Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 18, 2012, 06:08 PM   #1
MorganJones
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cardiff, UK
Unhappy How hard will it be to upgrade RAM on 21"

I already know that the RAM is not user upgradable but does this new stir friction welding make it even harder for us to pull apart the iMac to install our own RAM anyway?
MorganJones is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 06:14 PM   #2
mrbrown
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Springfield, MO
Send a message via ICQ to mrbrown Send a message via AIM to mrbrown Send a message via MSN to mrbrown Send a message via Yahoo to mrbrown
Quote:
Originally Posted by MorganJones View Post
I already know that the RAM is not user upgradable but does this new stir friction welding make it even harder for us to pull apart the iMac to install our own RAM anyway?
I would guess that the RAM on the 21" iMac might just be soldered into the motherboard, if their latest laptops are any indication....
__________________
Mr. Brown - www.mrbrown.net
mrbrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 06:15 PM   #3
joe-h2o
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MorganJones View Post
I already know that the RAM is not user upgradable but does this new stir friction welding make it even harder for us to pull apart the iMac to install our own RAM anyway?
We have no idea until someone does a teardown. It might not be upgradable at all - ie, soldered to the logic board.

It might just be hard to get to. Until someone actually gets their hands on one and takes it apart, the only people who can give you a definitive answer are Apple themselves.
joe-h2o is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 06:16 PM   #4
MorganJones
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cardiff, UK
Now that would really suck... Looks like an expensive leap for 16 gb RAM then
MorganJones is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 06:16 PM   #5
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
Quote:
Originally Posted by MorganJones View Post
I already know that the RAM is not user upgradable but does this new stir friction welding make it even harder for us to pull apart the iMac to install our own RAM anyway?
No idea until the first tear down, usually within 24-48 hours of release.
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 06:18 PM   #6
MojoRisinSD
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MorganJones View Post
I already know that the RAM is not user upgradable but does this new stir friction welding make it even harder for us to pull apart the iMac to install our own RAM anyway?
The new welding process will have no effect on getting into the iMac. Everything depends on if they still use magnets or some kind of clips to hold the glass/display in place. If they do still use magnets or clips, it will be possible if the ram is not soldered to the logic board. If the display is held in place with any kind of adhesive, you will probably be out of luck.
MojoRisinSD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 06:29 PM   #7
JaHull
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbrown View Post
I would guess that the RAM on the 21" iMac might just be soldered into the motherboard, if their latest laptops are any indication....
looking at the Tech Specs page on the iMac webpage it says "8GB (two 4GB) of 1600MHz DDR3 memory" under the memory section which would indicate that it is not soldered on, since it would be on 1 chip if it was soldered on.
__________________
27" iMac 2.8GHz i7, 8GB RAM (Late 2009)
13" MacBook Pro 2.53GHz C2D, 4GB RAM (Mid 2009)
iPad 32GB (1st Gen)
iPhone 5 64GB
JaHull is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 09:11 PM   #8
drambuie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaHull View Post
looking at the Tech Specs page on the iMac webpage it says "8GB (two 4GB) of 1600MHz DDR3 memory" under the memory section which would indicate that it is not soldered on, since it would be on 1 chip if it was soldered on.
It's 2 x 4GB because it's dual channel RAM. The total number of actual chips involved could be 4, 8, or 16, depending on the density of the individual chips. The original 4GB that came with my MBP had 32 total chips, 16 on each module, the 8GB I upgraded to has 16 total chips.
drambuie is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC