Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 15, 2013, 12:11 PM   #26
tomvos
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: TheStudio
Thanks for the update. It's good to know whether some add-on card works OK with wake-from-sleep.
tomvos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2013, 03:08 PM   #27
crjackson2134
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
RS-232 Serial Card for ML

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomvos View Post
Thanks for the update. It's good to know whether some add-on card works OK with wake-from-sleep.
The card works absolutely great. I hate to tie up a slot, but that's what they're for. The dongle just wouldn't cut it for my particular needs. I'll try messing around with the dongle later down the road. It's not a pressing issue now.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 Hexa 3.33 GHz, 48 GB, ATI HD 5870
Optical-Apple Super Drive & MCE Internal Blu-ray
1 TB WD, 1 TB Barracuda, 500 GB Hitachi RAID0
Inateck KT4004 USB 3.0 / RS-232 / OS X 10.9.2
crjackson2134 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2013, 11:37 AM   #28
mikeboss
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
after reading this thread I ordered an AXXON LF659KB from softio. delivery took only two days to europe! really nice guys up there in canada I had to set one of the jumpers on the PCIe card to "Linux-Mode". after that, it worked in OS X snow leopard (no additional drivers needed).
mikeboss is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 11:58 PM   #29
crjackson2134
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeboss View Post
after reading this thread I ordered an AXXON LF659KB from softio. delivery took only two days to europe! really nice guys up there in canada I had to set one of the jumpers on the PCIe card to "Linux-Mode". after that, it worked in OS X snow leopard (no additional drivers needed).
I didn't have to set any jumpers. I didn't even notice any. I suppose they probably did that for me prior to shipping. The actually installed it in a MP and ran several tests to verify compatibility for my needs. Glad you told me about that. I'll have to pull it out again just to have a look.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 Hexa 3.33 GHz, 48 GB, ATI HD 5870
Optical-Apple Super Drive & MCE Internal Blu-ray
1 TB WD, 1 TB Barracuda, 500 GB Hitachi RAID0
Inateck KT4004 USB 3.0 / RS-232 / OS X 10.9.2
crjackson2134 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2013, 09:49 AM   #30
mikeboss
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
AXXON/softio support confirmed that the jumpers (there are two) do nothing apart from altering the PCI device IDs. I am dual booting Windows 7 and Snow Leopard. if I set the jumper to windows-mode, the card was recognized by OSX but when trying to establish a connection all I got was gibberish. so I set it to Linux-mode, but then the windows drivers would not load. I then edited the INF file of the windows driver so they will load even if the card is set to Linux-mode. problem solved
mikeboss is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC