Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 13, 2012, 03:26 PM   #1
macguy93
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Best performance for Adobe after effects CS6?

Hello everyone,

I feel as if i keep making similar posts to this, but for some reason i am still not satisfied with my machine. Im using a mac pro 12-core 2.4GHz with 40gigs of ram installed.

I finally got around to getting my SSD set up and i have all of my applications installed on it along with the OS. i also have all of my cache files set to my WD hard drive so I'm not clogging up my 120GB SSD. My SSD has 40gigs left so i figure i shouldn't go any lower than that to keep the performance of the drive at its fullest potential.

I do a lot of work in after effects CS6 and i feel that the machine is still going slow.. I was working on a project last night and when i went to do a RAM preview i kept getting the beach ball and after effects would glitch up.. what would be the main cause of this? could it have been that the destination file i was working with was on my WD drive and not the SSD?

I don't know what it is i need to keep adding to this machine to finally be satisfied with its performance.. My next investment would most likely be a GTX 570 to enable CUDA cores for open GL rendering, but i still feel that i should still be getting great performance now.

Any suggestions? maybe I'm doing something wrong?

Thanks in advance!
macguy93 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 10:44 PM   #2
smdonnel
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NYC
Probably your disc caching

From what you have written and what I have read other places you might want to have your caching set up to go to the ssd. Im running Cs6 on a 2009 imac and it screams. Cant wait to get a new machine with a solid state drive to cache to.
smdonnel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 11:08 PM   #3
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
OpenGL and CUDA are totally different things. Both are only usable for certain things, so prior to such an investment, you should ensure that it will actually benefit you.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 12:00 AM   #4
wonderspark
macrumors 68030
 
wonderspark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Denver, CO
I use a 2009 Mac Pro that I upgraded to a 6-core CPU and 5870 for After Effects heavily. I only have 32GB of RAM, but I found a couple things that helped quite a bit:

1) Setting aside 6GB for other applications. This limits AE to only 26GB, but I stopped having crashes after changing this. I also have no page outs or swap file use this way, and the most I've seen my system use with AE and Premiere open is 29GB.

2) Setting aside "4 CPUs" for other applications. The system thinks I have 12 CPUs due to hyperthreading on 6 cores, and I allow only 8 threads to run simultaneously by checking the "Render Multiple Frames Simultaneously" and keeping four aside. The reasoning is similar to setting RAM aside... prevent crashes from AE sucking up all the available RAM and CPUs.

3) 2GB RAM allocation per background CPU. I tested every combination on my 6-core system, and this one was fastest. When changing this, I could double or triple the time it took to render a comp.

4) I have an 8-disk RAID 6 tower that holds my media, previews and scratch files, along with a second volume for media cache files in a 2-disk RAID 0 internally. Providing plenty of fast space lets me play DSLR footage from a 5DII natively at full resolution without even rendering it out, and that's software-only CUDA acceleration in Premiere. (AE doesn't use CUDA as far as I know, anyway.)

This is on dual monitors (one being a 30" ACD) hooked to the 5870. I get no beachballs in RAM previews or anything. It's nothing short of wonderful.

I hope it helps!
__________________
Wait a second... So you're telling me anything that happens in the sky is legal, and there's a giant crime-blimp flying around this place? I don't know how I missed that.
wonderspark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 02:51 AM   #5
initialsBB
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I had a similar setup at work that was giving me great pains. It was a real let down considering the price paid. You need to follow the above recommendations, it covers all the bases. Also consider getting an SSD for the scratch disks and media caches. If you still get kernel panics, check your RAM to make sure there is no faulty stick as well. It turns out that on the setup I was using one of the sticks was bad, but we only found out much later, and that was causing kernel panics. Note also some AE plugins and effects don't like multi-frame rendering.
initialsBB is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After Effects CS6 tragedy! rantingrich OS X Mavericks (10.9) 5 May 12, 2014 11:00 PM
After Effects CS6 on OS X Mavericks alexcanton OS X Mavericks (10.9) 14 Oct 29, 2013 12:33 AM
After Effects CS6 for Students? dougaha18 Design and Graphics 16 Oct 2, 2012 06:33 PM
Mac mini and Adobe Creative Suite CS6 performance? hemmick reef Mac mini 12 Sep 16, 2012 07:57 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC