposed to. The tech asked me to load cnn.com and see how long it took. After about 30 seconds, I said it was done, and he said "Yeah, then everything is fine..that's about right". So that's what counts for high-speed in their world I guess.

I realize the service is free, but give me a break. Bandwidth is not that expensive...I'd even be willing to pay a few dollars (although not the $15 a night those swanky hotels charge for just-as-useless internet).

Damn..another week of this crap.
samiwas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2009, 05:25 PM   #2
aethelbert
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NRW, Germany
Rant puppet agrees. Here's to seeing how slow youtube is on your connection.
aethelbert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 07:27 AM   #3
jimmc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by samiwas View Post
I am on my second week in a hotel in Chicago

I realize the service is free, but give me a break. \
It isn't "free", it's a cost you paid with your hotel room. If your hot water wasn't hot, or your phone only allowed you to hear every fifth word, you'd go and kick their ass.

This is a Hyatt, I assume? I'm having the same kind of problems with Guest Tek. Plus Mac users are blocked from VPN access, while Windoze users can login just fine. Guest Tek's management doesn't give a crap.
jimmc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 07:46 AM   #4
yg17
macrumors G5
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Quote:
Originally Posted by samiwas View Post
I realize the service is free, but give me a break.
It's not that....I've stayed at hotels with free internet and it's been great. I bet if you were paying for it, it would still suck, but management may be forced to listen to your complaints since you're paying.
__________________
Barack Obama is not a foreign born, brown skinned, anti-war socialist who gives away healthcare. You're thinking of Jesus.
yg17 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 08:02 AM   #5
Eraserhead
macrumors G4
 
Eraserhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: UK
Free internet is often bad, though I'd expect more from a Hyatt or something of that class.
Eraserhead is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 09:21 AM   #6
amcoffice
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Guest-Tek still horrible after all these years

Three years since the last post, and Guest-Tek hotel internet is still horrible. I travel around the world on business, and no one has worse internet service than Guest-Tek. Guest-Tek knows it's bad, and it just doesn't care. I have over 10 "case numbers" from the past 3-4 years at the hotel with Guest-Tek with the same problem.......SLOW, even at 3am when there are presumably very few people connected. Here's the kicker - hotel charges extra to use crappy Guest-Tek internet. I always refuse to pay for Guest-Tek, because it's ALWAYS unacceptable service. Usually end up going to a some fast food joint in the area and get much better wi-fi for free. Maybe enough complaints will get this hotel to cancel Guest-Tek or force Guest-Tek to fix the problems. Probably not, but worth a try.
amcoffice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2013, 04:06 AM   #7
amdose
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Hi, as a former guest-tek employee I can say:

Guys really? Internet connection at the hotel is not like - there is the provider as guest-tek and you - the receiver.
First of all, guest-tek is not the internet provider!!!!! The provider is for example Time Warner Cable or Windstream. The speed of the internet connection the hotel has, is not up to Guest-tek, is up to hotel management. Guest-tek may only suggest what should it be, hotel decides, hotel pays for it.

Guest-tek is just the support for the hotel equipment as routers, servers etc. Still, they suggest the hotel what they should buy to make it all working smooth, yet hotel decides. For example guest tek suggest 5 routers per floor, hotel buys 3 (30 floors x 5 routers = 150 routers, hotel buys 90 routers - 60% total price).

What is more - there are some routers at the hotel. If one of them fails, it needs to be restarted, or replaced by the new one. And guess what... Guest tek can basically only reboot the router if it is accessible. If not, hotel staff should do this, and if necessary replace it with the new one (it's their cost!)

What else - guest tek provides the login page of the hotel, but the hotel's front desk keeps the register. If front desk misspell anything, you will not be able to log in to the system. Ofc guest-tek fault Call them and moan.

Just to make you imagine it all better:
You are the the cashier at some chain supermarket. Customesrs are blaming you that food you are selling has bad quality, prices are too high, there is no parking space in front of the shop, air conditioning is not working etc. I'm a fc*n shopkeeper not the owner! I do not decide of any of this stuff. I can just suggest to the manager...

Advise:
If it is like - the internet is working good, and after a day or two it got reeeeealllyyy slooooww, call guest-tek, they will deal with it. But if you are staying in ESA and try using free internet, you will be receiving *****.
If you cannot connect on your laptop, check if your phone can connect. If not, call them. Try doing the basics first, such as rebooting the laptop, checking if you have any wireless switch on it etc, that will make them solve the issue faster.

blame more

heh people
amdose is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2013, 04:27 AM   #8
NewbieCanada
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
When you put your name on something, don't be surprised when people blame you for its shortcomings.
__________________
nMP 6-core, D500, 32 GB, 1 TB rMBP 13" '13 2.4 gHz, 256 GB, 8GB Mini '11 i7, 256 GB SSD & 750 GB HDD, 16GB iPhone 5 64GB iPad Air 128
NewbieCanada is offline   1 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cupertino Hotel Adds Apple TVs to Guest Rooms MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 39 Feb 28, 2014 07:48 AM
Torrents at hotel dukebound85 Community Discussion 6 Sep 24, 2013 10:49 AM
Sharing guest machine's internet connection with host sa3er OS X 0 Dec 22, 2012 10:25 AM
Airprint from a hotel / without internet connection. Will an ad hoc network work? mike lane Mac Peripherals 0 Nov 21, 2012 12:27 PM
My Apartment Complex's Internet Sucks bucknasty12 Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 7 Aug 29, 2012 10:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC