Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 7, 2013, 07:49 AM   #1
rabidz7
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
GPU for G5

What would be a good video card for my quad powermac G5. I can flash it if there is a rom available.
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 12:44 PM   #2
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Geforce 6800 GT
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 01:12 PM   #3
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil Chillbil View Post
Geforce 6800 GT
That's an AGP card and won't work in the OP's quad. Also some say that card is less powerful than the ATI X850. The X800/X850 does out preform the 6800 in some things, but not all. Depending on one's need, one should choose the correct card.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 01:31 PM   #4
grapes911
Demi-God (Moderator emeritus)
 
grapes911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Citizens Bank Park
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
What would be a good video card for my quad powermac G5. I can flash it if there is a rom available.
What do you want to do? Game? Video rendering? Web surfing?
__________________
grapes911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 02:34 PM   #5
rabidz7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by grapes911 View Post
What do you want to do? Game? Video rendering? Web surfing?
Gaming
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:26 PM   #6
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
Gaming
Try this page. The Geforce would be better for you
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 07:51 AM   #7
rabidz7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Would a 8800 GTX work?

Does a 7800GTX need extra power?
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 08:28 AM   #8
rabidz7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Does any one have a PowerPC rom for a 7800 GTX , 7900 GTX, 8800 GTX or 8900 GTX.
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 09:22 AM   #9
Wildy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
You can find most PowerPC ROMs here - http://themacelite.wikidot.com/wikidownloads2

An Nvidia 8800 GTX is apparently very hard to write a ROM for because it is not an OpenFirmware card. A 7800 GTX on the other is possible to flash.

You might want to check out these benchmarks - http://www.barefeats.com/mutant4.html
Wildy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 11:56 AM   #10
rabidz7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Will a 7800 GTX need extra graphics power.
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:37 PM   #11
Wildy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Yes, it draws more than the PCIe slot can supply.
Wildy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 08:11 PM   #12
rabidz7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildy View Post
Yes, it draws more than the PCIe slot can supply.
How would I supply this power?
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 08:23 PM   #13
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
How would I supply this power?
Something like this.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 08:25 PM   #14
rabidz7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
isnt that jest a pcie power cable? Will I need a extrnan power supply?
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 03:15 AM   #15
prvt.donut
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
isnt that jest a pcie power cable? Will I need a extrnan power supply?
It gets the power from a socket on the motherboard.
prvt.donut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 03:44 AM   #16
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
isnt that jest a pcie power cable? Will I need a extrnan power supply?
depending on the card you will just need the cable not an external PS..

I don't know if there are cards from that generation that draw more then 150W.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 04:46 AM   #17
Wildy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
None of those cards will draw more than ~120W.

I didn't realize there was a 6 pin terminal on the logic board!
Wildy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 06:36 AM   #18
rabidz7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Do Geforce 480s work flashed?
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 06:41 AM   #19
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Philippines...
Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
Do Geforce 480s work flashed?
None that I know of. Your best bet still is a GeForce 7800GTX 512MB.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 06:14 PM   #20
rabidz7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Does anyone have a rom for a 7800 GTX 512 MB? Or a 7900 GTX?
rabidz7 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 04:13 PM   #21
rabidz7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
depending on the card you will just need the cable not an external PS..

I don't know if there are cards from that generation that draw more then 150W.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
None of you have a rom for 7800 GTX?

Last edited by rabidz7; Jan 13, 2013 at 04:33 PM.
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 04:31 PM   #22
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
None of you have a rom for 7800 GTX.
Remember there were only certain 7800's that could even be flashed..

IMHO look for a quadro
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:33 PM   #23
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Try a Google yourself instead of posting one-sentence replies and actually read one of the many, many other threads, sites about this before coming here with actual questions that haven't already been discussed a dozen times.

MR is not your personal army
__________________
michaelanthonyralph.com/wordpress - Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro - 2.4GHz quad - 16GB RAM - Radeon 6770M 1024MB - 1TB - 10.9.4
Jethryn Freyman is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can the 6 pin gpu power cable in the Mac Pro be used on a 8 pin gpu like a 770? Jake0604 Mac Pro 45 Jul 24, 2014 02:18 AM
GPU choice - handbrake encoding using hardware GPU 775M vs GTX 780M musio iMac 13 Oct 5, 2013 07:24 AM
iMac 27" GT680MX - Faulty GPU (or GPU's Fan?) ///M5 iMac 2 Jan 16, 2013 03:26 PM
dell U2713HM display port macbook pro GPU won't switch to integrated GPU joecool99 Mac Peripherals 4 Dec 28, 2012 08:42 AM
Late 2011 GPU vs 2012 GPU treyh91 MacBook Pro 6 Jun 12, 2012 02:04 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC