Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 4, 2012, 02:37 PM   #1
cube
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
Mac App Store SNEAKY

So, Mac App Store says 1 OSX update available.

I see it's the RAW compatibility package, so I click "upgrade"

Then I see it also says ", iTunes 11"

Too late.

I DID NOT WANT ITUNES 11.

This is BS. With Software Update one could choose which components to install, and Mac App Store gave the impression it was the same.
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 02:51 PM   #2
prisstratton
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube View Post
So, Mac App Store says 1 OSX update available.

I see it's the RAW compatibility package, so I click "upgrade"

Then I see it also says ", iTunes 11"

Too late.

I DID NOT WANT ITUNES 11.

This is BS. With Software Update one could choose which components to install, and Mac App Store gave the impression it was the same.
It did not behave that way for me. I clicked the update and it expanded to show the individual components.
__________________
 17" 2011 MacBook Pro, 2.3 GHz i7 Quad, 16GB DDR3, Intel 520 240GB SSD
prisstratton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 02:53 PM   #3
cube
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by prisstratton View Post
It did not behave that way for me. I clicked the update and it expanded to show the individual components.
I clicked "update". I did not know you could expand an update, much less that an item could be multiple.
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 02:54 PM   #4
blevins321
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Detroit Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by prisstratton View Post
It did not behave that way for me. I clicked the update and it expanded to show the individual components.
If you click the upgrade button itself, it'll start without expanding. I did the same thing :-(
__________________
Late 2013 iMac; iPad Air; iPhone 5S; Synology NAS
blevins321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 04:06 PM   #5
Porco
macrumors 65816
 
Porco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
It's not sneaky, just poorly designed. 'Sneaky' implies they put any thought into it.

I also hate the way they don't show how big an update will be until you start downloading it. It's not exactly superfluous information, and would hardly hurt anyone or anything to quote the file size, like they always did/do on their website for update downloads, and indeed in the Software Update app window.
__________________
I really wish Apple would use the option key a little more, and the command key a little less.
*soundcloud/fdporco*
Porco is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC