Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 2, 2013, 08:16 PM   #26
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by giocav89 View Post
Yeah a lot of this is starting to go way over my head. After realizing the Retinas are up on the apple store, I've made my FINAL decision and decided to go with this 13":

http://store.apple.com/ca/product/FD...retina-display

I was really getting a Mac Mini to hold me over with my current computer until a possible retina air came out. However, the waiting game is getting old and this meets most of my needs above and beyond. That and I can't justify dropping $800 on a mini and most likely $1500 on a laptop within the next 6 months. At that point I might as well get a maxed out 15" retina which is out of my budget. The encode times might not be super fast compared to Quad-Core as mentioned by some of you, but at 3-4 hours, as some of you have posted, I can live with that.

Thanks for the help guys!
do us a favor when you get it and test it. You said your encodes were 8-11 hours let us know if they drop to 3-5 hours. Or whatever they do. thanks.

also remember you have a 2 week return period if you do not like it.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 02:06 AM   #27
giocav89
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
do us a favor when you get it and test it. You said your encodes were 8-11 hours let us know if they drop to 3-5 hours. Or whatever they do. thanks.

also remember you have a 2 week return period if you do not like it.
So I ended up going with a 13" Retina MacBook Bro 2.5 i5, 8GB Ram, 256GB SSD. As far as the screen, I was pretty much disappointed immediately. After just a few minutes of browsing online on Safari and going to my desktop (gray background) I immediately saw heavy signs of image retention. The toolbar was visible, ads as black boxes etc etc. It was painfully obvious. I performed a "checkerboard" test if you will and left the image open for 15 minutes. After 20 minutes of the removing the image, there is still faint IR.

The encoding, however, has been great! An 18GB file encoded using Handbrake "High Profile" preset (I use this one because I assume it gives the best quality while still producing smaller files) took 4 hours compared to ~10 hours it was previously taking. Average FPS was 9.73.

Basically, the laptop suits my needs but I have become greedy. I realized I can make the jump to the 15", have the benefits of the quad-core, and just use my iPad for school instead of carrying it around all day.

I am annoyed that I will have to return and reorder and resetup everything but I think and HOPE I am making the right choice. Just wanted to give everyone an update and share some information that may benefit others.
giocav89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 02:50 AM   #28
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
I have a 15" i7 and haven't tried encoding a BD with it, but DVDs take about 20-30 minutes

It pushes all 8 virtual CPUs, so if you do go to a 15", it will be significantly faster again....


Oh and even on windows - quicksync is a mixed bag. Fast yes. Image quality takes a hit though.
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)
throAU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 07:25 AM   #29
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by throAU View Post
Oh and even on windows - quicksync is a mixed bag. Fast yes. Image quality takes a hit though.
QuickSync(QS)-encoded videos are for your mobile devices, not for your HDTV (except AirPlay). ;-)

And Ivy Bridge CPUs support better QS-encoding-settings, compared to Sandy Bridge (depends on your encoding software):

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnandTech
From:
http://www.anandtech.com/show/5771/t...770k-review/21

Intel's latest drivers now allow for a selectable tradeoff between image quality and performance when transcoding using Quick Sync. The option is exposed in Media Espresso and ultimately corresponds to an increase in average bitrate. To test image quality and performance, I took the last Harry Potter Blu-ray, stripped it of its DRM and used Media Espresso to make it playable on an iPad 2 (1024 x 768 preset).
__________________

“Only the dead have seen the end of the war.”
-- Plato --
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 09:26 AM   #30
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by giocav89 View Post
***UPDATE***



I am annoyed that I will have to return and reorder and resetup everything but I think and HOPE I am making the right choice. Just wanted to give everyone an update and share some information that may benefit others.
Couldn't you just clone your hard drive quick to an external drive, and then clone it over to the new 15" retina when you receive it? No setup required....

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by throAU View Post
Oh and even on windows - quicksync is a mixed bag. Fast yes. Image quality takes a hit though.
I have to agree. I used Quicksync with an i7-3770S and was relatively disappointed by the quality. I'm no videophile where I need perfection, but the image certainly wasn't up to Par with my straight Handbrake encodes to AppleTV2 preset. I'm going back and re-encoding everything that I previously encoded.

With that said, this was all done last summer, and maybe with some tweaking I could have gotten better results and maybe with more time with the Ivy Bridge encoder, things have gotten better (software companies understanding what they can and can not do with Quicksync). Like I said though, I'm going back and redoing them in software alone (although jeez, doing a full length DVD from Mpeg2 to H.264 in less than 10 minutes was awesome, even my octocore mac pro can't do it in less than 20).
__________________
rMBP 11,2 15" 2.0Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
MBA 6,2 13" 1.7Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
Mac Mini 6,2 2.3ghz w/ 240GB SSD + 1TB
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ 8 cores @ 2.66 w/ 240GB SSD
paulrbeers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 03:58 PM   #31
giocav89
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulrbeers View Post
Couldn't you just clone your hard drive quick to an external drive, and then clone it over to the new 15" retina when you receive it? No setup required....[COLOR="#808080"]
I absolutely could have, but my MacBook has a 750GB HD that is 2/3 full and my externals are currently full with other backed-up stuff. So with what I currently have in my possession, without having to spend any more money, no I can't haha. But that's just my personal preference, rather just pick and choose the absolute necessities for the Retina.
giocav89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Mac Mini for Handbrake + Media Center adjohan Mac mini 16 Jan 4, 2014 07:34 PM
Questions about my first mac purchase sanchopanza MacBook Pro 5 Nov 1, 2013 09:35 PM
Newbie to Mac mini as HTPC - Question RE Handbrake LawDog1180 Mac mini 4 Jul 6, 2013 03:25 PM
Mac Mini purchase? 76ShovelHead Buying Tips and Advice 11 Jan 21, 2013 05:07 PM
Help!!! Mountain Lion/Handbrake 9.8/mac mini 2009 deew78 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Aug 28, 2012 11:34 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC