Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 2, 2012, 03:15 PM   #1
jamilea
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Replace 7300 on Mac Pro 1st gen with osx 10.6

which cards can we substitute for the specs in my topic title?
jamilea is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 03:41 PM   #2
Neodym
macrumors 6502a
 
Neodym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Depends on what you need / expect. If you can live without a bootscreen and don't need Apple's DVD player or steam games (both of the latter can be solved by installing an additional .kext), you can e.g. put a standard PC 6850/6870 in there (provided you purchase the required power cable(s) as well). Required: 10.6.8

You can also go for the original Apple 5770, which is more expensive than the cards mentioned above, but shows a boot screen and is running in the 1,1 despite Apple claiming it's only for later revisions.

Other options (XT1900, 8800GT and what else has been available in the MP officially from Apple) may not be that interesting for one reason or the other, but could be an option as well - sometimes flashing a graphic card or installing additional software may be required, though.
Neodym is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 04:20 PM   #3
BitterCreek
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Denver
The best is either the 5770, 8800GT or X1900. Either will be significantly better than your old card.
BitterCreek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 07:47 PM   #4
jamilea
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Thanks sooooo much. $250 got us a 5770 from the apple store but we needed it today for work purposes. Hooked it up and it worked!

Only thing is it only had one monitor port so we have to get adapters for the mini ports to hook up another monitor. Hopefully that wont be expensive lol ugh. What a nightmare this was.Im so glad I posted here to ask. Apple kept telling usthey dont carry a card compatible with Mac Pro 1 so finally I said we didnt really care what they thought was compatible, that we are purchasing the 5770 from them, end of story. We werent asking them what they thought was compatible.
jamilea is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 07:59 AM   #5
tyr2
macrumors 6502a
 
tyr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Leeds, UK
Be careful with getting the right adapters when using a Apple retail 5770 in a Mac Pro 1,1 if you want to use 3 monitors.

Using MDP->VGA adapters works, however if I remember rightly using MDP->DVI adapters doesn't work when driving 3 monitors. Maybe dual link adapters would work but they cost a fortune.

If you just want to drive 2 monitors then using the regular DVI port and either type of MDP adapter works.
tyr2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC