Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 20, 2013, 05:51 PM   #1
jasonrhcp
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Mac Pro Decision

Hi. I have my own project recording studio. I am running a Mac Pro 2009 2.66 Nehalem Quad with 8gb ram. I am wondering if I should upgrade the current one. If so, what would you upgrade. Or should I just bite the bullet and get a new one.
Thanks
jasonrhcp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 06:09 PM   #2
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
well if I was going to upgrade that one, you would wanna upgrade the ram to 16 gigs, and put in 8 core processors, also if you don't currently have one why not put a ssd into that beast?
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 06:12 PM   #3
spoonie1972
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
5,1 firmware flash, the fastest 6-core processor you can afford, and jam in the ram.

if you're not doing much with sample libraries 16-32gigs ram will be plenty (and fairly inexpensive) if you need more - the 16gb chips, while very reasonably priced, are not cheap.
__________________
2012 MPB 15, 16GB, 512SSD, Geek 11941 - Logic Audio
2009 Mac Pro, 64GB, 5,1 Firmware, X5570 swap x2, EVGA GTX570, VEP5, Kontakt, and AE
spoonie1972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 06:19 PM   #4
jasonrhcp
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
how would you go about upgrading the processor? and where would I get it. Ebay?
I didn't see anything on macsales but i might not be looking right.
jasonrhcp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 06:50 PM   #5
DPUser
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonrhcp View Post
how would you go about upgrading the processor? and where would I get it. Ebay?
I didn't see anything on macsales but i might not be looking right.
Spoonie has it right. Search the threads here... a ton has been written on the Flash 4,1 to 5,1 and 4 to 6 core upgrade, which is easy to do. I did it, and my 32 bit Geekbench score went from 8k or 9k to to almost 14k. Buy the hex processor from ProVantage for $590.
DPUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 07:47 PM   #6
jasonrhcp
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Is there a video tutorial somewhere on how to do it?
jasonrhcp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 11:03 PM   #7
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
Tutorials? Plenty of them!

Plenty on the web showing step by step how to upgrade the 4,1 Mac Pro to accept 6-core goodness.

I have done it and its pretty easy. If you ever upgraded a processor before on a PC, you should have no problem at all. Remember, VERY IMPORTANT: If you use the 4,1 to 5,1 firmware understand that if you have the w3680, or 6-core Westmere chip in place and revert back to 4,1 firmware, your machine will NOT boot as 4,1's firmware does not recognize Westmere, or B1 stepping.

I would seriously and strongly consider you flash EFI firmware to 5,1 and get the 6-core and don't look back to 4,1 unless your machine is under AppleCare. Then you would have to remove the 6-core processor, re-flash the firmware back to 4,1 and then Apple can warranty repairs for your machine.

Another note: If your 4,1 Mac Pro has B08 firmware, I have the B08 should you need to revert back to it, otherwise if you go from 5,1 back to 4,1 and your machine has B08, you will lose that one forever and it will go back to B07 which is the default firmware which came with the later 4,1 Mac Pros.
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 06:47 AM   #8
Macsonic
macrumors 65816
 
Macsonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Earth
Send a message via Yahoo to Macsonic
Found this video on how to upgrade a 2009 Mac Pro cpu from 4 cores to 6 cores. Hope this helps
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhBfHM4YiDc
Macsonic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 10:28 AM   #9
jasonrhcp
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Thanks so much.
I probably wont be able to afford this until the summer time. Would you guys suggest beefing up the ram to at least 16gb for now?
jasonrhcp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 10:39 AM   #10
spoonie1972
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonrhcp View Post
Thanks so much.
I probably wont be able to afford this until the summer time. Would you guys suggest beefing up the ram to at least 16gb for now?
run the apps you use most often in a typical situation, and have Activity Monitor open (Apps/Utilities).

On the memory tab, If you're paging out a lot, it means you may need more ram. The number resets on every reboot.
__________________
2012 MPB 15, 16GB, 512SSD, Geek 11941 - Logic Audio
2009 Mac Pro, 64GB, 5,1 Firmware, X5570 swap x2, EVGA GTX570, VEP5, Kontakt, and AE
spoonie1972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bought a first generation Mac Pro. Did I make the right decision? gdeusthewhizkid Mac Pro 13 Apr 23, 2014 01:06 AM
Macbook Pro decision headache stephen85 MacBook Pro 15 May 9, 2013 07:03 AM
Decision Help -- Mac Pro vs. maxed-out iMac hfg Mac Pro 39 Mar 17, 2013 07:26 PM
Decision on Mac Pro Single vs dual processor Jaredrieger Mac Pro 8 Oct 6, 2012 12:34 PM
Tough decision on MacBook Pro model schwab16 MacBook Pro 7 Aug 24, 2012 09:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC