Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 20, 2013, 07:00 AM   #1
Serban
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Crysis 3 on iMAC 21.5"

Can anyone tell me if Crysis 3 is running well on any imac 21.5" ?
Thank you a lot
Serban is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 09:11 AM   #2
Outrigger
macrumors 65816
 
Outrigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serban View Post
Can anyone tell me if Crysis 3 is running well on any imac 21.5" ?
Thank you a lot
define well.

to run it "well" you would most likely need the just announced nvidia titan gpu ($1000) each.
__________________
iMac | Intel i7 3.4GHz | 32GB RAM | 1TB Fusion | GTX 680MX
Mini | Intel i5 2.5GHz | 8GB RAM | 750GBSSD | AMD 6630M
rMBP 13 | Intel i5 2.6Ghz | 8GB RAM | 512GB SSD
Outrigger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 09:13 AM   #3
WhiteIphone5
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Quote:
Originally Posted by Outrigger View Post
define well.

to run it "well" you would most likely need the just announced nvidia titan gpu ($1000) each.
I think he means like would it run smoothly without lag or drop in FPS
WhiteIphone5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 09:47 AM   #4
Mac32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I have preordered Crysis 3 on Origin (boo..), and I'm very curious to see how it will run on my iMac 27'' with 680mx. Looking at reviews and pictures, it seems Crysis 3 should be a lot more demanding on the GPU, but maybe Crytech also have optimalized the graphics engine. I doubt I'll be able to play it with max settings in native resolution like Crysis 2...
As far as iMac 21.5'', I wouldn't get my hopes too high, maybe medium settings will work ok. Crysis 3 will be released tomorrow, so I'm sure you'll get more responses then.
Mac32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 10:08 AM   #5
luminouslight
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac32 View Post
I have preordered Crysis 3 on Origin (boo..), and I'm very curious to see how it will run on my iMac 27'' with 680mx. Looking at reviews and pictures, it seems Crysis 3 should be a lot more demanding on the GPU, but maybe Crytech also have optimalized the graphics engine. I doubt I'll be able to play it with max settings in native resolution like Crysis 2...
As far as iMac 21.5'', I wouldn't get my hopes too high, maybe medium settings will work ok. Crysis 3 will be released tomorrow, so I'm sure you'll get more responses then.
If it runs on 7 year old hardware (Xbox 360 & ps3) I'm sure the 680 mx can handle it at high settings at native res, maybe ultra at 1080p.
luminouslight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 10:18 AM   #6
Bolteh
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by luminouslight View Post
If it runs on 7 year old hardware (Xbox 360 & ps3) I'm sure the 680 mx can handle it at high settings at native res, maybe ultra at 1080p.
True.


Were it not for the fact that the console versions of the game cannot in any way be compared to the original (other than content).

The console version of the engine is a massively toned down and optimized for use on inferior hardware. It also runs on a 720p resolution.

You can't even lower down the settings of the PC version far enough to get it to be on equal footing to the console version.


Anyways. I personally think it will run OK-ish (30, maybe 40fps on idle scenes) on low-mid settings at native resolution on the 27" with a 680MX. But I'll let someone who actually tried it supply a real answer.
Bolteh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 10:25 AM   #7
luminouslight
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
That's more than fine with me. I didn't buy an imac for it to be a gaming machine. The fact I can game on it is just an added bonus.

Curious to see someone benchmark this game though and see some real results.
luminouslight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 02:52 PM   #8
Serban
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Im very sure that on iMac 27" with 680mx will run at natvice resolution on medium AT LEAST.

On 21.5" can anybody run it at native resolution and get 30fps with everything at medium (no AA etc) ?
Serban is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 03:01 PM   #9
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
It runs on the 27" with 680mx on very high settings at 1440p fine, it chugs on ultra though. This is with no overclocking.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 03:03 PM   #10
Serban
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
So maybe if at 1440p everything on high go nice and well...i guess at least we could play it on 1080p at medium us with the 21.5" model
Serban is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 03:18 PM   #11
luminouslight
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
It runs on the 27" with 680mx on very high settings at 1440p fine, it chugs on ultra though. This is with no overclocking.
By "fine", what is the average fps at very high settings at native res?

I'm pleasantly surprised it runs that well.
luminouslight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 05:39 PM   #12
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by luminouslight View Post
By "fine", what is the average fps at very high settings at native res?

I'm pleasantly surprised it runs that well.
Not sure exactly, my mate got the game early and has been playing it on his 27" iMac, i will ask him. He did say it looks brilliant btw
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 11:33 AM   #13
Mac32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
Not sure exactly, my mate got the game early and has been playing it on his 27" iMac, i will ask him. He did say it looks brilliant btw
Yes, the graphics are definitely "the next level". Almost the same upgrade as from Crysis 1 to Crysis 2. Crysis 3 is a lot more demanding on the GPU than Crysis 2. About 50% more demanding I would say (if not more), using the same settings. Even heavily overclocked you can forget native resolution and very high settings. Judging from the first level you'll be getting around 14-30fps, mostly around 20fps. Well, no big shock there...
Even 1920x1080 at very high settings (post processing at medium) is at the edge of playable, but will probably hover around 30fps with a few dips in framerate here and there.
Btw., this is with a heavily overclocked 680mx, I doubt a 21.5 iMac will run this game very well.
Mac32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 02:30 PM   #14
Serban
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I understand that Crysis 3 will be running over 30 fps at 1080p on iMac 21.5" with settings low+medium
Serban is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 03:50 PM   #15
Mac32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serban View Post
I understand that Crysis 3 will be running over 30 fps at 1080p on iMac 21.5" with settings low+medium
Probably. After the first level the fps improved a bit (heavy rain during the first level is very hard on the framerate). The game looks very good at 1920x1080 on the 27'' IMO, I guess because of the insane level of detail in this game. I see some people complaing about that everything under native resolution is crap, but IMO the 27'' screen scales very well down to 1920x1080 (and I'm quite picky). I assume the same will be true for the 21.5'' iMac.

Last edited by Mac32; Feb 22, 2013 at 01:35 PM.
Mac32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 06:11 PM   #16
2Turbo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Hopefully Crysis will perform okay. Should look good on even medium settings.

I wonder how 680MX will compare to PS4 graphics....
2Turbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 06:49 PM   #17
Irishman
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Does anyone here know if there are any OSX-native overclocking utilities for the new nividia GPUs?
Irishman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 02:05 AM   #18
Mac32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irishman View Post
Does anyone here know if there are any OSX-native overclocking utilities for the new nividia GPUs?
Quite frankly overclocking in OS X makes very little sense. You should use Windows 7 when doing serious gaming, because you get better graphics and performance. That's the whole point of overclocking right?
Mac32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 11:03 PM   #19
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Ok i have this running on my 27" imac with the 680 mx with a 200+ core and 300+mem overclock and you can forget native resolution, it plays well at 1080p on very high setting but still does not get close to 60fps (averages around 40fps). A 21.5" iMac would struggle with this game bigtime.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 12:13 AM   #20
2Turbo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
Ok i have this running on my 27" imac with the 680 mx with a 200+ core and 300+mem overclock and you can forget native resolution, it plays well at 1080p on very high setting but still does not get close to 60fps (averages around 40fps). A 21.5" iMac would struggle with this game bigtime.
What about no AA @ native res with medium settings? Should be able to hit 50 FPS.
2Turbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 12:39 AM   #21
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Turbo View Post
What about no AA @ native res with medium settings? Should be able to hit 50 FPS.
lol Crysis 3 is a huuuuuuge system killer. I can't hit even close to 50fps at native resolution on my i7, 680MX.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 12:58 AM   #22
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Turbo View Post
What about no AA @ native res with medium settings? Should be able to hit 50 FPS.
I have not tried it on medium settings, it would most likely still struggle to average 50fps. It looks really good at 1080p anyway due to the amount of detail in the game. This game really needs a desktop GTX 690 overclocked to run 1440p at the highest settings.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 01:05 AM   #23
MythicFrost
macrumors 68040
 
MythicFrost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
According to Notebookcheck, the GT 650M scores 32.6 FPS on Medium, no AA, 16xAF, 1366x768.
__________________
(Log Book Buddy) - (Quick Kana)
MythicFrost is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2010 27" iMac screen issue..."dirty", "cloudy", image retention issues MMcCraryNJ iMac 1 May 18, 2013 04:02 PM
Windows: Crysis 3 on 27" iMac with 680MX AndiS. Mac and PC Games 19 Feb 27, 2013 10:27 AM
15" rMBP, Windows 7, Crysis 2 HELP PLEASE!!! renosausage MacBook Pro 4 Dec 13, 2012 10:55 PM
RAM from "Late 2009" iMac in "Mid 2011" iMac? desertman iMac 1 Aug 12, 2012 06:41 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC