Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 23, 2013, 01:05 PM   #1
cloutiere
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Exclamation Activity Monitor screen shot: SLOW computer.. Help/Thoughts?

Did my homework and read other forums, so I've got the screen shot other experts asked users to post.
iMac 21.5
Safari will quit unexpectedly, very slow moving, store all pics and video's on 1T backup hard drive, so I'm thinking there is no reason for a slow computer? #dumbnovicemacmom
Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-01-23 at 1.45.56 PM.png
Views:	125
Size:	246.8 KB
ID:	392114  
cloutiere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 01:07 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloutiere View Post
Did my homework and read other forums, so I've got the screen shot other experts asked users to post.
iMac 21.5
Safari will quit unexpectedly, very slow moving, store all pics and video's on 1T backup hard drive, so I'm thinking there is no reason for a slow computer? #dumbnovicemacmom
Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!
When is the last time you restarted your Mac?

If you're having performance issues, this may help:
Performance Tips For Mac OS X
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 02:00 PM   #3
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
If you're still having performance issues, post a shot of the Activity Monitor with it sorted by the "Real Mem" column with the highest usage at the top.

The bottom of the screen shot says you are using 10 GB of swap space. If the system hasn't been up for a long time or this performance issue occurs within a couple of days of rebooting, it may mean you need more RAM unless there is something else causing the issue.

However restarting your Mac is most probably the first thing to try.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 02:14 PM   #4
Shane1905
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK
It looks as if it is kernal task eating almost all of your available ram, this may help
http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13727_7...p-ram-in-os-x/

Your best bet would be to upgrade your ram with prices as low as they are, you could buy another 16gb for around 60-70 and upgrade yours to 24gb using your current 8gb as long as they are 2x4gb sticks. What year iMac are you running?
Shane1905 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:46 AM   #5
cloutiere
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Wink

Just typed a forever long appreciative THANK YOU (it was quite an entertaining read really), however attempting to attach 2 screen shots, to my horror... "safari just quit unexpectedly". UGH!
No fluff... just
screen shot 1: per request sorted by RealMem
screen shot 2: "about this Mac"

To answer a helpful problem solver'l question... I have been using Apple starting w/ iphone 2... then a few years later invested in my first desktop (computer in question - only 4 years old), then a couple iPads (me&hubby), then a MacBookPro.

Too many devices for a family of 4 , but LOVE apple products!

I have 3 months left on my warrantee w/ this desk top... I think I will try a few of your suggestions, then call.. and finally hopefully bring it in for them to look at.



I think I will submit this reply, THEN submit some attachments... here goes...
cloutiere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:47 AM   #6
cloutiere
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Attachments...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-01-24 at 8.27.13 AM.png
Views:	15
Size:	39.2 KB
ID:	392246   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-01-24 at 8.20.34 AM.png
Views:	53
Size:	249.1 KB
ID:	392247  
cloutiere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:48 AM   #7
cloutiere
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Alpharetta, GA
PS You guys are AWESOME to distressed apple users

PSS I believe we bought this computer in March 2009
cloutiere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 08:04 AM   #8
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloutiere View Post
Attachments...
You just rebooted and kernel_task is using 5.42 GB? Something seems very wrong to me.

[EDIT] OK, you haven't rebooted between the two screenshots.

Please restart your computer and then repost an Activity Monitor screenshot.
LPZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 03:23 PM   #9
Shane1905
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK
That's ok. We're all here to help each other I knew absolutely nothing about macs this time last year but this place has been amazing.
I believe this is the ram for your iMac

http://www.crucial.com/upgrade/apple...-upgrades.html

Double check I got the specs right before you decide on what to do and I'm pretty sure you can only play a total of 16gb in yours, so another 8gb would bring you to that.

Here is how you upgrade

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1423#2

I'm still think there is an underlying reason why kernal_task is using so much of your current ram, but a ram upgrade is the cheapest and easiest thing you can do to make you mac or pc faster.

Good luck and i hope this helps you

----------

Me again, I've just noticed that inkjet8 seems to be using a fair bit and could be influencing kernal_task, try unplugging your printer from your mac and see if it lowers.

Last edited by Shane1905; Jan 24, 2013 at 03:24 PM. Reason: Spelling
Shane1905 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 02:47 PM   #10
cloutiere
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Alpharetta, GA
After a reboot
A bit better!
Do I still need more ram?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-01-25 at 3.46.26 PM.png
Views:	27
Size:	264.3 KB
ID:	392503  
cloutiere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 02:48 PM   #11
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloutiere View Post
After a reboot
A bit better!
Do I still need more ram?
To determine if you can benefit from more RAM, launch Activity Monitor and click the System Memory tab at the bottom to check your page outs. Page outs are cumulative since your last restart, so the best way to check is to restart your computer and track page outs under your normal workload (the apps, browser pages and documents you normally would have open). If your page outs are significant (say 1GB or more) under normal use, you may benefit from more RAM. If your page outs are zero or very low during normal use, you probably won't see any performance improvement from adding RAM.

Using Activity Monitor to read System Memory and determine how much RAM is being used
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 03:15 PM   #12
cloutiere
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Alpharetta, GA
A very simple and easy way to check.
Thank you! I did notice that page outs (whatever that is is at zero. YAY!
cloutiere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 03:28 PM   #13
kohlson
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Was the initial screen shot taken when you had Parallels, VMware, or somesuch running? With a large amount of hardwired RAM, that's an indication. If you are running those, try dialing back the memory requirements. Or, as suggested, buy more memory if you can -- it's relatively cheap these days.
kohlson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 03:36 PM   #14
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloutiere View Post
After a reboot
A bit better!
Do I still need more ram?
No, you're not paging out. No need for more RAM.
LPZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 02:26 PM   #15
cloutiere
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Ahhhh, but wait!
I shut the iMac down and restarted. One day later, 8 items open (I think that chugs speeds a bit?) I am back to a sluggish computer.
Here is an updated pic

UUUUUGGGGHHHHHH!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-01-26 at 3.22.36 PM.png
Views:	18
Size:	296.4 KB
ID:	392709  
cloutiere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 02:36 PM   #16
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloutiere View Post
Ahhhh, but wait!
I shut the iMac down and restarted. One day later, 8 items open (I think that chugs speeds a bit?) I am back to a sluggish computer.
Here is an updated pic
Your printer software appears to be consuming an unusual amount of RAM. You might try uninstalling it completely, unless it provides functionality you need, in which case, uninstalling and reinstalling it.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 02:39 PM   #17
uptownnyc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloutiere View Post
Ahhhh, but wait!
I shut the iMac down and restarted. One day later, 8 items open (I think that chugs speeds a bit?) I am back to a sluggish computer.
Here is an updated pic

UUUUUGGGGHHHHHH!
Definitely remove your printer software. 4.5gb for what should be an idle process most of the time? That's your culprit.
uptownnyc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC