Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 14, 2013, 08:02 PM   #76
NMF
macrumors 6502a
 
NMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Please improve iOS performance...
__________________
MacBook Air 13" (2013) Mac mini (2011) OS X Server + Drobo 5D
AirPort Time Capsule (2013) iPhone 5 TV 3
NMF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2013, 08:48 PM   #77
boccabella
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Anyone having problems after the firmware update? My wi-fi has slowed to a crawl, using the latest Airport Express. Ethernet connection is fine.
boccabella is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2013, 01:21 AM   #78
Henk Poley
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
For me everything (native IPv4 & IPv6) works as it did before.

(Aka, netalyzer still says: IPv6 Path MTU: Warning – Your system can not send or receive fragmented traffic over IPv6. The path between our system and your network does not appear to handle fragmented IPv6 traffic properly.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by boccabella View Post
Anyone having problems after the firmware update? My wi-fi has slowed to a crawl, using the latest Airport Express. Ethernet connection is fine.
What you could try is opening the Airport utility. Hold the reset button on your Airport Express: http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3728

Then connect to the new network coming from the Airport, the Airport utility will ask you something like "I know this non-configured device, do you want to load the previous configuration?". Say, yes to that prompt.
Henk Poley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2013, 03:26 PM   #79
Swift
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
I've had problems

Not with this update, or with the previous one. I've had problems because I have 1. an AT&T U-verse piece of old, stupid iron for Internet and TV, and 2. Inside that, I have the Airport Extreme for wifi access; 3. I have a WD Live network drive. The network drive was flaky. I tried to keep my iTunes music on it, no go. Every time I rebooted, or even quit iTunes, I couldn't find the library again. I'd open a disk image on the network drive, and in a few hours, it was unreachable.

I finally fixed it by going into the WD Live dashboard, and setting the network drive's IP to be set manually, not DHCP. And checked the option "don't let the disk sleep." Bingo! Works like a charm now.

But by Airport extreme? Worked fine before, works fine now.
Swift is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2013, 08:27 PM   #80
yetanotherdave
macrumors 68000
 
yetanotherdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bristol, England
Send a message via AIM to yetanotherdave Send a message via MSN to yetanotherdave Send a message via Yahoo to yetanotherdave
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdlink View Post
You can give it up if you move to Mavericks. 5.6 will no longer work. As another poster said earlier, in Mountain Lion you had to go through some gyrations with Terminal to extract the program manually, but it would run. On Mavericks it won't even run. Bummer.
I wonder what apple's solution is for those of us who own an older G only airport express that can't be configured with airport utility 6.X?
__________________
It's just a ride, & we can change it anytime we want. It's only a choice. No effort, no work, no job, no savings & money. A choice, right now, between fear and love. - Bill Hicks
yetanotherdave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2013, 08:39 PM   #81
rdlink
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by yetanotherdave View Post
I wonder what apple's solution is for those of us who own an older G only airport express that can't be configured with airport utility 6.X?
Good point seems kind of ridiculous that you can't upgrade your computer's operating system because of your router.

Then again, G is about to become two amendments behind the standard, so maybe it's time to upgrade. Especially if your computer can support Mavericks...
__________________
Desktop, Desktop, Laptop, Phone, Tablet
rdlink is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2013, 09:18 PM   #82
jthompson666
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by osofast240sx View Post
You might have the TC too close to the Express, try moving one of them.
They aren't - My house is very old with stone walls as thick as 1M. The routers are all very much out of wireless range of each other. My sisters room is simply in such a position that when you are in it, you can pick up both signals.
jthompson666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2013, 04:05 PM   #83
yetanotherdave
macrumors 68000
 
yetanotherdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bristol, England
Send a message via AIM to yetanotherdave Send a message via MSN to yetanotherdave Send a message via Yahoo to yetanotherdave
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdlink View Post
Good point seems kind of ridiculous that you can't upgrade your computer's operating system because of your router.

Then again, G is about to become two amendments behind the standard, so maybe it's time to upgrade. Especially if your computer can support Mavericks...
I have a time capsule (previous gen N dual band) and a previous gen N airport express, the G is purely an airtunes device and it would be nice not to have to get rid of that just because apple can't be arsed to support it.
__________________
It's just a ride, & we can change it anytime we want. It's only a choice. No effort, no work, no job, no savings & money. A choice, right now, between fear and love. - Bill Hicks
yetanotherdave is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2013, 06:33 AM   #84
saturnotaku
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by yetanotherdave View Post
I have a time capsule (previous gen N dual band) and a previous gen N airport express, the G is purely an airtunes device and it would be nice not to have to get rid of that just because apple can't be arsed to support it.
Though not an ideal solution, you could install Windows through a VM and administer your router through that version of Airport Utility.

Regarding the subject at hand, this new firmware seems to have fixed the iOS connectivity issues I was having with my AEBS. I have not had to turn WiFi off then back on again at all since the update.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15 (Late 2011)
Core i7 2860QM | 16 GB RAM | AMD Radeon 6770M | 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD | Antiglare Display | OS X + Win 7
iPhone 4S (Verizon 64 GB)
saturnotaku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2013, 08:21 AM   #85
rdlink
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by yetanotherdave View Post
I have a time capsule (previous gen N dual band) and a previous gen N airport express, the G is purely an airtunes device and it would be nice not to have to get rid of that just because apple can't be arsed to support it.
Another good point. I have one of those g AE's sitting around the house, and I was just thinking the other day about blowing the dust off of it and using it as an Airplay device.
__________________
Desktop, Desktop, Laptop, Phone, Tablet
rdlink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2013, 09:42 AM   #86
Mr. Wonderful
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by yetanotherdave View Post
I have a time capsule (previous gen N dual band) and a previous gen N airport express, the G is purely an airtunes device and it would be nice not to have to get rid of that just because apple can't be arsed to support it.
I would consider getting rid of the 802.11g AirPort Express just because it's bringing your whole entire 2.4GHz network down to 802.11g speeds, range, and protocol support.
Mr. Wonderful is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2013, 03:27 PM   #87
yetanotherdave
macrumors 68000
 
yetanotherdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bristol, England
Send a message via AIM to yetanotherdave Send a message via MSN to yetanotherdave Send a message via Yahoo to yetanotherdave
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Wonderful View Post
I would consider getting rid of the 802.11g AirPort Express just because it's bringing your whole entire 2.4GHz network down to 802.11g speeds, range, and protocol support.
Except it's connected to my 2.4 ghz network along with phones, kindles etc basically devices that can't take advantage of N anyway, the computers, atTV's etc are connected to the 5ghz network

If this situation continues to release I'll take the G in for a free replacement.
__________________
It's just a ride, & we can change it anytime we want. It's only a choice. No effort, no work, no job, no savings & money. A choice, right now, between fear and love. - Bill Hicks
yetanotherdave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2013, 05:41 PM   #88
gopherhockey
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I updated my AirPort Extreme after having to run 7.6.1 previously. (7.6.3 caused issues similar to many others were experiencing, didn't have 7.6.2 to back down too)

Just 24 hours after the update, the wireless network went down even though the unit was online. Not responsive in AirPort utility, so I powered it down and up. Its up now, and back to running 7.6.1.

Nice try Apple, maybe 7.6.5 will actually work.

I own a ton of Apple products, the AirPort Extreme is the only one I wish I hadn't bought.
gopherhockey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2013, 05:42 PM   #89
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by gopherhockey View Post
I updated my AirPort Extreme after having to run 7.6.1 previously. (7.6.3 caused issues similar to many others were experiencing, didn't have 7.6.2 to back down too)

Just 24 hours after the update, the wireless network went down even though the unit was online. Not responsive in AirPort utility, so I powered it down and up. Its up now, and back to running 7.6.1.

Nice try Apple, maybe 7.6.5 will actually work.
Which generation of AEBS do you have?
__________________
••• SandboxGeneral.com •••
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2013, 05:45 PM   #90
gopherhockey
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Which generation of AEBS do you have?
5th gen, model A1408
gopherhockey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2013, 05:48 PM   #91
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by gopherhockey View Post
5th gen, model A1408
Is it possible, (without my knowing its history with you) that the hardware is getting flaky and starting to crap out?

I guess I'm blessed with my 2nd generation AEBS. It came out 6 years ago, in 2007, and it's been rock solid since day one and it's still going. I can't ever recall it having an issue of any sort with me.
__________________
••• SandboxGeneral.com •••
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2013, 05:53 PM   #92
gopherhockey
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Is it possible, (without my knowing its history with you) that the hardware is getting flaky and starting to crap out?

I guess I'm blessed with my 2nd generation AEBS. It came out 6 years ago, in 2007, and it's been rock solid since day one and it's still going. I can't ever recall it having an issue of any sort with me.
Perhaps, though I have Linksys routers that are nearly 10 years older that still work.

7.6.1 has worked rock solid at least. Signal is good, no issues that I can think of. Maybe its time to dump it on eBay and get the latest, though now I'm a bit wary of spending the $ on another AEBS.

Love my AirPort Expresses though. Have 3 of those that are also working great, even with the latest update.
gopherhockey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2013, 09:03 PM   #93
3587
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I upgraded my TC and now when I restart my computer, it won't automatically connect to the TC. It shows that it is connected, but it isn't. I have to shut off Wi-Fi and turn it back on before it works. 7.6.1 worked perfectly for me. Why?
__________________
rMBP 15" 2.6GHz|Mac OS 10.9|256GB SSD|16GB RAM|27" ACD;iPhone 5S;AppleTV;iPad Air
3587 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2013, 08:43 AM   #94
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by gopherhockey View Post
... though now I'm a bit wary of spending the $ on another AEBS.
Me too. The 2nd gen, as I mentioned already, has been great, and I don't want to buy a new one because it may not be as solid as this one. Plus, I have no reason to get the latest since I don't have any AC devices and the N protocol works fine for me.

So, I'll be keeping this one until it stops working.
__________________
••• SandboxGeneral.com •••
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2013, 04:45 PM   #95
macnisse
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenzbud View Post
- Resolve an issue that may intermittently cause a loss in Wi-Fi connectivity with iOS devices

My iOS devices would intermittently drop Wi-Fi connections at random times. Didn't really think about it until I read that. It would do it a few times a month.
Ditto! Hope this update will resolve the issue!
macnisse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2013, 09:08 PM   #96
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
i need to install this update. maybe tomorrow
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2013, 08:27 AM   #97
Spinland
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Utica, NY, USA
7.6.4 seems buggy for me

Either my 10 month old Airport Extreme is going bad coincidentally, or 7.6.4 is buggy for me. Ever since I installed it my AE just quits working, sometimes as often as twice a day. Wi-fi disappears, and the devices plugged into it directly (Like my ObiHai phone controller) stop working even though the AE front light still shows green. The only fix seems to be power-cycling the AE to reboot it, after which all works well again until next incident.

Reverting to 7.6.3 to see whether that clears things up again.
__________________
“There may be people that have more talent than you, but there’s no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do.” ~ Derek Jeter
Spinland is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2013, 04:36 PM   #98
jayhawker
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Olathe, KS
Airport Utility 5.6 on Mavericks

I've been trying to work out what the deal is with flaky Airport Express firmware. I have proven that the 5GHz bands drop more packets and have worse latency than the 2.4GHz band. One thing that helped me was to run 802.11n only on 5GHz, and b/g on 2.4GHz. 5GHz has seemed to have gotten slightly more stable on 5th gen AEs, but still has bad latency. As Apple stated, the problem is really only with iOS devices. Weird.

Also, for those of you who still want to run AU 5.6.x on Mavericks, I got that figured out. Follow my instructions.
__________________
Jayhawker
jayhawker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2013, 07:25 PM   #99
Spinland
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Utica, NY, USA
So 7.6.4 was definitely the reason my Airport Extreme kept crapping out. Reverted and after nearly 48 hours it's been working fine again. I declare 7.6.4 to be too buggy to use.
__________________
“There may be people that have more talent than you, but there’s no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do.” ~ Derek Jeter
Spinland is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 07:53 AM   #100
kako
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Just updated today and it has reduced signal strength reception. I've always struggled a bit with reception, so a minor reduction is pretty bad.
Have a 5th gen Extreme on 5GHz, no interference or neighboring networks at all in this spectrum. 2.4GHz is a mess but then it always is.
kako is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Releases AirPort Extreme and Time Capsule Firmware Update 7.7.3 With Heartbleed Fix MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 63 Aug 8, 2014 11:08 AM
Apple Releases AirPort Extreme and Time Capsule Firmware Update 7.7.2 MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 57 Dec 22, 2013 10:38 AM
Apple Announces New Airport Base Station and Time Capsule with Faster 802.11ac Wi-Fi MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 309 Oct 6, 2013 10:20 PM
AirPort Time Capsule without Wi-Fi base station? redout Mac Peripherals 2 Sep 28, 2013 01:43 PM
Airport Extreme Base Station - 7.6.2 firmware update? AppleMacFinder Mac Peripherals 14 Apr 18, 2013 03:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps